We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McLaren Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rydges North Sydney(North Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vibe Hotel North Sydney(North Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harbourside Apartments(McMahons Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
102
106
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
106
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastquiet streetcomplimentary portsmall hotelboutique hotelsitting roomroom was largethe ground floorminute walkhome away from homefree car parkinggood sizevisited sydneyguest houseon site parkingcomfortable bednight stay
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in the McLaren Hotel over the new year period and found it excellent value for money! Whilst the hotel appears a little dated, the staff were great and my room was more than adequate. The air con was great, shower was powerful and the bed was huge and very comfortable. I had a great nights sleep every night! Absolutely no complaints there.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk away from North Sydney train station, or you can get the bus easily if you don't fancy the walk. A very short train ride and you're in the centre! There are plenty of eateries close by for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The area also felt very safe, coming from a female who travelled alone!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sydney and will be back if I ever visit the city again!

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room on the first floor which was lovely and huge, but there is no lift so beware if you have a problem with stairs!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have just spent a week at the McLaren Hotel whilst doing a very intensive course in North Sydney, I found the hotel absolutely charming and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My room had a king size bed with a small terrace so I could sit outside, it was clean and very comfortable also where it is in North Sydney you are away from the hustle and bustle of North Sydney but only a 5 minute walk into the centre of North Sydney so you have the best of both worlds.
I would highly recommend the McLaren Hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe king room with the terrace are very roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOOLS772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was a pleasant find, our room had a king sized bed which was comfortable, and our room had everything we needed for a very reasonable price.

A continental breakfast was an additional $8 which was very good value, the dining room was pleasant and surrounded by pretty gardens. Newspapers were available to read in the dining room.

Overall if you need to be in the North Sydney area it would be hard to look past this hotel, we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I generally avoid staying in North Sydney as pretty much all the hotels are poor and overpriced.

My client booked me into the McLaren for a short business trip - I was sceptical given past experience in North Sydney - but from the moment I walked in it was a really nice experience. Owen was very polite and showed me to my room and made sure everything was sorted. The continental breakfast for $8 is just perfect - cereal, fruit, toast, and coffee...

I agree with some of the other reviewers that the furnishings are dated - but the bed is pretty damn comfortable!

If you need to be in our around North Sydney this is a really nice hotel option.

Room Tip: The school on the eastern side of the building has a major construction project going on and they start work around 6.30am - probably look for a western room till around May 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This lovely small hotel has been our 'home away from home' on many occasions over the last few months. We have stayed in quite a few of the rooms (except the suite) and they are all tastefully decorated, staying true to the era of the old heritage building, whether you are in the old part of the building or the new part at the back. The beds are huge and very comfortable. Bathrooms are small but perfectly adequate. Towels are thick and toiletries are provided.

In between the old and the new buildings is a light and airy breakfast room,where, for $8 you can help yourself to the sort of breakfast you might have at home - cereals, fruit (prunes, peaches in syrup) fruit juice, breads, crumpets or muffins with nice jams and marmalades (even Vegemite) tea and filtered coffee. Fresh fruit is also provided.

Parking underneath the building is first come first served, and most of the time there is a spot. If not, there is free parking after 6pm in the streets outside. North Sydney train station is about 10-15 minutes downhill from the hotel.

The hotel is well situated for the monthly gourmet produce market run each month directly across the road (3rd Saturday each month) and a 10-15 minute walk north up the Pacific Highway will have you at Crows Nest where there are about 100 eateries to choose from for a cheap or expensive meal. There is a good pub just around the corner (next to the police station!)

The staff are very welcoming, and the rooms are well maintained.

All in all, a delightful place and good value so close to the city!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, as the hotel is in a quiet street.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbrajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews