We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baros Maldives
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Park Kodhipparu, Maldives(Kodhipparu Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Giravaru Resort(Giraavaru Island)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,367)
Filter reviews
2,367 results
Traveller rating
2,187
138
31
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,187
138
31
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse restaurantvilla hostlime restaurantwater villaour honeymoonfishdeluxe villalobster bisquedive centrereef sharkssmall islandhalf boardindian oceanoutdoor showerthe resort managerother resortsmale airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 2,367 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent the final week of our 3 week vacation at Baros Maldives. After 2 fantastic weeks in India and Sri Lanka, our stay at Baros felt like a vacation from our vacation. That is, it was the perfect place to relax and luxuriate in one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

We found the Baros experience to be consistently 5 Star, from our airport arrival through departure, but of course the best part was our time spent on the island. We were warmly greeted at the Baros landing/pier by staff, introduced to the staff member assigned to safeguard the wellbeing of our stay who gave us a brief orientation of the island's facilities and dining options. Our room and all of the facilities were new, clean and first class.

We stayed in one of the rooms above the lagoon, essentially a hexagonal hut on stilts and found it spacious and stocked with all amenities you'd expect for a 5 star property. Prior to arrival, I'd requested a room at the farthest end from the island. Baros was unable to accommodate our request for maximum remoteness, but once we settled into our hut, we didn't feel as if we'd sacrificed any privacy and thoroughly enjoyed the time spend in our room. We loved being able to walk out through the back deck, down the steps to the water for a pre-breakfast or late afternoon swim in the lagoon.

All of our meals were excellent. As you might expect, their fish was superb and the variety of fresh fruit was an especially delightful part of the breakfast fare.

Our only issue with Baros are the additional charges for some amenities we felt should be included with the room. We realize that operating in the Madlives is expensive and since everything must be shipped in, food is priced at a premium. However, use of some of the water sport equipment (kayaks, windsurfers, etc.) should be complimentary.

Fortunately, use of the snorkeling gear is included and any guest would be remiss not to take full advantage to view the aquatic sights within a few yards of the beach. The reefs around Baros are the best my wife and I have ever seen. There's an amazing abundance and variety of aquatic life (sea turtles, fish, octopi, eels, coral, etc.). The reefs are also home to some sharks (Nurse and Black Tipped Reef), but they're not a threat to the school of humans floating around checking out the sea life.

All in all, Baros Maldives we felt that Baros Maldives did not disappoint, as it fully lives up to its tremendous reviews.

Room Tip: All of the huts on the water are very private, but those farthest away from the island offer the most privacy, especially on the northwest section.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Richard M,

We can't thank you enough for staying with us recently and having a great time with us.

Thank you also for sharing your experience and certainly we will look into the areas for improvements based on your review.

We all look forward very much to having you with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and my girlfriend recently spent 4 nights at Baros. It was our first time in the Maldives but we previously spent 5 nights in Maalifushi on this trip so we are comparing Baros to that hotel - and frankly it comes second. The good things about Baros - its close to Male so no danger of having to deal with Maldivian airlines, the diving and snorkelling is fantastic (lots of reef sharks, turtles, rays and octopus), the lighthouse restaurant is good, staff are friendly (and gave us complimentary upgrade each night). Things that we weren't impressed by - there is no swimming pool, Male can be seen in distance, rooms are outdated, no wifi in restaurants / gym, having paid the amount we did for rooms - we didn't expect to be charged extra for drinking water ($9), kayaks, yoga classes, wetsuits for diving etc. Breakfast in room was additional charge and breakfast buffet was fine but nothing special with no a la carte options. Lastly - the beds were too soft (first world problems!) but again for the price paid this should be better.
Overall this place is a nice resort but for not much extra cost you can step up in class in Maldives from our experience.

Room Tip: Go for Water Villa with swimming pool as no communal swimming pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Irishness_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Irishness_Abroad,

Warmest greetings from Baros Maldives and we thank you for staying with us recently.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and shared with us your personal views about Baros Maldives.

However we do understand that Maalifushi is one of the new products in the Maldives at the moment and is in many ways different to us.

I am sorry that you have not found our bed mattress as per your personal taste as we have changed all the mattresses just four months ago and we have received extremely positive feedback on the quality of our mattresses.

Once again Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our second visit to Baros and was just as magical as our first. The staff and service is impeccable, the food is as good as the top restaurants in London, the rooms are beautiful, the beds are incredibly comfy, the spa treatments are totally blissful, the beach is white, sandy perfection and the house reef is one of the prettiest I have seen which easy and safe, but brilliant snorkeling. What more could you want...?

We would love to return and have recommended this island to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Keen_Bean_Traveller ,

Thank you for sharing your second experience here on tripadvisor in which we all are happy to read that you have enjoyed it again with us.

It will be our biggest wish to have you soon for the 3rd visit and do keep us informed when the plans are made.

Best Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Baros is a very nice and friendly place. The staff is very hospitable and kind.
Our cottage has lovely tv channels and free wifi and we are connected with our host mobile through the room's service phone which facilitates things very much.
Nice gift store and they have DVDs for rent too.
Very delicious food (I highly recommend the shrimp curry) :D

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sue J,

Warmest greetings from Baros Maldives!

We are glad that you have had a lovely time with us and enjoyed it so much at Baros.

Thank you for staying and we look forward to have the next opportunity to serve you again.

Warm Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having been to the maldives before, I had an idea of what to expect - and I have to say this exceeded expectations! Loved the typical maldives things (special buffets on the beach, incredible snorkel / diving, peaceful surroundings) and here's what stood out for me from the other resorts:

-Baros was one of the first resorts in Maldives (40 years ago) - over time they have continued to refine great service and their amenities. For example, upon boarding the boat to arrive at Baros, you are given a wet towel and beverage. Within 20 sec of finishing the drink, someone is there to collect your empty glass. There are 300 staff, max 150 guests.... so the feeling of truly being in someone else hands is there!
-It is fantastically maintained... I honestly don't know how they do it - given the sun is constantly beating down on all the wood - everything looked in top shape.
- Do one of the special dinners (on the nooma maldivian boat or on the sandbank...) A night to remember!
- A decent gym!! Yes this is important if you are regularly into exercising, a week or more out of your routine can be a problem!
- No small children! Go to one of the other islands with the kids :)
- Beautiful spa surroundings! and great service.
- The house reef was incredible- just diving off the island gives you views of turtles, plenty of sharks, rays, puffers and parrot fish.

Interesting to note, many staff asked if I had been to maldives before, and where I stayed. It seems that they are interested to note their competition, and I would say I ran into many many repeat visitors.... this seems to be their niche is setting the standard, and getting repeat business. I know I will be back!!

Room Tip: I loved the room 311, with the private pool over water.... rooms 312 and higher may give a slightly better sunset view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear American_in_Italy,

WOW! We are thrilled to see your personal experience and recommendations to the future guests. Thank you so much.

We have had much pleasure having you with us and indeed we all would be honored to have you back as a repeater of us.

Do keep in touch and let us know when the dates are penciled.

From all of us, Shukuriyya and Warm Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews