We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cotton Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cotton Loft
Outside view of the Cotton Loft Studio. The shower room, with spacious shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Cotton Loft
Outside view of the Cotton Loft Studio.
The shower room, with spacious shower.
The studio kitchenette.
The living/sleeping area of the Cotton Loft
The sofa converts into the double bed, with memory foam mattress topper for extra comfort.
View from the Cotton Loft. Natural dry-stone walls surround us, and are a real Derbyshire craft.
Small outdoor seating area  to relax in the evening...
The Red Lion, Litton - a fine old country inn, & a few strides up the road from the Cotton Loft.
Walks over the fields from Litton into Cressbrook Dale.
Wild orchids, found in Tideswell Dale.
Cressbrook Dale and the monsal viaduct.
Derbyshire's stately Chatsworth House.
The atmospheric Haddon Hall...
Natural gritstones are the visual symbol of the Peak District National Park.
Majestic and beautiful Mam Tor, in the mist ...
Lovely Litton sheep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Litton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a fab weekend at the Cotton Loft Litton. A lovely cosy place to stay with everything you need from a self catering studio - even tea and biscuits which was much appreciated after some blustery walks.
Litton itself is a beautiful village and a good base for walking and hiking. Monsal head, Cressbrook dale, Tideswell dale and Stanege edge are worth a visit. The red lion pub was also good for dinner.
Thanks Julie and Steve for your warm welcome on arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank-you both for your lovely review, and it's nice to know that the Cotton Loft had everything you needed for your short break. Thanks also for your appreciation of the tea & biscuits - the shortbreads are a favourite of ours too! We're glad you enjoyed the Peak District, and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asshall
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We decided to stay at the cotton loft for a weekend break and what a great decision it was. Accommodation was lovely and had everything needed decorated and furnished to a high standard, including a Mira shower ;) Very peaceful and relaxing in Litton and Steve and Julie were very welcoming, nice and left us to it. Excellent walks nearby especially starting at Tideswell Dale which takes you past Litton Mill and beyond all the way to Monsal Head.....
Couldn't ask for anymore and sad to be home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank-you so much for your kind review. It's lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our facilities and the area were everything you needed for a relaxing break. Our best wishes to you both and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank-you very much for your kind review. We're happy that you found everything you needed at the Cotton Loft, and that you enjoyed your stay in Litton. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vinoth G
2 reviews
“Cosy getaway”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely place to stay when visiting the peak district. We had such a great weekend, and the loft was the perfect place to come back to after a long day walking. A special mention to the owners Steve and Julie, who accommodated our late arrival and were very easy to contact via email and phone. We will be coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank-you so much for your kind review. We always try to be as accommodating as possible, as we feel it's important to meet our guests' needs. It's lovely to know that you wish to stay again, and we look forward to meeting you both soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lundied
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location and accomadation”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I don't normally write reviews but was very impressed with the attention to detail at the Cotton loft. For the price you would expect basic accommodation given its location. In contrast though the accommodation is excellent with a kitchen area and WC/shower downstairs, and a main bedroom upstairs. The owners are exceptionally friendly and show you round when you first arrive. Theres parking at the front of the property and you're 50 meters from the village pub - the red lion - which again we could not fault. Would definitely recommend and plan to return sometime in the new year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We do try to get things just right for our guests, as we appreciate just how important holidays & short breaks are. We look forward to welcoming you again in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W
1 review
“Perfect weekend away!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Me and my girlfriend booked a weekend stay at the Cottonloft. The accommodation is fantastic. We arrived to a warm welcome from the owners, Julie showed us around and made us feel at home straight away. Lovely location with a great local pub just around the corner. Can't recommend this place enough, we will definitely be returning for another visit soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank-you so much for your kind review. We're happy that you felt welcome on your first visit to the Cotton Loft, and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watsondav...
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sheer bliss”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you're looking to get away from it all, look no further than The Cotton Loft. Julie and Steve have got it just right, from the simple little touches that make you feel welcome to providing the perfect little getaway, the long weekend we spent there for our anniversary was idyllic.

The Peak District is beautiful and Litton is a fantastic base to get around, but the Cotton Loft is the icing on the cake. We will certainly be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do aim to try and get things just right for our guests, as we appreciate just how important holidays and short breaks are. We look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing