We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position for watching the centenary Fleet Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We opted to stay at Rydges, North Sydney given its proximity to the harbour, the bridge and it's views. We chose a harbour view room and were allocated room 1010 on the tenth floor. Great views and we were able to view a good bit of the naval fleet assembled.

Room Tip: It's generally a quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay

We are happy to hear you enjoyed Fleet review as much as we did.

Hopefully you will keep coming back to enjoy the festivals in Sydney

Thanks again,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely ambient setting and the reception area was modern and new.
The restaurant was excellent and very accommodating. The food and service excellent.
Rooms were ok and clean but bathrooms/ showers could definitely do with an upgrade.
Overall, very happy with our stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleLRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Great to hear you chose us for your stay during your visit to Sydney and even more pleasing that you enjoyed the Mundo latin bar and grill.

We are so lucky to have such creative chefs who go that extra step to make meals exciting, full of flavour and leave the lasting impressions on our guests

Thank you again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Got nothing wrong, but its not gonna blow your mind.
Service good, room size and bed quality good. Bathrooms a little dated.
Typical room service menu - Am i the only one that craves a good dumpling, curry, nasi goring etc when staying away from home. Im getting tired of club sandwiches, burgers, pizzas and choice of steak or chicken with sides.

Stay here for value for money, and walking distance to business in North Sydney. Would happily come back if I needed to stay in North Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for letting us know your feedback about your stay

Something that is exciting is we have updated our room service menu over the past month.We do try our best to give guests what you want. Great that you have let us know what you want - It is important we get things right for our guests.

We hope you continue to come back to Rydges and keep giving us feedback - We love it.

Kind Regards

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in Rydges for the second year i na row for the Sydney Harbour Bridge running festival. It is half the price of other hotels but lacks in nothing. Just liek last year, the staff where the friendliest most professional bunch of peolple I have ever met. The hotel is alittle old and could do with a face lift, the bathrooms etc are dated, but the rooms are comfortable, top quality and this year we even had a view. Running in a running festival meant that we missed out 12pm check out and where alittle late to leave, but the staff never grumbled and there was no mention of charging us. Great location in North Sydney, we will be staying here every year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for a lovely review.

Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us.

We hope that you return again for the summer season

Thanks again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have stayed here before for family get togethers. Although a bit old the rooms are very comfortable. All staff including reception, room service and restaurant were super friendly and helpful. Once again we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s h m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel

Great to hear the team made your stay most comfortable. We are lucky to have such a lovely team here and it is warming to hear that they are providing the best service possible

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014

Thank you again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a brilliantly located business hotel especially if you have to work in North Sydney. The staff are very courteous. It was comfortable and quiet with great ambience around the hotel. My office was 5 mintues away so really convenient. Since I was staying for a week, they didn't hesitate to throw in some freebies - which always elevates the experience!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohitkaushal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

What an amazing review, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your feedback.

We are very lucky to have a great team and such wonderful guests to make it that all the more rewarding.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Thanks

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a well used business hotel given the proximity to North Sydney.
The staff were very helpful as I arrived late at night and they were able to help with a decent restaurant meal in the bar area. I hate room service.
It was comfortable and quiet.
The reception also gave me an (loan) umbrella as it was raining outside and I had to walk about 10 minutes to the office.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTheHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney.

We are so pleased to hear we could help you out with a yummy meal in Mundo during your time with us.

Always happy to assist where we can and glad to hear we saved the day with our Rydges umbrella's.

Thanks again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Phone: 02 9922 1311
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 10 in North Sydney
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Sydney
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kirribilli
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: £74 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing