We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't like Baros it says more about you than it does about Baros”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2009

From the moment we were met at the airport to be speedily transfered to the speed boat that whisked us to the arrivals jetty were we were greeted by the general manager personally to the moment he personally waved us Good Bye the experience was fantastic. As we left the marina the guy managing our transfer spotted a large pod of Dolphins and charmingly said they have come to wave you Good Bye. He then asked if we would like to linger to watch them. We happily said yes, the boat captain circled the pod and created bow waves for them to play in, MAGIC! This was absolutely typical of the care and thought that all the staff gave to giving us a wonderful time.
The diving was great, with the usual Baros service and care. Don't miss the trips to the Manta areas. If you don't dive you can snorkel with wonderful Mantas at a cleaning station.
The Baros villa had the wow factor for us and we have stayed at five star hotels around the world. Beautiful natural woods and lovely fabrics. Massive bed surrounded by charming drapes made it beyond four poster and if you really felt the need a cinema surround sound entertainment system can be made to pop up at the end of the bed complete with i pod dock.
The restaurants and bars are lovely, the Lighthouse bar with it's swiveling sofas to allow you to watch the sun set are heavenly. The twinkling coloured lights of Male on the horizon we thought added to the experience. I said like a jeweled necklace on paradise, yes Baros does bring out the romance in even me .
Should mention the executive chef, always had a word when you passed him on the island ,a number of times visited our table to check we were happy.
Wether it be the dive centre management, the general manager, theexecutive chef the excellent caring service ethos comes from the top and it shows.
Thanks Baros for a wonderful holiday we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at Baros just two weeks ago. It was our first time to Maldives and we were a bit reserved on what to expect at Baros.
Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the Front Office Manager who even took the trouble to brief all the newly arrived guests the facilities and day programs at Baros (while we enjoy the cocktail drinks that were prepared for us). They added on to this personnal touch by having the check in process done in the guests' Villas.
Morning dip into the crystal clear water surrounding the villa was a must for my Wife as she can enjoy the sun rise while relaxing in the water. I'll normally join her after the sun has been up and misses the beautiful sunrise that my Wife will described later over breakfast.
Breakfast was a wide spread of Western and Asian mix. It was made even more enjoyable when we had it every morning facing the clear blue sea.
We had our dinners at both The Lighhouse and Lime Restaurant. For diners that enjoy fine western cuisine, The Lighthouse will be recommended where else if you enjoy just a simple meal, Lime Restaurant will be your choice. One can enjoy candle light dinner under the stars filled sky at both Restaurants. We especially like the Traditional Spicy Maldivian Fish and Vegetable soup at Lime Restaurant. The tuna cooked in tomatos, chillies and mix vegetables was a wonderful starter for any main course that follows.
Guests can loan snorkelling equipment from the Dive Centre free of charge and they can snorkel at the lagoon or along the island coast.
On many occasions while walking along the coast with my Wife, we spotted baby white tip sharks in the lagoon and when we sat in the sundeck at night we can see eagle rays forage for food underneath our Villa.
We do not seem to have enough of the sun and sea while there. It has been a most unforgetable experience for us and we have already started making plan for our next trip there. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ah-Beng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We've just had 9 nights at Baros and can't wait to return!!

Transfer from the airport by boat and checking in at the Island was quick and without difficulty. Our villa wasn't ready at 9.45am, so we were invited to a complimentary breakfast whilst waiting for 40 minutes or so.

We were in a de luxe villa, and delighted with everything it provided. An extremely well-appointed villa, of very good size. Having been refurbished, I believe 3 years ago, everything still seems new, and is to a very high specification. The Resort website gives a full list of what's in the accommodation.

We really did like the outdoor shower/bathroom area. This gardened area was well-established and there are 2 separate showers. One is an enclosed glass cubicle, and the other, at the end of the garden, is enclosed on three sides by slate tiling. There's a large, deep bath, and 2 separate wash basin areas. My wife commented on the quality of the shampoo,body gel, and body wash that were provided as being high quality and a treat to use. In summary, the accommodation was excellent.

Then to the beach........... from our room, across our verandah and straight to our own area shaded by trees, then to the open beach in front of us with views of the other islands. The sun loungers are numbered and allocated to each villa, with some extra ones spaced on the beach, but not in front of a villa. The result is that there's no scrambling for sunbeds, or trying to get the best place on the beach. There was almost full occupancy during our stay, but no feeling of being crowded. Like many islands, there is a protective concrete breakwater around much of the island, but it is not an eyesore,

For those who enjoy snorkelling, the reef is being properly cared for, is very healthy, and has some of the best fish life we've seen on a house reef. Great variety of hard corals on the reef. The lagoon, between he breakwater and the beach, had lots to see with a mini-reef area within it.

Some previous Reviewers mentioned the food/restaurants. We did not use the fine-dining available in two of the restaurants. This was because we could change from European to Far Eastern and other dishes sufficiently for our needs at the Limes Restaurant.

We did use one of the other outlets for their Maldivian and Taste of the East themed nights. These were very good , being buffet style, with more choices than we needed.

With food goes drinks!!! A very varied wine list, and wide choices of cocktails, and many other drinks. Like all the other Islands, drink is more expensive than at home, but that's part of going to the Maldives.

Areas to relax at the bars ranged from a great lounge at the Lighthouse to the main garden bar.

We didn't use the Spa, but several people we spoke to rated it very highly.

Lots of excursions; we only did the sunset cruise, and that was relaxing and enjoyable.

We don't have any criticisms to make, and consider Baros to be the best of the 5 Islands we've experienced.

We were impressed, no exaggeration here, with the staff and the service they gave us. All were determined to give of their best, and took the trouble to do so. All this was with a willing smile, and we enjoyed this from the Senior Management to waiters, boat staff or gardeners. My wife summed this up as "If the currency of the World was 'Baros Smiles', there would be no recession or depression". I couldn't agree more.

We have never put a review onto Trip Adviser before, but Baros, and all its Staff, deserve having us bring it, and their efforts, to the attention of others. We're going back !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelled6619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks of pure endulgence/ luxury.
Having searched through endless holiday brouchures and reviews on trip advisor we finally decided on Baros. Oh boy we could have not made a better choice.
What an experience flying over the Indian Ocean looking down wondering which island is our chosen one, the sight of the islands is just wonderful.
Once we landed we were quickly through customs and we were greeted by a member of the Baros team who made us feel so welcome to the Maldives. Within minutes we were on the speed boat on our way, cold water and towels were supplied, these were very much appreciated as it was 30 + degrees.
Upon arrival we were greeted on the jetty by staff who welcomed us to Baros, they escorted us to reception where we had cold drinks. The staff were so friendly, asking about our journey, if we had been to the Maldives before. This sounds strange but the whole atmosphere made us feel so relaxed even though we had only been there about 20 minutes. Just being surrounded by happy friendly people. What a wonderful start to our holiday.
Soon we were escorted to our water villa, the man who took us pointed out the dive centre, the spa and gym during our short walk. We asked him questions about the Maldives and Baros, he could not have been more helpful. This first hour on the island set the scene for the holiday, we soon understood the Baros way, I will explain later.
Upon arrival at our water villa we were not disappointed, our luggage was already in the villa, we opened the doors on to the deck and the view was out of this world. We were so happy we had made Baros our choice.
Our first evening we had a couple of drinks at the sails bar and then we ate in the Lime restaurant, we had a lovely meal in a beautiful setting. We sat on the edge of the deck, a warm breeze, lovely food just perfect..
The next day my husband and I booked a spa treatment, we both had a full body massage, we recommend this to start your holiday, start as you mean to go on.
We enjoyed it so much we had one the day before we travelled home.
During our 2 weeks we just chilled out, swimming, snorkling, diving, reading, and having quality time together which we never seem to have at home. We were determined to have a holiday to remember forever.
Some afternoons we would wander down to the Sails Bar and lay on the huge day beds they have there under the palm trees, I would go off swimming in the reef while my husband sat and had a cold beer and read his book. I did my first dive at Baros, again the dive school staff were so reassuring, I was so nervous, but once in the water with my instructor by my side I could have dived for hours it was amazing.
Well I could go on and on praising this wonderful Island so here are a few thing we highly recommend
Maldevian Night at the Cayenne Grill
5/ 5.30pm go upstairs in the lighthouse, watch the sunset with a bottle of wine the views from there are amazing (remember to take your camera)
Eat at the Lighthouse Restaurant (THE BEST)
Have a spa treatment its well worth the money
If you've never dived before have a go, I was so pleased I did. The dive team are great.
The final must do is go on the sunset cruise, then go for a meal like we did at the Lighthouse, that evening was a definate highlight of our holiday, if we are so lucky to go back to Baros again we would do it again
One for the ladies........check out the island boutique, beautiful clothes and jewellery.
Earlier I mentioned the Baros way, we found out early on and throughout our holiday, that the staff go out of there way to make your holiday perfect, nothing is too much trouble, they smile and its genuine. They are there for you 24/7 but they also give you privacy.
We hope your stay in Baros will be as perfect as ours. The service they gave us was outsanding. This was our first holiday ever when we could not find fault, the location, service, staff just perfect.
Thank you Baros Team hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

just returned from the most relaxing peaceful holiday i have ever had.this is my 4th trip to the maldives my 1st to baros,the island is small with lush greenery and beautiful sand, the staff made us so welcome it was like having your own private island it was very low key relaxing nobody been noisy like some off the other places i have been to,the check in was great with champagne and cold towels to cool down.we were taken to our villa by one of the staff who was very pleasant and the water villas definetly have the wow factor.we were introduced to the boss who is called jihad we were invited to a cocktail party on the beach it was superb,we ate in the cayanne most of the time with a few nights in the lighthouse the view for the sunset cant be missed,the sail bar staff were the best special word for mumtaz your a star.the food is fantastic as good as you will get in a top hotel if not better. on leaving mr shuhaan took us to the jetty on leaving and we were made to feel so special it was sad to leave but we will definetly be going back soon

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunty195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Having read most of the trip advisor reviews on BAROS, we really thought we were in for a great experience, Baros was the first of three resorts we had booked, and i`m currently writng this review from W RETREAT AND SPA .
Firstly i must say the tranfer was effecient with very pleasant staff members, secondly the check in was brilliant to a point, until we were escorted to our baros villa by an extremely ineffecient staff member to say the least with absoloutly no people skills at all, and i ,believe subsequent to our dissattisfaction she no longer works at the resort. The Baros Villa was a O.K. definatately no wow factor , we were left pondering whether infact we were actually in a baros villa and not in the standard villa. The Villa`s are rather close to each other and we found most guests whispering to each other on the beach, not to to disturb or inconvience the guests on sun lounges alongside of them, this could be a positive or a negative, after all you`re on vacation nothing wrong with a bit laughter . The snorkelling was O.k. but far from the best we`ve seen , also remember that there are strong tidal currents and rips so be carefull if you not a great swimmer. The worst part of the Villa set up is either you face Male or your outlook is onto, in some parts a deteriorating tidal wall , not very good for photography.
Resturants and bars
SAILS BAR - excellent and extremely friendly staff members,great for light meals,cocktails and light evening entertainment .
LIGHTHOUSE BAR - as above, good sunset photo shoots etc although Male in the backround.
LIME RESTUARANT - very good value for money , friendly effecient staff , a well rounded menue and venue.
CAYENNE GRILL - great setting , excellnt staff members , fantastic teppanyaki chef.
Asian Buffet - big dissapointment at 85 us dollar per person , minimal selection, a bad choice .
TEPPANYAKI - great we recommend .
In conclusion to the whole restaurant issue and a comparison if you interested at W RETREAT the restuarant FIRE which serves a buffet for 75 us dollars per person, and in my opinion a 100% better with a huge variety and a brilliant romantic setting.
The checkout was probably the worst experience we`ve ever encounted in 12 years of travel all around the world , no good morning, no thank you , no how was your stay with us will you be returning - nothing at all but, how are you paying cash or card , bye-bye and that was it.
To conclude a very dissapointing experience never to return again, for a couple more dollars you could be in heaven in the maldives selecting another resort as we are experiencing right now ( THANK YOU W TETREAT AND SPA FOR MAKING OUR YEARLY MALDIVES TRIP A PLEASURE AS WE ONLY KNOW IT)
We complete our stay at the maldives as return visitors at ANGSANA IHURU RESORT A SLIGHTLY CHEAPER RESORT WITH FULL BOARD , if only BAROS could offer the equivilent services as the W RETREAT AND ANGSANA resorts, we too could return to BAROS one day
.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank beachkidzSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This was our fourth visit to the Maldives. Baros is much smaller than other islands we had stayed on and we were slightly concerned we would find it too small but we need not have worried. It is a beautiful, perfect island ringed in white coral sand. You can stroll around it in 10/15 minutes. We landed into Male at 8.30am and we had cleared customs and retrieved our bags by 8.45! We were met outside of arrivals by the Baros representative and whisked to the boat and by 9.30am we were on Baros Island. Our villa was not quite ready so were offered breakfast and when finished we were taken to our villa. We had booked a deluxe villa and had requested it to be located on the North/North west side of the island facing the Banyan Tree. Being sun worshippers we feel this was the optimum choice as our part of the beach got the sun all day and you could see the sunset whereas some other villas further around to the west/south of the island lost the sun around 4/4.30pm. In addition some parts of the island had views of Male – whilst it is very much in the distance on the horizon and not an eyesore you could see it fairly clearly on certain days which may bother some people. If like us you would prefer the sun all day the best deluxe villas are 106 – 115 with a great bit of beach and views out to sea and the Banyan Tree Island in the distance. Best Baros villas are 214 upwards – ones numbered lower lose the sun late afternoon. The best water villas for sun all day are 308 – 312. The deluxe villas are furnished very nicely – not quite as stylish as the Baros and Water Villas – but we think the bathrooms in the deluxe villas are by far superior to the higher categories of villas and much more Maldivian in style. They are outside and are beautiful – very spacious with a huge bath tub and a stunning outdoor shower with discreet lighting which in the early evening makes it the most romantic bathroom we have had in the Maldives. It was heaven showering under palm trees and watching the fruit bats fly overhead. The deluxe beach villas are closer together than the Baros villas but we were never disturbed by our neighbours on either side. As no children under 12 are allowed at Baros it adds to the general peace and tranquility of the Island.

Baros has a great choice of restaurants and we ate in all three with the Cayenne Grill and the Lighthouse being our favourites. Food is pricey but not by Maldives 5 star standards however everything is in dollars so you do get stung given the current weak British pound. Both bars are very good but The Lighthouse Lounge Bar is quite simply one of the most amazing locations you will ever drink cocktails in. We spent an hour or so there every evening curled up on the double day beds sipping drinks watching the sun set with nurse sharks and sting rays floating about below us. There was live music a couple of times a week in Sails bar and the bands were actually very good and contributed to a very good after dinner ambience.

The resort spa is excellent and we had some of the best massages ever from the wonderful therapists in a beautiful and tranquil setting. My husband dived nearly every day and thought the dive school was very friendly and efficient and the diving excellent. As the majority of dive sites were close by it meant he was only away for a few hours each day. The house reef at Baros is as good as all the other reviewers have said – the best house reef we have experienced in the Maldives – and there was a huge variety of fish as well as large turtles, eagle rays, eels and large reef and nurse sharks.

To summarise we very much enjoyed our two weeks on Baros. It is a stunning small natural resort with wonderful staff and facilities and if you are looking for a relaxed, quiet and pampering break on an island which is deluxe without being too glitzy then Baros is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,806 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,735 reviews
9 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,122 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,329 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: £531 - £1,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing