We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Shepherds Knapp

Shepherds Knapp
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shepherds Knapp
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Although there were only 2 of us, we stayed in the lodge as it wasn't booked. Very comfortable, clean accommodation with good facilities for self-catering. Very handy for Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. Wonderful views across the valley. No WiFi but decent 3g signal (Tesco/O2). Greg was friendly, chatty and helpful and the whole experience was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My friends and I were visiting River Cottage for lunch and needed to find somewhere to stay overnight. After a bit of research, my friend came across Shepherds Knapp. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Greg who showed us to where we were staying. OMG, the photos online did not do the place justice, it was much more than we expected. Clean, well laid out self service cottage, with all the mod cons you could want (TV, DVD, portable electric two ring hob, kettle, toaster, microwave, dining table etc.) The bedrooms were well furnished, one double bed and two singles, with a sofa bed in the lounge and had clean fresh linen and towels already set out for us. Greg (owner) explained how everything worked and recommended we visit the Cobb during our stay, which we did.

We ordered the continental breakfast and were not disappointed, Nicky (owner) really pushed the boat on on this - were treated to fresh crusty bread, continentail meats, yogurt, jam/marmalade, butter, Danish pastries, huge fruit platter and proper coffee, delicious.

Just a couple of small things. There were four of us staying in the cottage, the first two had no problem with the shower, but me and my other friend found that the water temperature would change in a flash, one minute hot the next cold. Also, the welcome book mentioned a password for the Internet, but we had trouble picking up a signal for one for this property. However, these small issues, did not stop us from having a very enjoyable stay.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay whilst in the Axminster area, then look no further.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmurdie, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We (4 Aussie travellers) only stayed here one night but I wish we could have stayed longer! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Axminster and the cottage was fantastic! It was very beautifully furnished and newly decorated, had a very homely feel to it. All the rooms were made up beautifully and the heaters were on ready for when we arrived!

The kitchen was excellent! Had everything you needed to cook your own meals and enjoy your stay in, particularly during the time of year we visited.

Pros:
Beautiful rooms and very comfortable living area. Had everything you needed to sit, relax and unwind!
TV and DVD player
Heated towel rack
Fully equipped kitchen
Lovely hosts- showed us around the cottage, researched the upcoming weather for us and even offered to get us out of the snow if we got bogged.
Shops close by

Cons:
The only con was that there was no Internet, at least we couldn't find a connection (although this may have been caused by the bad weather)

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to go to river cottage HQ.

We always check trip advisor before
Going anywhere and so was unsure as to whether to book shepherds knapp due to there only being 1 review in may 2011. It was the price that made us book the lodge and we were made up that we did! This is the reason for our review.

This is a wonderful place to stay! Highly recommended if visiting river cottage HQ.

Beautiful kitchen/diner modern bathroom and two bedrooms.

Perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kar3nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were fortunate enough to be the first guests in this lovely property which has been finished to a very high standard. It was beautifully clean with lovely furniture and many finishing touches including crisp bedding, big fluffy towels, fresh flowers in all rooms and even a selection of teas!

The lodge was situated in a very quiet location and had wonderful views across the valley from the open-plan lounge / kitchen. Ideally placed for River Cottage HQ and the Axminster River Cottage Canteen, a stone's throw from idyllic Lyme Regis, and is ideal for a day's fossil hunting on Charmouth beach!

The property was very well suited to the needs of us and our small three boys and the hosts were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome. They gave very good advice about the local area, recommended great restaurants for a big birthday celebration, and even organised taxis on our behalf.

We liked it so much that we have already booked to go again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jusnmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shepherds Knapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Knapp

Property: Shepherds Knapp
Address: Shepherds Knapp Raymonds Hill Raymonds Hill Cooks Lane, Raymonds Hill EX13 5SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Raymonds Hill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Raymonds Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greg and Nicky would like to welcome you to our family run self catering accommodation, The Shepherds Knapp. We can be found on a quiet country lane just one minute off the main A35. In a beautiful location nestled within the Axe Valley only 5 minutes drive from The Jurassic coastline of Lyme Regis and Charmouth, and only a few minutes away from River Cottage HQ and Canteen, as well as Hix’s Oyster Restaurant overlooking the historic Cobb in Lyme Regis, made famous by the film "The French Lieutenant’s Woman." You will have the option of staying either within the main house or in our newly built spacious detached log built lodge, with all facilities you will need for a comfortable stay. All areas have heating to ensure your maximum comfort. The lodge has its own, private parking space for two vehicles for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shepherds Knapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherds Knapp Raymonds Hill, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing