We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, and great value.”
Review of McLaren Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McLaren Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, and great value.”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

A beautiful building on a quiet street greets you as you arrive here, with lovely stained glass windows. The staff here are great - friendly helpful welcoming and informative, you feel like a real person not just a room number. The hotel is lovely, with real character, so you dont feel like you are staying in some bland multinational chain. The king sized bed was large, clean and comfortable, and the room we stayed in had a deck to sit out on, with plenty of natural light. The bathtub was big, the water pressure was fantastic, with endless hot water, and the shower was fantastic...mmm! Just bring your own bath bubbles. though they do proved shampoo and soap. Our room had a heat pump, so if you are sensetive to getting too hot, do ask them for a room with one. They seem to be always aiming to improve things here - previous guests had said that the wireless broadband signal was weak, so they had put in a new box - the signal we had was great ( we had a few other issues with the broadband instead, but they were sorting those out, and were very helpful). The broadband was also very good value ( only $5 for our 3 night stay).
The breakfast room was lovely light and airy with glass doors out into to the small quiet garden, where we sat and read the papers over our toast...a simple breakfast but filling and good value. We gave up trying to find a cooked breakfast, as most places were closed over the weekend anyway!
And in the evenings we enjoyed the complimentary port - one of the many things that made us feel like welcome guests rather than just customers.
Thank you Owen, Chris, and all the staff that were so friendly to your kiwi guests!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    94
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
79
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Pretty good location just off Miller St, 10 minutes walk to North Sydney train station. Quite nice heritage building. Friendly and helpful staff. Small lounge area to help yourself to an after-dinner port. Internal decor is not very modern and is a bit daggy. It's clean, comfortable and has all the basics that one needs. Thin walls as could hear shower/toilet flushing from the next room. I had a deluxe room with a king bed and a bigger size room. I have stayed here another time with a standard room which is smaller but still larger than standard size rooms and has a standard double bed. I found some long black hairs on the pillow when I checked in which was disturbing. Everything else was clean. All in all it is good value for money. If you are in North Sydney for business, there is not a lot of choice in this price range, so you could worse than the McLaren.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacrim, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Many thanks for your review.
Your comment concerning noise is one we have grappled with for some time. Our advice is that because the back rooms are constructed on a common cement slab any noise is transmitted quite efficiently. We have investigated the idea of filling in the cavity walls with foam, however at the time it was prohibitively expensive. We might revisit this one to see if a newer technology has surfaced. With luck might still be able to resolve this one.

Regards

Chris Fairbairn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stay at the McLaren a number of times annually, for business and leisure.
It is well-located, has friendly staff and represents excellent value.
The rooms are a good size, generally well maintained and those to the rear are very quiet

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We absolutely loved it. It is a 100 year old boutique hotel with stained glass windows and 13 foot high ceilings. A green leafy, quiet street so close to Sydney. We stayed in the Tara Suite (honeymoon suite) as there were 3x of us and wanted that bit of extra room. There is a large balcony facing the beautiful large street trees. Suite has small kitchenette for extra convience and other lovely peices of furniture. There is sitting room downstairs for guests to simply relax, read the paper and have a small glass of sherry! Has quaint meals area with gardens and free car parking.

Bus stop is around the corner on Pacific Highway where there are many buses to catch. Hop off at Wynard bus/rail station then walk around city and to Darling Harbour, can also catch train from there to Circular Quey (one stop) and the rest is history.

Can also walk from hotel to North Sydney shopping precinct and dine in style or catch bus and go two stops. Buy MyPass transport ticket, which can be used on bus, train and ferry services. We stayed almost a week and bought the 7-day unlimited use pass. And here's more....Budget rental car is a 2 minute walk to Pacific Highway!!

Thank you to Owen and the other staff incluing our lovely cleaner for the best stay ever, will never forget how great it was to experience charming North Sydney and to have stayed in a heritage building. Home away from home...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed the stay, but this time found it disappointing.
It is in a good location, in a quiet street off Pacific Highway in North Sydney with good connections to Chatswood and Sydney City (5 mins walk to N Sydney station). The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful, but there are a few things that need a bit of attention.
The breakfast is poor and at $7 extra, is just not worth it. Walk to the cafe around the corner and get something much better for $10.
TV's are a bit dated and with limited channels. Ours had a faulty remote control and despite a battery change, didn't really work.
Lots of places in rooms and common areas where the wallpaper is peeling off the walls, paintwork chipped and generally pretty tired looking.
Needs a bit of work on soundproofing. Could hear every movement of the folks in the room above and slamming doors in the corridors.

Shame really, as the hotel has a nice feel to it and you get the feeling that with a little bit of attention, it could be a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Stayed at McLaren Hotel with colleagues on business trips to Sydney in late 2008 and again in early 2009. While the rooms are are a litle dated, we found the hotel very comfortable. The location is excellent and within walking distance of buses and trains. A couple of minor issues - as one other reviewer has noted the continental breakfast is additional to the room price, and between the first and second stay a small hourly charge was introduced for using the hotel's wireless internet service, which can be difficult to access from some rooms due to the low powered transmitter, which is in the breakfast room. However, it is quite pleasant to sit and work at the tables in the breakfast room, and there is also a computer and printer available in the breakfast room for the same charge as wireless access.

What makes this hotel very memorable is the complementary port and sherry offered in the guest lounge room during the evenings, which provides a great opportunity to relax with your colleagues. After our first stay in 2008 we were happy to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andersb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2007

The Mclaren is a really nice hotel but just a couple of oddities:-

the drains stank in room 14 making the bathroom unpleasant to use;
the cost of a simple continental breakfast does not come included in the cost of the room, which goes against the norm and caught me unawares.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank andersb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Property: McLaren Hotel
Address: 25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing