We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic piece of quiet Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McLaren Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McLaren Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic piece of quiet Sydney”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Seems a million miles from the hustle & bustle of central Sydney, yet only 750m from North Sydney station & 100m from the closest bus stop. There is tranquility here, that on a Sunday morning all you can hear are the birds chirping in the trees, the faint movements of the comings & goings of staying in an historic boutique hotel & that's it. On a long weekend visit to Sydney, the Deluxe room with outdoor terrace was a haven in the morning & evening, the bed large & comfortable, the shower with enough water pressure to wash the city stresses away & delightful continental breakfast to get you off to a good start in the morning. The staff are also wonderfully friendly & welcoming & ready to point you in the right direction if needed.
In short, a delightful haven that is a home away from home - we've loved our stay & will use the McLaren as our North Sydney base for future visits! By the way, we had room 15 which was wonderful!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank W4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    90
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
77
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Forget the fact that party-goers were running up and down stairs between 2-3am. Forget the fact that when we unwittingly locked the door from inside of room 16 and left through the terrace that the Hotel Manager would insinuate we were at fault. Why did 95% of the hotel smell like old cigarette smoke? I've worked in fresher nightclubs. There was an unmissable stench of cigarette smoke in the hallways.
Service seemed ok. We didn't try room service. Bed was reasonably comfy.
There was a charm about the place as a renovated property.
Conversations can be heard in rooms on all sides AND across the hall (if you're in Rm 16) and lack any sound proofing. I don't want to know there's someone whizzing upstairs or next door.
"Luxurious boutique accommodation in North Sydney" the website says....wow?..well it was in North Sydney.
Self-rated at 3.5 stars, you have to be kidding when compared to ANY other 3.5 star property I've been to (and I worked as a travel agent for 8 years so I've seen a couple).
Will be be back? Not a hope in hell. I'll pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickWFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Owner at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
This review is a disappointing outcome for a rare event. It is very rare that a customer will press the security button on their room entrance door and then exit the room via a separate security door to the outside of the building. It is a bit like securing the door in a public toilet and then climbing out the window. The inevitable result is the room becomes impossible to re-enter.

It does happen from time to time and I our mistake was to tell the customer that. It implies fault and that is particularly irritating. For that we are extremely apologetic. It was never intended as demonstrated by us at not making any effort to recover the cost of breaking a window to gain access to the room.

Furthermore, as a cycling event was the reason for being at the hotel, the staff were asked for and gave a late check-out at no extra cost so that the room could be used again after the event to clean up prior to leaving the hotel.

The hotel operates a strict no smoking policy in the rooms. However, for those who wish to smoke we allocate our ground floor terrace rooms - so people can smoke outside. It is possible there were smokers adjacent who has gone outside to smoke. Whilst there is little we can do about that we do accept that it can be an irritation. I have spoken to the staff concerned and at no stage did we receive a request to change rooms.

The hotel was full and from time to time the mix of guests means the hotel can be quite noisy. When this happens - we recognise that it is very annoying and for that we are extremely sorry. As a rule the only way to fix these issues is direct action by the staff - so we are always hopeful that our guests will ask for our help. It sometimes does not happen and unfortunately guests are inconvenienced.

Hotels from time to time get it wrong and the measure of a hotel is to react positively to issues raised. In this case we have a customer who has paid for one night, used no other services of the hotel, obtained a late checkout at no cost and has delivered a damming report.

The McLaren Hotel has consistently been in the top 35% of the 190 odd hotels listed in Sydney on TripAdvisor. Indeed we have a TripAdvisor medal for excellence in 2012. The hotel has received just 2 indifferent reports in 90. Unfortunately, these reviews can be be very damaging to the brand, so in this case we believe this customer has been unnecessarily harsh on the hotel. However, customers have every right to complain and should continue to do so - as it drives excellence in the industry. In our case, we know that we will have to work that much harder to ensure that we receive lots of fresh positive reviews that hopefully will consign this one quickly to the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A renovated heritage house, the McLaren is full of local atmosphere as well as being perfectly situated in North Sydney with easy access to all of central Sydney – minutes to the Bridge and City as well as Military Rd and the Lower North Shore. Whether you are on foot, using a car or on public transport Sydney is at your fingertips. Despite its location in a popular business area, it’s also very quiet during the evenings so no problem about getting a peaceful night's sleep.

The rooms are spacious and, if you are on the ground floor in the back half of the hotel, have an outdoor space to catch the morning or evening sun. The décor is a little behind the times but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the bathroom (no bath) has a hot and powerful shower. An ironing board and iron plus a small fridge in the room are happy additions.

My peace and quiet did however tend to be interrupted early-ish every morning by the neighbouring rooms plumbing leaping into action as well as the cleaners in the corridor outside preparing to clean.

The staff are present, helpful and attentive - right down to the cleaning staff. Under cover parking is a great addition and although there are limited spaces staff are ready to help you manage double parking - sweet parking after hours is also plentiful.

Its a comfortable, reasonably priced option in a prime location. Worth trying for sure.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms, while most not in the main building have the advantage of a private balcony/terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooma
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great spot quiet and safe with an easy walk to shops and public transport. Secure underground car park but limited spots. Comfortable bed and very clean rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAdwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uralla, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed just one night to attend appointment, hotel is in easy walking distance to the Mater (even with a sore foot). I drove from Northern NSW and arrived too early to book in to my room, the staff were very friendly and helpful they let me leave my car in the car park so I didn't have to worry about it for the day. Clean room, quiet area, very comfortable bed. Would loved to have been able to spend more time at the McLaren, will definitely stay here the next time I come to Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileandubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindelfingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

McLaren hotel has a wonderful homey feel to it. The staff are very friendly and courteous, and the location is superb, about 15 minutes to the heart of Sydney by bus or train. It's located in a quiet and peaceful corner in the North Sydney business district, and I felt very safe walking home to it, even late at night. There isn't much dining in the area, but there are a few good hotels (pubs) nearby, and heading into the city center is never an issue. The price was very decent for what you get, especially in a city as pricey as Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a lovely stay I had at the McLaren this week
The service was exceptional and very, very friendly. The room was very clean and very functional. The position was fantastic. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try a sherry in the sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclarenhotel, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.5 mi away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
1.4 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLaren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Property: McLaren Hotel
Address: 25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in North Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing