We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant quiet hotel”
Review of McLaren Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McLaren Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Can't add anything to all the other positive reviews. Just to reiterate: A lovely hotel in a beautiful leafy part of North Sydney. Very pleasant garden-view breakfast room - and excellent value at $7 for toast (various kinds), fruit, muesli, teas, coffee and newspapers. Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable room and it was nice to be able to open the door onto the little private courtyard. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JanetButler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked our room only 3 days before we arrived. The McLaren Hotel was a good price at $145 for a standard room with parking. We inquired at The Rydges who was $185 and The Vibe $200. We have previously stayed at The McLaren and had booked a better room with a little courtyard outside. As we were late with our booking we got a standard room which was a little musky and dark but still good value for money, lots of character and even a fire place in our room. The bed was very comfortable and the staff are friendly, we even got a phone call from the manager because we'd left a tee-shirt behind. I'd definitely stay here again, but if you want a shiny new hotel with mod cons it wont be for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Apologize for stealing the title from downstairs, but indeed it summarized the beauty of Mclaren neatly! Didn't highlight North Sydney as it is actually just 2 tram stops from downtown, so fairly easy to get to everywhere.

Visited Sydney with family in Feb so want to stay close to attractions while still get some quiet sleep. Mclaren fits my needs perfectly. As mentioned the location is convenient (800 meters from North Sydney station, so still takes ~10 mins walk), and it resides in a quiet neibourhood. The hotel itself is a lovely 2 floor house with a small but enjoyable garden. Inner deco fits with the house style, a bit retro but cozy and comfortable, a home feeling. Enjoyed the big bright dinning room at the lobby (not rich, but the 7 dollar breakfast is definitely good value).

Not many rooms and well managed/serviced (like a home B&B). Warm and helpful staff. Have to say a few words about Lily, an elegant girl with a soft tone who showed us great hospitality upon our arrival. Certainly appreciated.

Last but not least, Sydney hotels generally are expensive. Mclaren definitely offer attractive rates.

Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed at the McLaren hotel for one night in January on business. I booked a Standard room as it was only one night and frankly, the mark of a good establishment is getting the Standard rooms right - it's relatively easier to make expensive rooms good.

The Standard rooms are in the heritage part of the hotel and mine was on the first floor. It is small but comfortable and reasonably furnished. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. The bathroom was shower only but plenty of hot water and nice shampoos.

There is no view from the window and no minibar, but the hotel has a guest lounge downstairs and I was happy to spend some time here reading and making my calls home.

I was checked in by the owner who was very friendly and showed my around the hotel which also includes a charming breakfast room - unfortunately, I had an early start so could not sample the breakfast.

The hotel is a short walk from several restaurants and pubs - I had dinner at the Union Hotel.

It is only a 10 minute walk to North Sydney and I thoroughly recommend it for a short or longer stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit spartan but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainview547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The McClaren is a boutique hotel located on a pleasant, quiet street in North Sydney. It is a large, two storey hotel with some rooms located on the ground floor next to the lounge. We had a room upstairs which worked well for us. The room was very large and we were able to request two single beds. The room was clean and included a kettle and instant coffee, tea and biscuits.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Wireless internet is available as are breakfast and parking. However there are only so many car parks in the underground garage and it is first come first serve. However, the staff mentioned that they also have other places to tuck cars if need be.

The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the North Sydney train station, so don’t expect it to be right around the corner. I was with someone who had some mobility issues and so we found it easier to drive north to one of the other train stations where we could park on the street and had easy access to the train. This worked out well since parking in a Sydney garage can be really expensive. However, some garages have early bird specials which are really good and so it pays to look at the garage websites.

The only concern that I had during our stay was security. The front door is locked after a certain time at night and each room is locked. However, I was able to walk into the hotel and up to our room without seeing anyone. But that concern may just be me being more used to bigger hotels with more security in place.

I highly recommend walking down to Lavender Park and the boardwalk for fantastic views across the harbor.

Overall, a really nice hotel in a quiet part of the city.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed at the McLaren Hotel recently in North Sydney. I stay in a lot of hotels for work and the like so I was trying very hard to avoid the modern box variety of charcoal coloured sofas, small rooms, baths with showers in them, and living in a building with about 400 other people for a night. This hit the spot. It was perfect. Great location, great size rooms, super price for the locale and very homely atmosphere. If you are thinking Intercontinental, then this is not your place, but why think that when you can think a great sleep in a room you can swing several cats in, lovely staff, amazing location and just a wonderful place to stay that IS NOT a giant, impersonal and compulsorily airconditioned box. I loved it and will stay nowhere else in Sydney now.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foolsnotsuffered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Absolutely beautiful property, wonderful staff, fantastic location and great value! A short 10 minute walk from train station or to nearby cafes and shops - summer Friday night jazz and food market right across the road. Friendly staff checked us in straight away, no waiting around. Gorgeous large rooms, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, with quality linen, opening windows and doors onto outdoor sitting area. Free Foxtel! Take your time over the $7 (!!!) continental breakfast in the light filled atrium area and read the paper as you enjoy fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, muffins and crumpets. Staff were so helpful and friendly, happy to provide us with a late checkout at no extra cost.
Terrific value for money. Looking forward to a longer return stay to enjoy more of Sydney.

Room Tip: Stayed on the lower floor and did hear a little bit of noise from upstairs late at night. Staying o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenShoeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites North Sydney
Meriton Suites North Sydney
#1 of 9 in North Sydney
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Address: 25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range: £93 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing