We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of incredible!”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing short of incredible!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I wanted to go for a getaway in Maldives to celebrate our anniversary. We settled on Baros after we received glowing reviews from my Uncle and Aunt who were there a couple of weeks earlier.

We were welcomed by the Front Office Manager Shijah on arrival at Baros. It appeared that my Uncle had dropped him an email that we were coming and he took the effort to personally receive us. We stayed at the Water Villa and our Villa Host Shaariu was excellent as well and came up with a suggested itinerary of what to do over the period of our stay and assisted in all the necessary bookings and arrangements.

We went for the Sunset Dolphin Cruise, Twilight Fishing, Dawn Tuna Fishing, Cooking Demonstration and loved them all! We also dined at all 3 restaurants; Lime, Cayenne and Lighthouse. While all were of very high standards, I have to say the Lighthouse just blew us away with its fantastic ambience and excellence food.

The Villa team attending to us also did a wonderful turn down service on the day of our anniversary and surprised us with a nice deco of the bed. This was certainly unexpected but very much appreciated.

We snorkelled every day and while we did not manage to see any turtles, we spotted reef sharks twice and saw many colourful fishes and corals. There is no lack of activity to do and we were particularly fond of the pool table and table tennis table.

This has to be one of the best holidays ever which is no mean feat as me and my missus are quite well travelled. There are so many resorts in Maldives but I am sure that you can't go wrong with Baros!

Chuan

Room Tip: Go for the Pool Water Villa if you can afford it. Its has breathtaking views of sunrise/sunset (depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yichuan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear yichuan18,

We thank you very much for this lovely review and are delighted to read that you had one of your best holidays with us.

You certainly did a lot of activities throughout your stay so you could experience everything and keep Shaariu busy who send his regards as well as Shijah.

We wish you all the best and a speedy return to our island.

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,974
    128
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
144
1,747
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton rouge, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of this resort! Our stay here was PERFECT down to every last detail! I travelled with my husband, who has walking limitations. Their disability services are impressive and their personalized service is impeccable! When we arrived at the restaurant to eat, there were always plenty of staff members eager to assist, from helping him up the steps, to carrying our plates and assisting us at the buffet. We were excited to see that they have rose apple fruit, which my husband hasn't eaten in years from his native country of Guatemala. He shared his excitement with our waiter. Somehow within the ten minute time of my husband's remark and our walk back to our villa, his love for this fruit was communicated to our villa Host and to the Assistant Manager. We were greeted on our path with, "So…I hear someone likes rose apple!" JP (my husband) suggested that we receive this fruit in our villa rather than the other fruit during our stay. The response, "Say no more! Done!" We were then escorted to the staff living quarters, where the Assistant Manager handpicked some rose apple fruit fresh from the tree and gave to us! We returned soon to our villa and waiting for us was a full tray of rose apple fruit! Our next great surprise was champagne breakfast served in our villa on our Anniversary! The food was delicious, as well! The staff was so concerned for my husband's comfort level due to a recent hip surgery and a mobility disability, that they transferred us directly to our next resort in a private yacht! They also passed along our dietary preferences the next resort as well. We didn't want to leave. If we hadn't prepaid for the next resort, we would have spent another week here for sure!!! I could go on and on about the quality & individuality of the service. We are so grateful for the compassionate service that we received. We will never forget the hospitality that we were shown. The beauty of the island itself is like being in a dream. There is a little island sandbar in front of the water villas that we swam to. The view is spectacular, to be surrounded by crystal clear water. I even had my camera out in the rain taking photographs during a brief rain shower. In the rain, the water turns the stunning turquoise and neon blue color! It was spectacular! Watching the sunset as we see the fiberoptic lights turn on in our plunge pool was a sight to behold! Each morning at sunrise I walked the beach with gentle black tip reef sharks swimming alongside me. The snorkeling was a blast as well! I will close with the following words, "WE WILL BE BACK!!!"

Room Tip: Pool villa rooms have ultimate privacy and a spectacular view! The fiberoptic pool lights are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Angela G,

Thank you so so much for your kind words and your very detailed comments.

We had a real pleasure in having both of you here, and seeing JP’s smile after he discovered the rose apples is priceless.

We all send our best regards to both of you and hope to welcome you soon again.

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Sorry, but I love this island. That is why I am coming here for the 6th time. I guess this is the most beautiful island I ever visited in the Maldives. And it becomes better, especially the home reef which to my opinion must have the "A" classification now. Where else can you see so many palm trees by the age 40? A very good cuisine at the Lighthouse restaurant. This is rather rare in the Maldives even at high rated resorts. And what is most important - skilled management which fully controls the situation and provides excellent functioning of all services of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Vladimir M,

Thank you for the nice review and we love to see you on this island every time again.

We appreciate your comments and always try to fill yours and everyone’s expectations.

I am sure we will be privileged to see you and your wife back again soon.

Best regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited Baros for the second time in 2 years…this alone should say it all. With so many beautiful resorts to choose from we did not hesitate to revisit Baros so soon. We are frequent luxury travellers and rarely stay at the same place so soon! We rented 2 over water with private plunge pool villas. These villas are newly renovated so the interior was impeccably decorated and spotless. We were in #319 and #318…the PERFECT villas for sunset and snorkeling! The staff is so warm and friendly and have a "can-do" attitude with everything.Our sandbank dinner was rained out after we arrived on sandbar and had champagne.They ferried us back to land and tried to reschedule but did not want to be the ones to cancel on the only other available evening so took my husband out to the sandbar to decide.Food is EXCELLENT and enough restaurant choices without getting bored.No grossly inflated prices here.Couples massage at spa was EXCELLENT…a full 60 minutes on the table and a combo of stretching and deep tissue massage.Snorkeling on house reef is UNBELIEVEABLE and unmatched to any other resort we have been to in the Maldives.If you are a very selective traveller and like nothing but the best, look no surther. Baros is a very upscale intimate and casual place frequented by like guests and run by an extremely professional staff! See you again soon Baros!

Room Tip: #318 and #319 are best villas for sunset and snorkeling…these are over water private pool villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Dalacopa,

It was a pleasure having you and your family back with us again. It is always nice to read that you made the most out of your holiday and completely enjoyed it.

We cannot wait till your next visit.

Best wishes,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I write this review whilst I am still sad I am not still at Baros. The entire experience is first class, from the moment you are welcomed at the airport, taken onto the speedboat, and shown the island before resting in your villa.

the island is beautiful, the staff are very attentive and are keen to improve or correct any mistakes (not that there were any). we went B&B as it worked out better value for us - not that it's cheap!

the breakfast is excellent - such a superb spread of food. lunch and dinner was excellent at all restaurants, and the seafood buffet should not be missed! my favourite bar was at the lighthouse, looking out whilst the sun sets.

snorkelling is excellent - just check the tide, and the direction of the current as this can affect your experience. the beach was superb, and only metres from our beach villa.

the spa was great as well - the baros signature spa, whilst expensive is great.

no request is too difficult. special mentions to shaaru, our villa host, siti at the spa, mulan, nitin, vijay and erivina...and many other resort staff who were a pleasure.

we were lucky with the weather as it was due to rain, but everyday was perfect sunshine :)

i can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Deena C,

We are sad as well, that you have left Baros. It was very nice having you here and we thank you very much for your kind comments.

The team and especially Shariu, Siti, Mulan, Nitin, Vijay and Ervina send their best regards.

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The pool villa will change your life....seriously. The hotel, staff, island, food was better than we could have expected. Sheer perfection. Sharufeez took care of us each day and the staff as a whole was unbelievably accommodating. If you have any hesitation, please just book the room. You will be happy you did.

P.S- you will swim with a shark. Peeing optional.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NVis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear NVis,

Thank you so much for your great review and your direct sales pitch, we enjoyed having you here.

Please let us know if you plan a next visit to the Maldives or Baros and we would be happy to assist you.

Best wishes from all of us, especially Sharufeez, and we wish to welcome you soon again.

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

baros certainly has surprised me with its warm hospitality and fabulous rooms.

my wife and i had the chance to stay in both the beach villa and the water villa to get a feel of the different ambience. my advise is to go for the water villas as they are more private and view are absolutely stunning.

we were here in end of may and the weather changes quite frequently and unexpectedly. we stayed for 4 nights and there were rain almost everyday with heavy thunderstorms on the last 2 days, prohibiting us from enjoying any water sports.

snorkling is amazing at baros with its house reef just around the corner outside the barrier just 2 mins away if you are staying in a beach villa. you can see sharks, turtles, lots of fish and some weird starfishes :)

overall i have thoroughly enjoyed my stay at baros and i agree with many of the other travellers before me that the staff at baros has really made a huge difference to the experience with their friendliness and attention to details.

recommend the place to everyone who wants to have a relaxing time with great food choices and a vibrant sea-life to enjoy.

Room Tip: choose the beach rooms on the far side of the island (away from the restaurants and reception) if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lihongkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear lihongkarl,

It makes us excited to read that you had one of your best holidays with us, thank you very much!

We wish we could be in control of the weather a little better for you to enjoy the water a bit more but are still happy that you had a lovely time.

All the best and best regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,471 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,971 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,771 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Property: Baros Maldives
Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing