We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a well used business hotel given the proximity to North Sydney.
The staff were very helpful as I arrived late at night and they were able to help with a decent restaurant meal in the bar area. I hate room service.
It was comfortable and quiet.
The reception also gave me an (loan) umbrella as it was raining outside and I had to walk about 10 minutes to the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTheHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney.

We are so pleased to hear we could help you out with a yummy meal in Mundo during your time with us.

Always happy to assist where we can and glad to hear we saved the day with our Rydges umbrella's.

Thanks again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    293
    269
    91
    66
See reviews for
168
184
50
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel was slightly dated as noted on other reviews.( Nice furnishings can only hide so much !...) Balcony especially needed work . However , bedding and pillows were of very good standard and reception staff welcoming and helpful. My request for harbour view suite was granted and room service prompt . Great location and easy to walk to Bridge , Kirribilli , and of course the Harbour . Lots of good restaurants close by too !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Rydges North Sydney

We understand that whilst the hotel needs a little work we do our best to maintain the hotel to a satisfactory appearance.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our dream beds and that our team looked after you during your time with us

Thank you again for the feedback


Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very sad, very pricey.
The hotel has good views but the lifts, size, decor and presentation is shabby and old. renovations clearly missed the bathrooms and lifts and carpet. The cost clearly didn't match the facilities and service.

Service was OK but for peak checkout only one terminal is clearly not the way to engender repeat business. The restaurant was OK but very over priced for the standard fare.

Room Tip: If you must demand high up with harbor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toolangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel.

We understand that while areas are a little dated and need some work we do try our best to help our guests where we can.

It is unfortunate to hear about your checkout process, we do endeavour to always have 2 staff members on the desk during all shifts during the day, at times staff can be pulled away when assisting other guests
.
I have expressed your feedback to the F&B manager in relation to costing and it is something we will take on board

I do hope you come back and we can improve on these areas for you

Thank you again


Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Sydney hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed in a Queen single room on the 12th floor. The room was comfortable and well layed out and comfortable. There was no safe in the room (first for me). Complex is clean and tidy. The lift was a bit of a hassle, with one out of operation. Staff were very helpful and polite. The resturaunt food was very good. Location is perfect for my purposes. The complimentry wireless internet was good accept it didn't like sending e-mails via Outlook.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Rydges and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the 12th floor and that the configuration was to your liking.

Unfortunately none of our rooms have a safe but certainly something for us to look into.

In relation to our lifts, they did stop working after a mechanical function caused it to breakdown unfortunately it was out of our onsite team’s hands but we always endeavour to look after our guests as best we can when situations arise. I certainly apologise for the inconvenience this caused you during your time with us

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Regards

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed on 11th floor in a twin room. Good Location and comfortable bed except for the shower.
No water pressure, Hot water was intermittent even at 630am.
Made showering difficult and unpleasant. Not ideal when going into a day of meetings.
The location is convenient if North Sydney is the place you need to be, not much else around that area.

Room Tip: Try rooms closer to ground level to see if the water pressure improves. Level 11 water pressure no g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review on Rydges North Sydney

Great to hear that you had a good stay with us except for the hot water encounter, we are sincerely apologetic for the inconvenience this caused you during your time with us.

We hope that when you stay in the future the shower is functioning 100%

Thank you again for the feedback

Regards,

Katie Dewar | Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My booking was made through Qantas on the basis of its recommendation and the location. Only subsequently did I refer to Trip Advisor and immediately began to question my choice of hotels - based on some quite negative reviews. However, my stay proved extremely pleasant. I had taken a twin room on the 10th floor. The room was clean and in good repair. The bathroom, although obviously not particularly modern, had been refurbished and again was perfectly acceptable.
I did not use the restaurant over the three days I stayed at the hotel but both my check-in and check-out were prefessionally handled by Reception. Parking could perhaps be an issue. Although I added it to the booking, I had no problems on the Friday evening, having arrived earlier in the afternoon. However, returning around midnight on the Saturday the only park I could find was in a reserved space for one of the businesses which obviously share the underground park. It didn't seem to cause a problem but nonetheless might be worth clarifying with Reception.
Again, although nothing exceptional, I found the hotel more than adequate and at an appropriate price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeJayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and lovely to hear that our reception team made a good impression on you too.

Our apologies about the carpark, fridays and saturdays at times can become quite congested but we do out best to let the guests know and appreciate the feedback

Look forward to welcoming you again soon

Thanks

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with a balcony & filtered harbour views. Spacious room with combined lounge and dining room. Arrived prior to check in time and were able to leave our luggage in storage and head off to lunch with friends. Hotel & Rooms are dated but clean, soft refurbishment made them much more welcoming.Bathroom definitely needs an urgent upgrade. Mundo Bar on the ground floor is a great place to catch up and Happy Hour between 5 and 7 on a Friday is a must. Great location and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate feedback from all our guests as it tells us where our strengths and weaknesses are.

Our 1 bedroom apartments are perfect for enjoying your own home away from home. We are lucky to be in such a great location too overlooking the harbour.

We love that you enjoyed happy hour on a Friday too, the perfect wind down for the end of the working week.

Thanks again


Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
54 McLaren Street, North Sydney NSW 2060
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Property: Rydges North Sydney
Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing