We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, well equipped cottage for couples or...”
other travellers have booked this property
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax. Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Candlelight Cottage looks over Litton Village Green
Our spacious and comfortable oak beamed sitting room is the perfect place to relax.
Prepare delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen and enjoy the welcoming warmth of the AGA stove
The patio style garden area is private and ideally suited for BBQ's and al fresco dining.
The double bedroom offers every comfort for a romantic break.
The twin bedroom enjoys views of the cherry blossom in May and the village green beyond.
After a long walk, share a bottle of wine in front of the fire in our cosy sitting room.
The kitchen has everything you may need and more. We can even organise a chef to cook for you!
The Red Lion Pub on Litton Village Green is very well known for the quality of its food and beer.
Wild orchids in Tansley Dale, a short walk from the cottage.
Curbar Edge: One of the many settings for the film Pride and Predjudice with Kiera Knightly.
Art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth House which takes place every autumn
Chatsworth House, home to the Dukes of Devonshire used to film Pride and Predjudice and The Duchess.
The Emperor Fountain and art on display as part of the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
More temporary art on display at the annual sculpture exhibition at Chatsworth.
Candlelight Cottage is a holder of the prestigious English Tourist Board Gold Award for excellence.
Enjoy our welcome pack, crammed with local specialities.
Celebrate Christmas in style with your loved ones at Candlelight Cottage.
Stroll round picturesque and unspoilt Peak District villages. This is the pond at nearby Foolow.
Miles of ancient stone walls are a feature of Peak District scenery: here at Litton.
The vibrant market town of Bakewell has many boutique shops and interesting buildings.
Cressbrook Dale, a few minutes walk from the cottage  is a site of special scientific interest.
Cycle or walk through spectacular Monsal Dale along The Monsal Trail.
Winter offers other spectacular scenery. Here, the River Wye in Monsal Dale on a crisp November day.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Coz123
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy, well equipped cottage for couples or families”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Litton is small village centrally located for many tourist attractions in the local area. It offers plenty of walks straight from the front door and so is ideal for walkers or cyclists. The cottage is so homely and thoughtfully designed that you have many luxury’s to hand. Beautifully soft bedding in pretty bedrooms with mattress toppers and warm quilts aid a really good nights sleep. Nearly everything you can think of, is in the kitchen for budding chefs or choose,to eat out in the excellent pub opposite your front door or any of the local eateries. Weather poor? Read books, play games, watch dvds, listen to music.. it is all provided for you. Need to update your Facebook? Free WiFi is provided but beware mobile phone coverage can vary. I personally liked that, as we had quiet, undisturbed holiday. Clothes dirty or wet? Wash and dry clothes in the cellar utility area, it is even heated for you.
This was my second visit after 8 years and my husbands first visit. I can say that the cottage was just as I remembered it and Simon makes you feel very welcome. He stresses it is your home during your time there and you do feel that.
This cottage is for you if you need a warm retreat, want an active holiday, are a family of four or two couples or one couple. You will feel at home here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Hi Corinne,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely long review. We're glad the cottage was as you remembered it and that you had a really good time. It's always great when guests come back. We hope you'll come and see us again soon. You're always welcome! Very best wishes,
Simon and Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
215carole...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable cosy cottage”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have just returned from spending a week in Candlelight Cottage in Litton, Derbyshire. The cottage is warm, comfortable and very well equipped. It was refreshing to have basic items provided such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, cooking oil etc. Simon, the owner, met us at the cottage, was welcoming and gave us a helpful tour round showing us how to manage the heating system etc. A tasty welcome pack was provided and fresh flowers placed around the cottage was a lovely homely touch - all making us feel very welcome. There is lots of local information, maps, walks and a good supply of books. The cottage is very well appointed on the village green and there are numerous walks from the door. It was great not to have to always use the car especially as weather was snowy. Having said this there are lots of places to visit in the locality including Eyam, Buxton and Bakewell. It was useful to have a village shop and we enjoyed Sunday lunch at the pub. We highly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for us. We are really glad you had a good time and that you found all you needed during your stay. We hope we will see you again before too long. In the meantime, very best wishes from us both, Simon and Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Dec 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Very best wishes,
Simon and Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we're delighted you enjoyed the cottage. Hope to see you again one day. Until then, all the best from us both, Simon and Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. You'll always be welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Dear Anne,
Thank you so much for this super review - our 50th 5 star review! It was a pleasure for us to have you to stay and we are delighted you had such a good time. In the hope of seeing you again soon, all good wishes, J and S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed the goodies from Tideswell and that you had a good time in the area. It's also great for us when guests comment on the cleanliness of Candlelight Cottage. It is something very close to our hearts and we take pride in leaving the cottage immaculate for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon. All the very best, J and S.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing