We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in North Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McLaren Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McLaren Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value in North Sydney”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and find it extremely good value. It is really like a large bed and breakfast and is very well located just off Miller Street in North Sydney. All the rooms are, I think, different and I have had 3 different rooms on the 3 occasions but all have had very comfortable beds and a decent, if old-fashioned, bathroom with a good shower. Best one was the latest - Room 7 - good for one person, may be a bit squeezy for two, although does have a queen bed. TV was very small - size of my laptop!! Check-in is always quick and easy and the staff are very pleasant. Don't know about breakfast, however, if you are thinking of dinner, you can't go past L'Incontro at the end of the road - the food is sensational and the service very good - not cheap, but not overly expensive either, depending on what wine you drink!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmobrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    90
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
77
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the McLaren twice in two weeks recently. We first booked it because of the good deal we found on wotif, but also because the location suited us. We were pleasantly surprised. Its older style accomodation but the room (King bed, no. 21) was a decent size, nice and clean, the bathroom pretty good and excellent pressure in the shower. We stay in hotels quite a lot in Sydney so it was nice to try something a little different, almost B&B style in a leafy and quite street of North Sydney. The Rag and Famish Pub is only a short stroll away for an evening meal and a glass of wine. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in No. 21 both times, its upstairs in the back part of the hotel. Extremely quite, no pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Vic Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

An older property well located in North Sydney. Good size room and a comfortable bed. Good bathroom and windows you can open. Flat screen TV would have been nice. Excellent parking underneath. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Can fully recommend and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very quiet, staff extremely helpful and the location was great. Within walking distance to North Sydney railway station, buses just around the corner and plenty of restaurants also just round the corner. It was a little aged, but the rooms were clean and so was the linen.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werrimadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I would fully recommend this clean, friendly and convenient hotel to anyone wanting to stay on the lower North Shore of Sydney. Decor beautiful and staff extremely helpful, nothing was a problem. I stayed for one night in a standard room, only problem mine didn't have a fridge, which I think would be handy.
really good value for money for Sydney accommodation. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel facing Miller Street I think are brighter than on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoozersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed for one night with two other adults. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfy. The staff were friendly.and helpful. Its not a five starhotel, but it was an enjoyable stay. Definate value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shezbup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

In our case, heritage meant dark and musty smelling room. We'd chosen a higher level King room and the room itself was large enough but every time we came in we got a whiff of musty mouldy smell. Bathroom EXTREMELY tiny so much so that the shower door had an opening of about 18-20 inches, and don't drop the soap cos there wasn't much room!
Stayed 2 days and were extremely unimpressed to return to find the bed had been made and fresh towels left, but no effort made to clean the bathroom or wash the cups and glasses let alone restock the tea and coffee.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkapple4295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
1.4 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Property: McLaren Hotel
Address: 25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing