We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and wonderful Tapas bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges North Sydney
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely location and wonderful Tapas bar.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Rydges North Sydney on business. Hard to find anything to complain about. Room was comfortable and well appointed though the bathtub had seen better deals and could do with replacement.

The attached Mundo Latin Grill & Tapas bar was fantastic and I liked them cooking a rather large Paella in the reception. The smell sure did direct a few guests into the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    297
    272
    92
    67
See reviews for
171
189
50
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

So we picked up a deal which was great seeing as the city was booked out during the fleet review. The staff were lovely. And no doubt the hotel needs a upgrade but it's still looks great for its age. The lifts are small and rickety and the rooms are super modern. But it is clean and it is well presented and still a very comfortable and clean stay and we would stay again. It is close to the city, McMahons point and Kirribilli. So was very happy with my purchase and would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and i stayed at Rydges North Sydney for a 24hr escape this weekend. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Waterview suite. The view was nice but the room (and the hotel in general) was in desperate need of a renovation. It looks very old and was showing obvious signs of age and wear and tear. 20 years ago, it would have been great but not now. My wife and I were expecting something a little more for the money we had paid. The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay but we would probably choose to stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: The water view suites have nice views. The restaurant was on the pricey side but very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback

It was disappointing that we did not met your expectations during your time with us and we agree you are right the building is a little dated but we do as best we can with what we have.

We value the comments from our guest's because it shows us you care. We hope in time we can get better in all aspects of service.

Thank you again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
02 9922 1311
katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival there was a mix up with my booking. The result was a free upgrade to a more suitable room. This was a lovely gesture- given it was probably the fault if a third party booking company. The room is lovely ( 806) and the room service excellent. I had the ribeye tonight and it was very well cooked. I would stay here again and recommend.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges North Sydney.

We are glad that we could accommodate you for your stay and that you enjoyed the Ribeye from our room service menu.

We hope that you return again soon

Regards,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Attended a trade show last weekend in darling harbour and found that all the nearby properties were way too expensive, this property provides a great north sydney location comfortable rooms excellent breakfast at a competitive price. Breakfast was tasty a few spanish influeced dishes and one evening a paella was being cooked in the lobby entrance to the restaurant bar area which really got the digestive juice working overtime.This Chain has a priority membership that is free for either an individual or company that provides a minimum 10% off best rates and 20% of food and drinks as well a welcome drink on arrival.If you don't want your room serviced eachnight to minimise disruption the hotel offers you as well a $10.00 food and drink credit

Room Tip: The higher the levels the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Great to hear you chose us for your stay during your visit to Sydney and even more pleasing that you enjoyed the Mundo latin bar and grill.

We are so lucky to have such creative chefs who go that extra step to make meals exciting, full and flavour and to leave the lasting impressions on our guests

Thank you again for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We are a family of 4 and had a enjoyable 3 night stay at Rydges. A little old but clean and tidywith
extremely helpful staff.
Great buffet breakfast.
Views of the cricket and harbour from our room.
Good access to the city and northern beaches of Sydney

Room Tip: Harbour views available from some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our full buffet breakfast offering.

We hope that you come back soon to enjoy another stay away

Thanks again

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager, Rydges North Sydney

Phone: 02 9922 1311
Web: www.rydges.com
Email: katie_dewar@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As we live in Brisbane we booked two adjoining rooms in the hotel for two nights for my daughter to get ready for her wedding! Staff were exceptional! From space to dress the cars, to an amazing amt of champagne flutes, to scissors! Awesome!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Front Office Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.

We are so pleased that we could help make your daughters wedding that little bit easier.
Our team always do our best to assist where we can and glad to see we stepped up for the occassion

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Katie Dewar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
371 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Property: Rydges North Sydney
Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing