We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smiling island of Baros - it's Barodise!”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic 10-day vacation on Baros. It has been one of our best holidays ever, and having travelled far and wide to places such as Tahiti, Fiji, and Kawaui, Baros had something to live up to. Our expectations were completely fulfilled and from the moment we checked in we knew our holiday was going to be special.

The staff were always so very helpful, and the smiles on their faces were sincere. For the first 6 nights we stayed in Baros Villa - no. 214, which in our opinion has one of the best locations on the island with the lagoon only just feet away from our sun-deck. The accommodation was luxurious and had an enchanting garden shower - a joy to use in the very hot climate. For the remainder of our holiday we stayed in Overwater Villa no. 311 which had a wonderful view of the setting sun. The Baros Villa and the Overwater Villa were both very private and were serviced twice a day to a very high standard.

The island has all the characteristics of a paradise island - coconut palms, turquoise blue sea, white coral sand and beautiful flowers, and at night the fragrance from frangipani filled the air. The diving centre has excellent facilities and although we do not dive, we chatted to other guests who had and they were most impressed with their diving experiences. But you don't have to dive to see the fish; within feet of the shore in the lagoon there are many species of small fish swimming in and around the coral.

The food was fantastic, although quite expensive, but the quality of the food gave you value for money. We had a private BBQ on the beach one evening which is to be recommended, having our own private chef and waiter. We ate at the Lime Restaurant and were served mainly by Azeez and Niyaz who were both very attentive, courteous, and good humoured.

We would recommend Baros to those wanting a quiet private island paradise with all the luxuries one would expect from a 5 star plus resort. We would sincerely recommend Baros - it's Barodise!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tokoriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,635 - 1,641 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

We re-visited Baros in late March 2009 after having spent just 5 nights there in 2008. We wanted to return because we had been so impressed on our first visit and we felt that we hadn’t experienced all that this lovely resort has to offer. We should say that we love the Maldives and the style of holiday offered by their top resorts and have previously stayed at both Four Seasons resorts and the Taj Exotica.

Baros is a small, extremely well managed resort with a choice of 3 types of villa and some of the best dining we have ever experienced. We previously stayed in a Water Villa which was delightful, extremely private and positioned to enjoy a perfect sunset view. This time we wanted to stay for longer and so decided on one of the slightly cheaper villas on land. There are 2 types: Deluxe and Baros. The 20 Baros Villas are positioned on the north coast in a very lush part of the island so are quite shady. The Deluxe Villas are positioned to the east and west of the group of Baros Villas and also to the west of the water sports jetty on the south coast. We asked for a Deluxe Villa with a sunset view and were allocated one close to the western end of the island on the “south coast”. This proved perfect for us and we appreciated the allocated sunbeds and thatched parasol on the quiet stretch of beach outside the villa. Every villa on Baros has its own pair of sunbeds but there are others plus hammocks dotted everywhere. The Deluxe Villa has an incredible outside bathroom with roof shelter over the “his-n-hers” wash basins, free standing bath, toilet and walk-in shower. The other part of the bathroom is effectively a garden focussed on a delightful “waterfall” outside shower. The room and super-efficient room cleaning service could not be faulted. Baros is a small island but has only 70 rooms so it never feels crowded – you will see more staff than guests most of the time. The island is one immaculately maintained garden –from the bougainvillea tumbling over our bathroom wall to the giant bowls of petals illuminated by candles at night.

Baros has a superb house reef. The lagoon on the south side is fine for swimming even at low tide and the reef and its amazing fish life is very close to the north coast. The snorkelling is fantastic close to the hotel – it’s a bit surreal to be surrounded by a several thousand fish of all sizes and a myriad colours plus a bevy of reef sharks for company. The night snorkelling is not to be missed with treats such as a sleeping turtle and some very scary fish!

All 3 restaurants on Baros are very good with excellent service. The main “Lime” restaurant serves a perfect breakfast buffet (if you don’t see what you want – just ask). Lime is then open all day for a wide range of top quality food from curries to burgers and from steaks to salads which are also available via the efficient in room dining service. The Cayenne Grill is open in the evening and an extensive “starter” buffet is included in your main course price. Here there are two themed buffet nights “Maldivian” and “Asian” which are very popular. Romantic meals can also be served anywhere on the island or a nearby sandbank. A lot of care is taken in finding suitable locations and creating a special ambiance. The meals are cooked on a barbeque at the location by your own chef, not transported in warmers.
On to our high spot: the Lighthouse Restaurant. By any standards the Lighthouse is exceptional. The Executive Chef Damien Barrett has created superb menus which were immaculately served and suited our tastes perfectly. Some of the dishes are adventurous but the combination of flavours always perfect. To give you an idea of what to expect: we had fresh Australian oysters, as good as any oysters you’ll get in Paris (flown in twice a week – if they get delayed by customs they are dumped). I then had a fish dish – mahi-mahi and lobster tails while my husband had steak flambéed at the table. Both dishes were served at the same instant on piping hot plates with perfect crispy vegetables. This was on a night when both the restaurant manager and executive chef were off the island! The tables at the Lighthouse are set at the waters edge and we had a constant cabaret of rays and shark to entertain us, plus, on our last night a family of incredibly graceful Eagle Rays topped the bill.

The Aquum Spa was a haven of calm with skilled therapists. A few massages, especially the one after the overnight flight from Europe, really make my holiday.

Baros is under the management of Ahmed Jihad who has overseen several improvements since 2008 and the hotel runs with calm, friendly, efficiency. Nothing seems to be too much trouble, a couple of minor problems were resolved instantly. Baros really does typify the art of hospitality.

We will return, the only questions being – how soon and for how long?

P.S. Splash out on a private sunset cruise on the hotel’s traditional Dhoni, “Nooma”, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KathfromGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

returning to Baros again was so exciting and it never disappoints. the welcome, the villa, the island all made us feel very special and completely relaxed and at home.

It was a very special stay and cant wait for next year

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUALEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

This is our first trip to the Maldives, & we thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality extended by the staff of Baros. The service is excellent, efficient, personalized & delightful, above our expectations. From the moment we were welcomed at the airport on Hulhule island & transported to Baros, their friendly disposition put us at ease immediately. The staff is courteous, very informative & helpful while we planned our activities.

We're glad we had chosen to stay at one of the comfortable & spacious water villas on Baros. The gorgeous view of daybreak & sunrise, from the sundeck of the water villa, is simply priceless. Wireless internet access from the comfort of our water villa enabled me to immediately upload & send photos of the sunrise to family & friends via my laptop. We enjoyed the refreshing morning dips & leisure snorkeling in the Indian Ocean, accessed from the platform of the sundeck. It was relaxing to watch the marine life from the sundeck while getting a nice tan.

Mealtimes were a real pleasure with the pleasant small talks with the friendly staff, the cozy ambience amidst the beautiful sounds of the Indian Ocean. Menu choice is good, well-portioned & the wine list is tempting!

We got some nice gifts for family, friends & colleagues from the souvenir shop. The staff was helpful & friendly, giving us time to browse freely but ever-ready to assist & answer any questions that we, & other guests, had.

For those who'd like a short relief from the afternoon heat, there's a common guesthouse next to the souvenir shop equipped with 2 PCs, a simple beverage corner, a wall-mounted TV, a simple selection of reading materials, some board games & chaise longues. There's also a library above the Sails Bar with a billiard room.

We were invited to a cocktail organized by the management, where guests can mingle freely with each other as well as with the staff of Baros. It is a very nice touch. Following that, we attended a very informative talk by the resident marine biologist (held weekly) to introduce the marine life of Baros.

The dolphin sightseeing trip was interesting. No, the dolphins will not swim to you. However, I felt a sense of peace watching the dolphins dance in the ocean under the sunset sky. It's a spectacular view.

We made time for a blissful & relaxing massage at the Aquum Spa. Staff was helpful, courteous & accomodating when we made our appointment. The therapists are good, yet discreet & respectful.

My regret is not mustering enough courage to try out the scuba diving (I had almost drowned as a child & still fear the waters). Snorkeling around our water villa was a great feat for me, but the undercurrent can be strong at times.

The checkout was efficient, yet with a personal touch. We were offered refreshments, & small talks were made with the friendly staff. When Mr Shuhan & his staff saw us off at the jetty, I’d experienced mixed feelings; sad that our vacation had come to an end yet happy to have discovered the warmth & beauty of Baros.

Although our stay was short (all of 5 beautiful & delightful days), we'd felt relaxed & fully recharged when we returned to the rat-race life of the city. A big "THANK YOU" to Mr Shuhan, Mr Farshaan, Mr Ali Rasheed, Ms Julie, Mr Sree, Mr Azeez and each & every wonderful person we'd met on Baros for making our first visit to the Maldives so special & memorable. Would I recommend Baros? DEFINITELY!!!

P/S:- For reasons I don't understand, I could not upload the maximum 10 photos on TripAdvisor despite more than 8 attempts, so I've cut that down 7 photos.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunshineFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

From the moment we were met at the airport to be speedily transfered to the speed boat that whisked us to the arrivals jetty were we were greeted by the general manager personally to the moment he personally waved us Good Bye the experience was fantastic. As we left the marina the guy managing our transfer spotted a large pod of Dolphins and charmingly said they have come to wave you Good Bye. He then asked if we would like to linger to watch them. We happily said yes, the boat captain circled the pod and created bow waves for them to play in, MAGIC! This was absolutely typical of the care and thought that all the staff gave to giving us a wonderful time.
The diving was great, with the usual Baros service and care. Don't miss the trips to the Manta areas. If you don't dive you can snorkel with wonderful Mantas at a cleaning station.
The Baros villa had the wow factor for us and we have stayed at five star hotels around the world. Beautiful natural woods and lovely fabrics. Massive bed surrounded by charming drapes made it beyond four poster and if you really felt the need a cinema surround sound entertainment system can be made to pop up at the end of the bed complete with i pod dock.
The restaurants and bars are lovely, the Lighthouse bar with it's swiveling sofas to allow you to watch the sun set are heavenly. The twinkling coloured lights of Male on the horizon we thought added to the experience. I said like a jeweled necklace on paradise, yes Baros does bring out the romance in even me .
Should mention the executive chef, always had a word when you passed him on the island ,a number of times visited our table to check we were happy.
Wether it be the dive centre management, the general manager, theexecutive chef the excellent caring service ethos comes from the top and it shows.
Thanks Baros for a wonderful holiday we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at Baros just two weeks ago. It was our first time to Maldives and we were a bit reserved on what to expect at Baros.
Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the Front Office Manager who even took the trouble to brief all the newly arrived guests the facilities and day programs at Baros (while we enjoy the cocktail drinks that were prepared for us). They added on to this personnal touch by having the check in process done in the guests' Villas.
Morning dip into the crystal clear water surrounding the villa was a must for my Wife as she can enjoy the sun rise while relaxing in the water. I'll normally join her after the sun has been up and misses the beautiful sunrise that my Wife will described later over breakfast.
Breakfast was a wide spread of Western and Asian mix. It was made even more enjoyable when we had it every morning facing the clear blue sea.
We had our dinners at both The Lighhouse and Lime Restaurant. For diners that enjoy fine western cuisine, The Lighthouse will be recommended where else if you enjoy just a simple meal, Lime Restaurant will be your choice. One can enjoy candle light dinner under the stars filled sky at both Restaurants. We especially like the Traditional Spicy Maldivian Fish and Vegetable soup at Lime Restaurant. The tuna cooked in tomatos, chillies and mix vegetables was a wonderful starter for any main course that follows.
Guests can loan snorkelling equipment from the Dive Centre free of charge and they can snorkel at the lagoon or along the island coast.
On many occasions while walking along the coast with my Wife, we spotted baby white tip sharks in the lagoon and when we sat in the sundeck at night we can see eagle rays forage for food underneath our Villa.
We do not seem to have enough of the sun and sea while there. It has been a most unforgetable experience for us and we have already started making plan for our next trip there. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ah-Beng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We've just had 9 nights at Baros and can't wait to return!!

Transfer from the airport by boat and checking in at the Island was quick and without difficulty. Our villa wasn't ready at 9.45am, so we were invited to a complimentary breakfast whilst waiting for 40 minutes or so.

We were in a de luxe villa, and delighted with everything it provided. An extremely well-appointed villa, of very good size. Having been refurbished, I believe 3 years ago, everything still seems new, and is to a very high specification. The Resort website gives a full list of what's in the accommodation.

We really did like the outdoor shower/bathroom area. This gardened area was well-established and there are 2 separate showers. One is an enclosed glass cubicle, and the other, at the end of the garden, is enclosed on three sides by slate tiling. There's a large, deep bath, and 2 separate wash basin areas. My wife commented on the quality of the shampoo,body gel, and body wash that were provided as being high quality and a treat to use. In summary, the accommodation was excellent.

Then to the beach........... from our room, across our verandah and straight to our own area shaded by trees, then to the open beach in front of us with views of the other islands. The sun loungers are numbered and allocated to each villa, with some extra ones spaced on the beach, but not in front of a villa. The result is that there's no scrambling for sunbeds, or trying to get the best place on the beach. There was almost full occupancy during our stay, but no feeling of being crowded. Like many islands, there is a protective concrete breakwater around much of the island, but it is not an eyesore,

For those who enjoy snorkelling, the reef is being properly cared for, is very healthy, and has some of the best fish life we've seen on a house reef. Great variety of hard corals on the reef. The lagoon, between he breakwater and the beach, had lots to see with a mini-reef area within it.

Some previous Reviewers mentioned the food/restaurants. We did not use the fine-dining available in two of the restaurants. This was because we could change from European to Far Eastern and other dishes sufficiently for our needs at the Limes Restaurant.

We did use one of the other outlets for their Maldivian and Taste of the East themed nights. These were very good , being buffet style, with more choices than we needed.

With food goes drinks!!! A very varied wine list, and wide choices of cocktails, and many other drinks. Like all the other Islands, drink is more expensive than at home, but that's part of going to the Maldives.

Areas to relax at the bars ranged from a great lounge at the Lighthouse to the main garden bar.

We didn't use the Spa, but several people we spoke to rated it very highly.

Lots of excursions; we only did the sunset cruise, and that was relaxing and enjoyable.

We don't have any criticisms to make, and consider Baros to be the best of the 5 Islands we've experienced.

We were impressed, no exaggeration here, with the staff and the service they gave us. All were determined to give of their best, and took the trouble to do so. All this was with a willing smile, and we enjoyed this from the Senior Management to waiters, boat staff or gardeners. My wife summed this up as "If the currency of the World was 'Baros Smiles', there would be no recession or depression". I couldn't agree more.

We have never put a review onto Trip Adviser before, but Baros, and all its Staff, deserve having us bring it, and their efforts, to the attention of others. We're going back !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelled6619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,774 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,660 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,623 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,821 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: £505 - £1,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing