We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here in August 6.
We chose Baros purely thru the amazing reviews on TA.
I am not going to write a long winded review as there is nothing left to say. This resort is perfection!!
We thought we might try other resorts if we liked the Maldives and ever had the chance to return but we won't be. If we are lucky enough to get there again it will be BAROS we visit.
The staff make this resort so special.
I will also always remember this blissful place for two other reasons. As a 48 year old woman I caught my first big game sail fish and because of Regis (dive instructor) patience I learnt to scuba dive and saw up close sharks.
Thank you to all

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MVS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear MVS47,

Thank you so much for your great review. It was great having you with us and enjoying our island and service very much.

We all can't wait to have you again with us and do let us know when the dates to visit us are confirmed.

Best regards

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    131
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
152
1,783
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We´ve been travelling to many corners of the world, but there is one place we cannot stop returning to. Baros. It´s been our fith visit to this blissful island within the last 6 years. So, yes, we could not recommend it more. A true home far away from home. The design is timeless and elegant. The villas (we tend to stay in the lowest category, the deluxe villas as some of them are located on the most beautiful beach and have the prettiest open bathroom) are tastefully furnished but not over-designed. The whole island is just beautiful and well kept. Lush greens, flourishing bougainvilleas and hibiscus wherever you look. Do not miss the lovely palm garden.

As we are keen on snorkeling and scuba diving we appreciate a easily accesible housereef and a well-run dive base. The housereef is indeed very good. Corals are in quite a good shape. There´s a bunch of black tip reef sharks patrolling around the island. You can often see turtles, octopuses, batfish, sleeping nursesharks and an abundance of small marine life such as surgeon fish, anemone fish, trevalleys, snappers, angel fish, sweetlips – and if you are lucky you might also spot stingrays, eagle rays or even manta rays.

The dive base, run by an amazingly nice dutch couple, is simply excellent. Beautiful dive spots (check out Okobe Thila and Nassimo Thila) featuring thoughtful yet supercool diveguides, perfect service (including freshly squeezed fruit juices and fresh fruit after every dive) and a fast fibreglass dhoni make diving truly unforgettable.

Doing nothing but sunbathing, snorkeling and diving can make you really hungry – what brings us directly to another distinctive feature of Baros. The food. Whether you have breakfast, dinner or lunch, whether you choose the Lime (main restaurant), the Cayenne (grill restaurant) or the Lighthouse (fine dining) – if you are into good food, you will love it. Especially the Lightouse (don´t miss the Jazz Night on Friday) is a class of its own. Start your evening with an excellent cocktail, complimentary canapes and a nice chat at the Lighthouse Lounge (by the way a perfect place to enjoy the sunset). Then have a romantic candlelight dinner downstairs. Do not miss the lobster bisque and the tuna rossini. Both dishes are to die for. And don´t forget to have a look on the water – you might see sharks or rays cruising by.

Last but not least I have to mention the remarkable service on Baros. Their hospitality is outstanding in every way. From the gardeners to the general manager (and his assistant!), from the front office guys to the chefs, from the waiters to the dive base team, from the roomboys to the guest relation managers: Each and every one makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The service never feels stiff or pretentious but always authentic and honest. It is discreet but attentive. And a good laugh is never far away.

Obviously Baros is not exactly a cheap experience – but in a way it is a priceless one.

A huge thank you to the Baros team. We´re already planning our return...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Conny_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Conny,

Thank you again for being our loyal guest. I assume you know that we consider both of you as family and we are always happy to welcome you back.

Also I’d like to thank you for your fantastic and detailed review. We deeply appreciate your comments and lively description of your experiences. A true pleasure to read it.

See you soon again at your second home in Maldives.

Best Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just arrived here on our honeymoon today. The island is absoulety breath taking the views are amazing! The staff have been very helpful, welcoming and friendly. We have another 4 nights here wish we were staying longer! This is definately the perfect island to stay on your honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sukhvirdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Sukhyirdee,

It was quite a pleasure to read your review even though you were still on the island. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive comment about your stay here and for your trusting us for the rest of your honeymoon.

It will be our biggest pleasure to have you soon and do let us know if and how we can assist you.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent 4 nights at Baros and we experienced paradise. The hospitality and quality of service we experienced in Baros was simply superb with each person going out of his/her way to make us comfortable; management Shuhan and Jimmy, our Villa host Sharufeez, Domi at reception, Verena and Suga at the Marine/Dive Center, and all the waiters/waitresses at Cayenne. Everyone greeted us whenever they saw us, anytime of day. We had tremendous privacy and could do our own thing, whenever we wanted. The facilities were outstanding starting with the accommodation at the water villas where we stayed and was kept extremely clean and restocked with coffee, fruit and water, the Indian ocean as our personal pool, and good swimming and snorkelling on the reefs around the island, various restaurants, spa, gym, and the various excursions such the Dolphin sighting cruise we took which was an experience in itself. What in our minds set Baros apart from many other luxury resorts is Class, and you can't teach or buy Class with money. From the honesty of the villa housekeepers and cleaners and who made us comfortable leaving our cameras, wallets, iPads in the open, to the knowledge of the various staff and even the waiters who could explain and took the trouble to answer my queries on the Maldives and the culture, the characteristics, people; to Suga of the Dive Center who loaned me her personal GoPro accessory for my use until my visit ended because she was concerned I may accidentally drop my GoPro camera whilst snorkelling. This Class is the personal care the staff took upon themselves to make the guest feel at home, safe, and comfortable. Definitely a return visit location hopefully in the near future. Thanks everyone

Room Tip: The Water Villa is an experience and worth the additional expense. I wouldn't pay more for an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ErrolGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear ErrolGB,

What a detailed review, thank you so much for taking the time to write so many nice words and for remembering all those names. It was a great pleasure having you here as a guest and I hope you will be visiting us again soon.

I am happy to read that our staff delighted you in many ways and they were very happy and motivated by your kind words.

Thank you and best regards

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Dear Shuhan,Jimmi and all stuff of the island,
thank you for the second and again relaxing and wonderful stay on Baros!!
What a warm welcome when we came in March again. It´s like coming home..
Everything is already written about this fantastic place and everything is true!
If you are looking for privacy, warm and efficient service and a time out of traffic
and trouble - this is the right place!!!
Thank you to all people of the island - we are thinking of you many times.
Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards Ellen & Volker

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellipirelli68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ellen and Volker,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for coming back to Baros. It is a pleasure to read your comments and of course it makes us proud to hear that you chose Baros again for your vacation.

We are certainly looking forward to it and you are always welcome to our Baros family.

Thank you and regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We went there for our honeymoon on December 2013. I feel sorry that did not find the time to write the review earlier. Actually I feel obliged to write it since, Baros and basically it's personnel made our trip unforgettable. It is the absolute upscale service levels and the attention to the detail that makes the difference. Perfect food, dreamy set up and very peaceful premisses. We cannot forget the professionalism of the personnel. We cannot forget the huge but very elegant buffet of Christmas. The food is an experience there. And of course the perfect room! A special thanks to all personnel that made our trip the perfect dream..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yiannis-Voula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Yiannis-Voula,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Baros Maldives here on Trip Advisor, even after such a long time.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and of course one of the best reasons to keep up our work and motivation.

we all hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Upon arriving in the evening, we were met by the welcoming resort staff and the pampering began. Check-in was quick and there was a late night snack awaiting us in our over the water villa! There is a good balance of privacy and service - despite being 90% full, we hardly saw more than 20 people at the breakfast buffet. We went to the spa almost every other day and oh what bliss that was! On our second last day, I ended up with severe sunburn on my leg(s) and the doctor on duty came to see me within 10 minutes: great professional service. The food was delicious. The air smells clean. And the sun shines brighter. Amazing honeymoon September 2012.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mizztravellettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuhan A, Resort Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear mizztravelette,

It is great to know that you remember your stay with us so positively even after quite some time has passed by. Thank you very much for your great review.

We are at your service to assist you in a situation where your decision is to visit Baros Maldives at anytime.


Kind regards,

Shuhan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,737 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,570 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,011 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,799 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Property: Baros Maldives
Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing