We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Quality Cottage in a nice village”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax. Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
48 reviews
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax.
Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
The patio style garden area is private and ideally suited for BBQ's and al fresco dining.
The double bedroom offers every comfort for a romantic break.
The twin bedroom enjoys views of the cherry blossom in May and the village green beyond.
After a long walk, share a bottle of wine in front of the fire in our cosy sitting room.
The kitchen has everything you may need and more. We can even organise a chef to cook for you!
The Red Lion Pub on Litton Village Green is very well known for the quality of its food and beer.
Wild orchids in Tansley Dale, a short walk from the cottage.
Curbar Edge: One of the many settings for the film Pride and Predjudice with Kiera Knightly.
Art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth House which takes place every autumn
Chatsworth House, home to the Dukes of Devonshire used to film Pride and Predjudice and The Duchess.
The Emperor Fountain and art on display as part of the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
More temporary art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
Candlelight Cottage is a holder of the prestigious English Tourist Board Gold Award for excellence.
Enjoy our welcome pack, crammed with local specialities.
Celebrate Christmas in style with your loved ones at Candlelight Cottage.
Stroll round picturesque and unspoilt Peak District villages. This is the pond at nearby Foolow.
Miles of ancient stone walls are a feature of Peak District scenery: here at Litton.
The vibrant market town of Bakewell has many boutique shops and interesting buildings.
Cressbrook Dale, a few minutes walk from the cottage  is a site of special scientific interest.
Cycle or walk through spectacular Monsal Dale along The Monsal Trail.
Winter offers other spectacular scenery. Here, the River Wye in Monsal Dale on a crisp November day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WardyWolv...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality Cottage in a nice village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Candlelight cottage is on a small side street, in the middle of the small village of Litton - off the main village square and oppersite the red lion pub - which is handily for an ale or pub grub grub after a day in the hills
The cottage is well maintained and well equipped - its has quality fixtures and fittings and doesn't feel like a typical rental at all - nice linen, silk prints, nice leather sofa etc
The owners take real care of this place and it shows, good communications and easy booking process direct with them
The village is a good base, and has a pub and small community shop/post office

We all enjoyed our stay @ candlelight

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quality cottage
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen05...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Candlelight Cottage for four nights and wished it could have been more. The Cottage and location were excellent and we had a lovely relaxed time, although we did an awful lot of walking as there were so many places we wanted to see. Everything you needed could be found in the Cottage and more. Simon and Jill made you feel very welcome and were very informative. Loved the Cottage so much we are are going back next year only for much longer. The Pub across the road was lovely and very inviting, we ate there twice as my sister and her husband stayed with us for a couple of nights. Good value for money but not for the waistline. Cannot wait to go back to this lovely Cottage.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: There was nothing not to like. Didnt want to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful, warm and tastefully furnished cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Candlelight Cottage is a delight to stay in and we had nothing whatsoever to complain about. Everything was perfect. Tastefully furnished, warm and inviting and the owners Simon and Jill are extremely friendly and helpful. Litton is a lovely little village with a good pub and local shop.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cosiness and warmth and tasteful furnishings
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilnJinxs...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Candlelight Cottage at Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Candlelight Cottage during Christmas and New Year and it was was a wonderful vacation during the festive period. The owners Simon and Jill had made the place very xmassy with decorations and a beautiful real tree which smelled great. The cottage is fully equipped and very modern whilst retaining its cosy feel with the fire making it very warm and romantic in the evenings. There are really good walks right on the doorstep and the village pub is right across the green and serves very good food. There is a small village shop and we visited the towns of Castleton and Bakewell which are really close by. On New Years Eve there were fireworks in the village which was a nice surprise and a lovely welcome to 2014. We will definitely return to the cottage agin, hopefully very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen m
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent standard of accommodation, fantastic welcome and great attention to detail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We were warmly welcomed and this delightful cottage has everything that is needed for a great stay. Fully equipped and welcome pack with one or two surprises. Village has a really useful shop and it is well situated for touring the surrounding area - lots of interest within a few miles.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin b
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“First Class accomodation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I spent over 2 weeks at Candlelight Cottage and loved every minute of it! The cottage was very well equipped, and was very very comfortable. The welcome pack of local produce was a nice touch! I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough, and we hope to be stay again on our next trip to the UK!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the lounge and kitchen
Liked least: Nothing. All was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
cambridgeshire, uk
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: High standard and very clean, plus wi-fi
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing