We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family break”
Lovely Littonfields Barn - Sleeps 12 in 5 en-suite bedrooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely Littonfields Barn - Sleeps 12 in 5 en-suite bedrooms.
Spacious dining kitchen with everything you need! Tremendous Triple Bedroom with en-suite shower room!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Lovely Littonfields Barn - Sleeps 12 in 5 en-suite bedrooms.
Spacious dining kitchen with everything you need!
Tremendous Triple Bedroom with en-suite shower room!
Sundowners on the Pation
Heated Games Barn -Fun for all the family whatever the weather!
Lovely large oak beamed lounge with log-burner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Helen S
1 review
“Family break”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had such a fantastic stay at Littinfields Barn. 14 if us stayed here across 3 generations (from 1 month old to 69 years) and it met all of our needs wonderfully. Bridget met us and made us feel so welcome with some complimentary prosecco and from then onwards we had a superb time. The games room with Wendy house kept lots of us busy and the kitchen was so well equipped that we ate in all weekend. We did visit Tideswell and found this to be lovely. The local shop in Litton was also useful and very friendly, ordering my father's all important Sunday paper for him! We did think that with so many children, the lack of garden space would prove a problem but the courtyard with seating and fantastic park very close to the cottage more than made up for this. A special treat on the sunday was a tour around the farm from Bridget which we all hugely enjoyed, especially seeing the new born calfs. Overall, a wonderful stay with some fantastic memories made.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you all had a good time and were able to make the most of the local area, including the playground and village shop, which we love too!
Best wishes
Bridget & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cate91
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Treat the whole family to a luxury break”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Three families (age 2 to 65!) came here for a long weekend and it was perfect. In fact it exceeded expectations. The great thing about the barn is that you feel like you're staying in a beautiful hotel, but with the freedom of self-catering. The furnishings and fittings are way beyond the usual standard, and with every bedroom having full ensuite it's great for big groups. It was so clean that we assumed it was newly renovated. The children loved the play barn and the new calves and we all enjoyed the easy proximity to lots of great walks. We also walked to The Merchants Yard n Tideswell, for an incredible Sunday roast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of Littonfields Barn and for your lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you all had a good time and that the children enjoyed meeting the farm animals. Thanks also for your comments about The Merchants Yard - yes their Sunday lunches are fabulous aren't they and great that they are within walking distance.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Bridget & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebR1976
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Getaway”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to book a half term break for 3 families (6 adults and 5 kids - ages 2-7). This house was more than perfect. A fully equipped kitchen, cosy fire and games room were perfect for everyone to unwind. The barn is beautifully renovated and with 11 of us in one house, there was so much space so we didn't feel cramped.

The games room was a hit with the kids and they spent a lot of time in the Wendy house and in the evening the dads went off to play pool, leaving the mums to relax by the fire.

Bridget and Andrew were great hosts and showed us round the farm and the kids got to meet the new baby lambs and ride the tractor.

We would come back without a doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Littonfields Barn, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Great to hear that the children enjoyed the games room and the farm - we have almost finished lambing now.
We do hope you will come back to stay again.
Andrew & Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRJ344
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just the perfect place to stay! Fully equipped with everything you could possible need. The bedrooms are spacious and lovely en-suites, good quality bed linen & towels. Underfloor heating is lovely. Upstairs the kitchen has everything you will ever need and the seating area is plenty big enough for a large group! No faults whatsoever, best place we have stayed, will be going back without doubt.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you and the other lovely ladies and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the barn. We very much hope to see you all again - there will be a warm welcome awaiting you at Littonfields!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annroger
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An ideal family halfterm break in the Dales”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husbands and I stayed at the barn during the October half term with our four children and four grandchildren. We found it to be absolutely ideal in every way. Having looked at all the recent reviews we would agree with all of the positive comments and could find no negatives at all. . The owners, Bridget, Andrew and Dad were lovely and it was a great pleasure to chat to them with respect to life in the dales and farming in general. We would recommend the meals at " The Barrel" Bretton , The Merchants in Litton and to work off any excesses of eating and drinking there are lots of lovely walks close to the Barn. We had a lovely half day cycling the Monsal trail, which is great now that the old railway tunnels have been opened up. We were supplied with a wealth of information prior to the visit which we found to be accurate and very helpful. We found the location of the games room opposite the barn to be ideal, as it was possible to see the grandchildren having great fun from the upstairs living area of the barn. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to pick out one thing, it was excellent
Liked least: Going home !!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_cbrodie0...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A very warm welcome from the owner for our family group of 10 - grandparents, parents and 4 young children. The children enjoyed using the well equipped playroom and were invited to help feed the calves.The spacious barn is beautifully and comfortably furnished with everything you could hope for. It is situated in a quiet village with a cosy pub and excellent playground within walking distance of Tideswell where we had a delicious lunch at The Merchant's Yard. Also the Chestnut Otter and Owl Sanctuary made a delightful outing.
A perfect weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of furnishings and equipment at the Barn
Liked least: I can find no fault.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An excellent residence in a lovely village, and superb walking”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The bed-rooms were really comfortable, as was the lounge and dining/kitchen areas.The owners who are on the farm on site most pleasant. Delightful places for walkers; try Millers Dale and Cressbrook dale. The village has a good look about it with all the houses in a similar grey stone. The lounge and dining/kitchen areas are on the first floor with bedrooms below, so you can enjoy the views. Our only slight negative was that the one bedroom on the first floor was not ensuite and did not have a shower nearby, (just a bath), as that is the room that we used for our least mobile person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing