We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in an ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax. Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax.
Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
The patio style garden area is private and ideally suited for BBQ's and al fresco dining.
The double bedroom offers every comfort for a romantic break.
The twin bedroom enjoys views of the cherry blossom in May and the village green beyond.
After a long walk, share a bottle of wine in front of the fire in our cosy sitting room.
The kitchen has everything you may need and more. We can even organise a chef to cook for you!
The Red Lion Pub on Litton Village Green is very well known for the quality of its food and beer.
Wild orchids in Tansley Dale, a short walk from the cottage.
Curbar Edge: One of the many settings for the film Pride and Predjudice with Kiera Knightly.
Art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth House which takes place every autumn
Chatsworth House, home to the Dukes of Devonshire used to film Pride and Predjudice and The Duchess.
The Emperor Fountain and art on display as part of the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
More temporary art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
Candlelight Cottage is a holder of the prestigious English Tourist Board Gold Award for excellence.
Enjoy our welcome pack, crammed with local specialities.
Celebrate Christmas in style with your loved ones at Candlelight Cottage.
Stroll round picturesque and unspoilt Peak District villages. This is the pond at nearby Foolow.
Miles of ancient stone walls are a feature of Peak District scenery: here at Litton.
The vibrant market town of Bakewell has many boutique shops and interesting buildings.
Cressbrook Dale, a few minutes walk from the cottage  is a site of special scientific interest.
Cycle or walk through spectacular Monsal Dale along The Monsal Trail.
Winter offers other spectacular scenery. Here, the River Wye in Monsal Dale on a crisp November day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Susanne L
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We came from Germany and stayed for a week together with our daughter. It was the ideal location to explore the Peak District with famous attractions like Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and nice towns like Bakewell nearby. We also enjoyed the stunning caverns near Castleton and beautiful walks. It was always a pleasure to come back to this lovely cottage, which was exceptionally well equipped, clean and comfortable. The owner’s attention to detail is visible everywhere and made us feel very welcome. The broadband wi-fi was not only appreciated by our daughter! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage provided everything we needed; attention to detail.
Liked least: My husband was too tall for the bed and had to stick his feet through the
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for writing the review. We both enjoyed meeting you and it was good for me to practise my German, although your English is amazing! When we replace the beds next time, we will certainly bear in mind that Laura Ashley bedsteads are not ideal for exceptionally tall people and we are very sorry that the bed wasn't perfect for your husband. We are pleased that you want to come back again though and hope to see you all soon. Best wishes,Jill and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful homely cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We went as a family with my 10 and 12 yr old children. It was a lovely , tidy and clean cottage with every facility that we could have asked for. We had a brilliant holiday with Litton being close to many of the Derbyshire attractions. We would definitely recommend to families with similar aged children. The owners have thought of everything including handily labeled folders with various attractions such as walks/ towns / stately homes etc which I found very helpful to plan our stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we are so glad you had such a good time in the area and enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara A
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy, welcoming & well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a short break in Candlelight Cottage in April and thoroughly enjoyed our time there!. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped, cosy and all with a lovely welcome. A perfect base for exploring the Peak District - we would happily stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review. We are delighted that you liked the cottage so much and had such a good break. You're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLCREC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal location and beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed over the Easter week with husband and sons. The cottage was beautifully presented and there was everything you could need for your stay. Didn't use the cooking facilities as the pub across the green did great food. The location is perfect to access all the things you might want to do in the Peak District. The shops in Litton and neighbouring Tideswell mean you have to go far to get essentials or treats for your break. Intending to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't pick out anyone thing as it was consistently good in all areas.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you for the review. We're glad you were able to have a complete rest from cooking and that you enjoyed the food in the pub. We hope you tried the locally made Bradwell's ice cream and home made cakes in the village shop.If not, there's always next time! :) Best wishes, Simon and Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely cottage in a good lcoation. Simon provided a good prersonal welcome and an introduction to the cottageand its facilities. It was very well equipped and is very comfortable. After a day out on the hills or in the dales, it was a joy to return to it. Having a choice of bedding was very welcome and the broadband allowed me to keep in touch with home.

My acid test when staying in a holiday cottage is to ask myself if I would go back. "Yes, definitely."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Few storage places for food in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Hi Alan,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and we are glad that we passed the acid test!! You are welcome back anytime and hopefully next time the weather will be better for photography.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede2103
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is an immaculate cottage, spotlessly clean, quality furniture and fittings, extremely well-equipped with everything you could need, warm, cosy and inviting. Jill gives a personal welcome and tour of the cottage and its facilities. In addition there is a very comprehensive file with information and instructions for all of the equipment from the CD player to the washing machine. Plus there is a further fully comprehensive file of information about the area and its attractions. There is great attention to detail to every aspect of this cottage.

The cottage is in the small, quiet village of Litton with a pub and a village shop. It is in a very central location in the heart of the Peak District with the towns of Buxton, Bakewell and Matlock easily reached as well as the lovely Moors, Peaks and Dales in the area. Ideal for walkers or for anyone wanting a relaxing time visiting the lovely little towns and villages all around the area.

The property also has broadband wi-fi which was very reliable and a big bonus as far as I was concerned. I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. Without doubt, the cleanest place we have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the cottage was spotlessly clean.
Liked least: The narrow, rather awkward staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you for this super review. We loved having you to stay and we are so pleased that you had such a good time. It was particularly nice that you commented on how clean the cottage is. It is something very close to our hearts and we never rush it. It is our aim that every group of guests coming to the cottage feels as if they are the very first people to stay there and that everything is perfect for them. We hope that we will see you again one day. All the best, Jill and Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage was very warm, cosy and comfortable, just what you needed to come back to after a day of walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you were warm and comfortable whatever the weather outside. I particularly enjoy snuggling up to the AGA when I first come in. It's a lovely warm welcome and even better when there is a slow cooked casserole in the bottom oven! With all good wishes, Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing