We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
757 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very bad wi-fi”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a shame that the whole experience here is spoiled by arguably the worst wi-fi experienced anywhere. The hotel is great, what a view, great food, excellent service. Then the wi-fi, it simply is third world. You call reception, they transfer you to their service provider, he then arranges someone to call u back which in my wife's case did not happen after following up a couple of times over a 3 hour period. What a shame that this lets the whole place down

Room Tip: Facing the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    500
    145
    49
    35
See reviews for
162
386
54
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The view from our room was amazing. People from all over the world would love to have that view. The staff were all very friendly. Restaurant was nice and breakfast the next morning was great. Only thing stopping me from giving a 5 is the noise from the trains. The trains run every few minutes and stop at 1am and start again at 5am. The lady on reception said the trains are worse because they're using cheap tracks or something like that. Its a shame because it would stop a lot of people from going back. We were on the 9th floor and the noise was still horrendous. Apart from the trains everything was great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel to be very nice, clean good service the bar was not too expensive great bed decent size mug for coffee, I got off the train and it was right there, so convienent for transport and centrally located but away enough I loved everything about it

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here 26 to 28 July. It was very comfortable and modern. Staff were efficient and friendly.
Our room was on the fourth floor and had a fantastic view of the harbour and city. Good having the car park to use. Breakfasts were typical hotel buffet food selection with plenty of seating.
Many reviews mentioned train noise - it was of no consequence with just a distant rumble which wasn't really all that noticeable. All in all a very comfortable, convenient and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_NG_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would like to say the hotel staff and service is very good. The view from my room was outstanding. Breakfast very filling and "happy hour" in the bar interesting. But like most people sharing my room with North Sydney Metro Station was anew experience. I was on the 3rd floor and it is my understanding that the higher you go the less invasive is the train noise. Value for money it is a good deal but you have to consider the noise. Its OK if you have just arrived from London and you fall into bed!!!
Outstanding complimentary shoe shine!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the bridge are outstand - but get a room on the top floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

the hotel is built on top of the the train line. the noise from the trains made my whole room shake. the train may as well have been running through my hotel room it was that loud. the trains go until 1am and start again at 5am. so good luck sleeping. apart from that. the room was clean and service was great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourview_Hotel, Front Office Manager at North Sydney Harbourview Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mike T,

I am very sorry you did not find your stay at the North Sydney Harbourview Hotel as enjoyable as you would have liked. I have noted your comment regarding your room allocation and subsequent train noise, and am sorry you were not happy on this occasion.

We can put a notation in our system to ensure you are allocated a room on a higher floor, should you choose to return.

If you would like to contact me direct I would only be too happy to help - please call 02 9955 0499.

Kind Regards,
Levon Karkour
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having secured a great four day stay rate we were looking forward to our excellent value accommodation. No sooner had we pulled into the reception area when the magnanimity of the postion became apparent...A VIEW TO DIE FOR. The wow factor kicked in immediately. The helpful and cheery front desk soon had us pointed in the right direction.
Opened the door to the room and there it was in all its spleandour...the most gorgeous view of the harbour and city that you might ever imagine, partner and I were mesmerised. OK the room was a tad smallish but completely adequate and with all the inclusions you would expect.
The room was delightfully clean and the bed with its crisp white linen was a true delight and afforded us a plush, comfortable sleep. The lifts were a treat with fast and efficient delivery to your designated destination.
The only reason my rating missed 'excellent' was because of the so so restaurant...pedestrian fare for a princely sum...but no worry plenty of eateries within a stones throw of the building. Positioned over North Sydney rail station made it a park the car for the weekend deal with excellent public transport available. All highly recommended.

Room Tip: As it is built in an arc shape all rooms have a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Sydney Harbourview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Sydney Harbourview Hotel

Property: North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
Address: 17 Blue St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — North Sydney Harbourview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Sydney Harbourview Hotel is minutes away from Sydney CBD, separated by the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and offers magnificent views of the harbour and city skyline. The Hotel is within easy access to the City, Taronga Zoo, Luna Park, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks Village & Mary MacKillop Place and is right next door to North Sydney Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your North Sydney Harbourview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing