We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baros, the paradise on earth...”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Before going to Maldives, I spent the whole day researching resorts and let me tell you that this was the best choice! From the time we landed, someone from Baros was already there waiting for us. They took our bags and we went on the speedboat to the island (no waiting time). As soon as we arrived, the staff was there to welcome us and took us to our villa for check in inside the villa. We stayed there for 3 days and it was simply unforgettable. The weather was great, the food was amazing, the staff was wonderful and the island was a paradise on earth. We spent our days on the beach, snorkelling and discovering the beauties of the island. I knew Maldives was a beautiful place but I wasn't expecting this.

I would definitely come back and I advise anyone who wants to go to Maldives to go to Baros, I promise you, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: The beach villas are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Amina25,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are truly happy your stay with us was a lovely one.

We cannot wait to see you back again, for a long weekend or a longer stay from Dubai.

On behalf of all of us here at Baros Maldives "Shukuriyya"!

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

This trip was our first time to the Maldives and we were a little nervous, having heard a wide range of comments about Maldives holidays from friends and family. The comments went from "nice but overpriced, would go to Bali instead" to "trip of a lifetime, completely unforgettable". We were soon to understand both points of view.
Let me first say that the staff and quality of service at Baros were incredible. Upon arrival, as it was my husband's birthday, we received champagne in the villa, a cake at dinner and as my husband commented, the entire island seemed to know it was his birthday because people were wishing him happy birthday from the moment we got onto the island. Now that's service. Second, as we had booked only the basic beach villa they upgraded us on arrival to a pool villa also on the beach which was really lovely but I think this is where the divergent views can come from -- as frequent travellers to other beach resorts, the layout and setup of the villa was very similar to what you might encounter for a good resort in Bali or Thailand -- at a fraction of the price. While we were deeply appreciative of the upgrade, we did wonder why people would consistently pay a price premium to come to the Maldives. THEN, on the last night, Baros kindly allowed us to move to a water villa -- we thought we would give it a try. And that was the point when we finally understood why people keep coming back again and again (and indeed we are planning now to be back next year). There is just nothing comparable to looking out onto an endless view of crystal clear water and a pink sunset, seeing a stingray swim by your villa, jumping from your private deck right into the water etc etc. This is really not something that we have been able to get anywhere else in the world. In short: get a water villa, even if it costs more.
It also deserves to be mentioned that the food at Baros, though pricey like all maldives resorts, is fantastic. You get a good deal for what you pay. The fact that Baros has its own house reef is also key - there is so much to see and do without leaving the island. I would also encourage all visitors to attend the marine education presentation or the snorkelling session to learn more about the marine life in the house reef. All in all, this was a fantastic vacation and we are so glad we picked Baros! Thank you Shuhan, Farhaan and Azzam for making this a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a water villa with sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Angsty,

We are so delighted to read your review. It is always our biggest aim to go beyond the expectations of all our guests and I and the team are so delighted that we did it on your first visit to the Maldives itself.

Farshan and Azzam sends their heartfelt thanks to both of you and we all not look forward to see you again soon.

Wishing you and the loved ones a Merry Christmas from all of us!

Warm Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at Baros for 3 days and were very sad to leave this paradise. The staff was very welcoming and the service was just perfect. The snorkelling around the island was amazing, we saw so many turtles and baby sharks. We also experienced an amazing dinner in a small island in the middle of the ocean which was one of the best nights we ever had. We will definitely come back to Baros and will recommend it to anyone we know. Words can't describe how amazing Baros is. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Sophie439,

Thank you for this beautiful review. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We are indeed blessed with an amazing house reef , where our Resident Marine Biologist and team is always curious and ready give you more marine experiences and information.

It is our wish to see you very soon at Baros.

Shukkuriya from all of us

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The extensive reviews using superlatives such as "paradise" and "heaven" are not overstating how fabulous this destination is. From the minute you arrive at Male airport and are met by the Baros team for the speedboat ride to the island itself to the lovely personal greeting you receive at the quayside, to the moment the team wave you off on your journey home the entire trip was fantastic. Baros exudes understated elegance and tranquillity that is fantastic for those travellers looking for excellent service in the most beautiful surroundings.

Shijah the front office Manager, Farshaan the assistant front office manager and his team do a fantastic job in ensuring the guests feel very special and that is something that is not to be found in every "top quality" hotel I have visited, it is a welcome and refreshing change. It was my husbands' birthday whilst we were there and Farshaan and the team organised a surprise special breakfast, cake and champagne for us which were a lovely surprise for my husband and something that made our stay even more special.
We had booked into an over the water villa which was fabulously appointed and maintained to an exceptionally high standard, our villa attendant Saeed did a great job at discreetly servicing the room in the morning and evening whilst we were out in order to minimise any disruption or inconvenience to us, another example of how important the guests convenience and satisfaction are to the team at Baros.

Yes, the drinks and food are at the top end of expensive but in a resort of this quality it is to be expected, so if you are on a budget this may not be the place for you; but for a special occasion, or if you feel you deserve a treat this is a great place to celebrate.

Baros is a fabulous place to stay, if you don't enjoy this as a destination you are very very difficult to please. It will now be quite difficult to avoid measuring every other holiday destination against Baros and not finding them wanting. I look forward to returning to Baros and experiencing the wonderful hospitality in a most beautiful part of the world in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrier58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear harrier58,

Thank you for your review, and for describing Baros as a resort that exudes understated elegance and tranquility. We could not agree more, and it is a great pleasure when our guests truly enjoy the best we can offer.

Shijah and Farshaan send their best regards, and we are really happy to hear that the birthday surprise was successful!

Merry Christmas from all of us!

Thank you and Kind Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Words can not describe how amazing Baros is. We stayed in the water villa for our honeymoon for 5 days / 4 nights and loved every minute of it. The snorkelling was great around the island with an abundant amount of beautiful coral and marine life. Food was wonderful, yes overpriced but you would expect that from a 5 star resort. Can not fault the service and friendliness of the resort staff. They were amazing and made the stay all the more worthwhile. Loved the unexpected complimentary deserts and biscuits they would provide every day in our rooms and the invitations to events / dinners. A wonderful experience and honeymoon. Thank you Baros.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Tran B,

Thank you so much for choosing Baros as your honeymoon destination, we could not be happier to hear that, with the World’s Most Romantic Resort Award in hand, even the greater pleasure is to see the real romance happen on our island.

Once again, thank you and see you soon at Baros Maldives.

Shukkuriya,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Here we go again. Third visit to Baros, and how does it manage to get better every time? Well, the key is the world class staff, carefully and lovingly managed by resort manager Shuhan, a clearly adored boss. Rhey are all so friendly and natural, easy-going. The service is outstanding but never feels like "work" just nice people wanting to help you. Like being a house guest with an exceptional host. We can't wait to go back. is it expensive?? NO. Value on Baros is really good considering what you get. Maybe one or two less pricey wine bottles would be a good idea.

Accomodation
We stayed in a pool water villa nr 314. These villas have a "Wow-factor" that could give Attila the hun a heart attack. The view alone leaves even the most seasoned traveller gasping for breath. The attention to detail, as in every part of Baros, is astounding. HUGE, extremely comfy bed, well everything is beautiful and in such good taste too. low-key and really quality materials. Our room attendant kept it spotless. They really take such good care of their guests here and it always seems to be the greatest pleasure. No fake smiling going on.

Food & Drink
World Class. Lighthouse for gourmet. The Angus was so tender I did not have to chew, basically, and of course the Lobster Bisque is famous! It's the whole nine yards with the linen and the sorbet....in the loveliest setting. We had dinner on the Sandbank last year. WOW!! This year we decided on trying Piano Deck. It was magical and my better half decided to (after a lot of whispering with various helpful staff members) let me fish out an engagement ring out of the Indian Ocean!!! Memory for life. Im sure the entire island was in on it because everyone we met said hello in a very special way.... ;-) Again, glorious food and our friend Hussain to look after us all night. Lime offers great breakfast every morning! A glass of bubbly feels just rigth att 9 am when on Baros. The Lighthouse lounge is lovely at sunset with delicious canapes with your drinks. Very classy. Sails Bar offers a bit of socialising. One night there was a really good live band who got us up and dancing in the sand to old hits. Really good fun! I'd love to see that now and then. Everyone seemed to adore it!

House reef
Realy, really good! A bit less visibility this time of year, but atill great. Lovely corals and loads of fish. We snorkel a lot and I have never done Baros house reef without seeing sharks. It's really amazing!

Spa
Did a Hot stone massage. Fantastic. And the spa itself is a little haven in extremely good taste. Don't miss!

Transfer, Check-in ..
Smooth. Professional. QUICK! Love it. No hanging around, no problems. A-plus for that bit. Being relatively close to the airport is a huge plus too. In no way are you ever disturbed though.

Staff
Absolutely the best!! So many nice people. Shuhan of course, Hussain, Shazyl our villa host, the lovely Joanna, Viktoria, Farshaan, Raghyb and Abdullah who made the "Ring in the ocean" happen!! You are all a credit to the business. Please stay on until we come back! They welcome you on the jetty and wave goodbye until you can't see them any more. Mostly because of tears. With enough $$$ you can certainly build luxurious resorts, but creating the ambiance and warmth like the one on Baros takes decades of hard work by good people. Many have worked here for decades. You can sense this is a happy place to work.

Baros is what happy feels like. There is just no comparision. I have been to many Maldivian resorts and they have all been nice och nicer in their different wys. Baros is just THE resort. Baros recently had yet another award. This time for most romantic in the world. Let 2014 be the year when you discover that. We will. Hopefully honeymooning this time. ;-)

Room Tip: They are ALL wonderful but Pool water villa 2010-2014 outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lialu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Lialu,

What a great pleasure to have had you back for the third time, and of course words cannot express the joy it was to be part of one of the most beautiful moments in your life, your wedding proposal.

We could not be happier that our guests choose to live such memories on our small piece of Paradise! Hussain, , Shazyl, Joanna, Viktoria, Farshaan, Ragyb and Abdullah send their warmest regards, and everyone from our team, who all were really happy to be somehow part on your romantic trip!

We all look forward to having you back with us soon.

Warm Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Choosing a good resort for your visit to the Maldives is of utmost importance because that pretty much decides the fate of your trip in its entirety. Each resort occupies a mini island and once you get to it, there's almost nowhere else to go, unless you opt for a (lame) city tour of Male town. Hence, choose wisely.

Here are a few reasons why we LOVED Baros:

*Prompt airport to hotel transfer

Baros woos you right from the airport when you're chaperoned on a fancy yatch as soon as you step out of the airport. Perfect timing.

*Extremely courteous and attentive staff

At check-in we were given our rooms promptly. A butler is assigned to each room and he addresses to your every need- right from snorkelling bookings to in-house dining. The staff tracks your movement throughout the property in an easy-going and totally un-creepy way. They inform you when you're running 5 minutes late for your snorkelling booking because you're at breakfast. Top-notch service.

*Good food.

*MUST DO A SANDBANK LUNCH. You will need to pre-book this so check with the resort for available options.

*Good reefs for snorkelling and diving. Good instructors too. Also, PADI certified. Adventure seekers must try the night snorkelling option. We didn't do it this time but heard great reviews from fellow guests who did.

*Not for kids. Hence, peaceful and romantic. You won't hear a sound unless you're near the reception/restaurants.

*All in all, a well-maintained property.

Room Tip: While the over water villas are a tad bit pricey, the sunset facing sea-view rooms were our choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snigdha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear snigdha_r,

I appreciate always when our guests really take the time to share their experience with other travelers. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and have to agree with you, any dining experience on the Sandbank is truly a unique experience.

A warm thank you from the entire Baros Family ,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,771 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,656 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,619 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,820 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: £488 - £1,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing