We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a romantic dream”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My partner and I stayed four nights at Baros and four at Mirihi. I chose Baros for the beautiful garden bathroom in the deluxe beachfront villa (which ironically is the base level accommodation) and it did not disappoint. The villa was beautiful and fantastically equipped, the setting stunning. I would look up at the Lighthouse Bar against the palms and the water and think I was in a dream.

Baros oozes romance, the staff were friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. Yes, food and drink are not cheap, but everything in the Maldives has to be imported so not much surprise there. For Australians, it was a little strange to fly 10,000k to eat Tasmanian Salmon and Black Angus beef, but I suppose it has to come from somewhere.

Yes, you can see Male (no idea why that upsets some people, the lights are pretty at night), yes, you can see the waste processing island (a reminder of the cost of this sort of luxury), and yes, there are sea walls (and idiots who stand on them when they get stuck snorkelling). Without the sea walls I suspect there would be little beach.

The snorkelling is surprisingly good given the number of people I saw standing on the coral - we saw a turtle twice and lots of fish. The best snorkelling point is outside the Sails bar, also possibly the best swimming point, as the reef being so near the island makes it difficult to swim out far within the lagoon. This is a lovely spot to snag one of the fantastic double sofas under the palms, already loaded with beach towels, and make a base for the day.

Remember to wear oodles of sunscreen when snorkelling (I knew this and still got burnt). We didn't go on any excursions or try the dive centre or spa - I loved the villa so much that lying on our sunloungers under our thatched umbrella, listening to the waves wash onto the shore, took up a good part of our four day stay. That and heading up to the Lighthouse bar at sunset where the lovely Ayun served us one of about a hundred cocktails with delicious bar snacks (beware the surprising and eventually addictive wasabi crisps!) Baros also served us a complimentary champagne breakfast and cake for our tenth anniversary, even though on the actual date we were on Mirihi. Champagne is included in the buffet breakfast at Lime if you want to start your day with a few bubbles.

For those still doing the endless round of resort comparisons, if you are looking for romantic luxury Baros will not disappoint. Don't bother to take shampoo, conditioner or body lotion, the supplies are luxuriously good. If you are looking for a fantastic dive resort with excellent buffets, a unique low-key friendliness and a terrific house reef, check out Mirihi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oliviamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,207)
There are newer reviews for Baros Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

Our second trip to Baros. The first was around 7 years ago and before it was refurbished. There were a lot of reviews saying it had been spoiled and its earlier charm lost. Certainly it is more upmarket now and can be more expensive, but it still retains its small island charm and friendliness and it still has the fabulous home reef, where you can wade out to fronds of coral and just watch tropical fish swim around your feet. You can spend $25 on dinner or $200 but the quality is the same and the breakfasts are fab. Do yourself a favour and go. It's a long way, but worth every mile

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillsBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I've rewritten this review a few times because I just run out of superlatives. If you don't stay here you'll be missing out and coming up short. Its spendy to be sure, but you have flown exactly to the opposite side of the earth (from the americas anyhow) in search of something special haven't you? Be prepared to spend, and be prepared to be amazed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have just returned from Baros where we enjoyed our honeymoon. Enjoyed is an understatement. The place is absolute paradise and as romantic as they come. If you are in any doubt which resort to book in the Indian Ocean - look no further, just book it - NOW! You will not be dissapointed. We told our travel agents, Turquoise Holidays, what we were after and they recommended Baros - they were right on the button! We spent hours trawling the net looking at all the resorts and we didn't even have Baros on our shortlist. No idea why!!! It is a small island - you can walk round it in 10 minutes but that just adds to its charm! The resort was 93% full and you still feel like there are only about 7 or 8 other couples there! We had a water villa which was just amazing in itself - absolute luxury. We went half board and the Limes restaurant (which is where you have breakfast and also your HB meals) is comparable to a top-notch restaurant in the UK. Just superb food, extensive menu (my wife doesn't really like spicey/hot food or fish but she found plenty to choose from!), great wines, incredible service and most of all - a perfect setting.

We were told how lucky we were with the weather because they had just had 3 weeks of non-stop rain!!!! However, although it was windy for 4 of our 9 days there, the wind spoilt nothing, it was still very hot. The wind gradually died off and then you could really feel the heat so be careful even if it's windy. They tell you to pile on the sun tan lotion and don't lie out between 11 and 2. Take it easy - you will tan even in the shade! We used 50 SPF the went down to 30 SPF and no lower. You don't need to!

Things to note: you will pay a 10% service charge on EVERYTHING so be prepared to accept that or don't go. When you arrive they will take a credit or debit card and will try to charge $3000 to it (everything gets charged to your villa - no cash at all). We were prepared for this purely due to other TA reviewers and we made sure there was enough on my Nat West debit card - it wouldn't work for some reason. Eventually, after calls to and from NW fraud etc etc it was all fine. That debacle was the only thing that was a problem. Cheapest bottle of wine is $50 (plus the 10% of course) but we bought bottles for dinners as it was cheaper than by the glass. The cocktails are surprisingly reasonable at around $12 (champagne-based are more like $22+) which is about £8 - not bad considering.

If you are HB and one night you choose to eat at one of the other 2 restaurants (Cayenne Grill or The Lighthouse) you will get a subsidy towards the bill of $45 each. Again this is a really good deal. Whatever you do, you MUST have at least one dinner at The Lighthouse - it's just amazing. I'll say no more. Also, make sure you go to the Lighthouse Lounge (first floor of the Lighthouse restaurant) and have a cocktail as you watch the sunset from the viewing deck - it is just incredible!! It opens at 5pm for drinks and the sun sets at 6pm (when we were there). It's not just the sunset - it's what happens to the sky in the 20 minutes after the sun sets........just do it! You will be sorry if you don't!

Honeymoon dinner on the beach, sunset dolphin cruise, glass bottom boat, free champagne at breakfast, refreshing smoothies, great cocktails, incredible food and wine - all this and more at Baros!

Amazing sea life literally swam past our water villa every day - huge stingrays, manta rays etc. We had a TV in the room - didn't switch it on once. Didn't care about newspapers. If you need it - there is wi-fi free around the resort and free internet access in the business centre/shop area. But if you watch alot of TV or read newspapers from home - then you are doing something wrong! Nothing matters when you are there except each other and the resort!!! We spent hours just watching the ocean - we have never relaxed as much as this and we are really struggling to re-adjust to UK life :0(

The staff are great, always happy to help and on call 24/7. Also go to the spa - awesome. You get your own spa suite to yourselves when you book a treatment and it is just superb. Start to finish.

Be careful of sunburn ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE SNORKELLING! Us and a couple we got friendly with suffered after about 20 minutes of snorkelling in our life jackets. They should tell you when you get your free snorkelling gear from the dive centre but they don't so I'm telling you now - wear a t-shirt under your life jacket as well as putting on waterproof sun lotion. By the way, wearing the life jacket makes snorkelling so much easier to just float and enjoy the sights so would recommend you do use them.

We really miss the sight and sound of the Indian ocean. We also really miss Baros. It was the perfect honeymoon and we certainly intend to go back at some point....sooner perhaps if our lottery numbers come up!!!! But hey, if it was a once in a lifetime thing then that would be fitting also - because it feels exactky like it when you are there believe me!

If you, like we did, are already booked to go there (we're jealous!) and are checking TA every day for new reviews (thank you all other reviewers!) then read this and smile. You have chosen very wisely and you will love it. Savour every minute! It's over to way too soon believe us!!!

Mr & Mrs C of Luton

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarkey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My wife and I chose Baros based on it being so highly rated and included in the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, with which we've had good experience in the past. Having just returned, we can unreservedly say that we had an amazing holiday in every respect and if you want to treat yourself to something unforgettable, this is definitely it.

We stayed for 11 nights in one of the Water Villaa, which are mounted in the water just off the edge of the island. Room was very well appointed and extremely comfortable, with everything you would want for your stay, including free Wi-Fi and in-room hi-fi connection for ipod. Each villa has its own steps to the water so if you want to snorkel on the house reef, which is like an acquarium in itself, you can just jump in.

Service from the staff was extremely friendly but unobtrusive and the quality of service in the bars and restaurants was very professional, which speaks to the training that the staff must receive.

We used the dive centre a lot. My wife wanted to get her Open Water certification, which she duly did and was very happy with the tuition she received. I used the opportunity to do some boat diving, which ran every day to different sites around the atol. All the equipment was well serviced and the staff again took care of almost everything to do with preparation and unloading.

Others have commented that the restaurants are a bit expensive and it's certainly the case that dining on the island isn't low cost. However, there was a very good variety of food available (which was impressive given its isolation) and the quality was again very good. Hence, we thought it was fair value for what we received. And dining at the flagship restaurant, The Lighthouse, was a real treat on the last night.

In recommending this to others (which I would do wholeheartedly), I would say two things that will make it a success: 1) that you should enjoy doing things in the water ie swimming, snorkelling or diving, and 2) that you want somewhere that is for couples with a peaceful, romatic atmosphere. If these are your ingredients then I cannot see how you could do anything other than love this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson_London17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks in the Maldives, our first week we were on the Atoll Explorer and the 2nd week we went to Baros, we chose it as the reviews were fantastic and everything that was said is true. It is a great place to chill out and the house reef is amazing. We saw sharks and turtles everyday. We were in a Deluxe Villa which was perfect, really private sunbathing area on your own little stretch of beach. Great outdoor bathroom with luxury toiletries to pamper yourself. Bars and Restaurants all very good a little bit pricy but it's worth it for the service and quality. The weather was beautiful. If you can go, do. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

It has now been 2 1/2 years since we visited Baros (in April 2008) and no other place in the world seems as idyllic, as perfect, as amazing as Baros.
We couldn't recommend it highly enough. From the minute we were greeted at the airport to the minute we left, we were treated amazingly well. It was a lovely service throughout.
Whenever you required service, a waiter was there..yet you had a total privacy the rest of the time.
Food was amazing. Cocktails were great. It was just perfect!
Start booking

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha_and_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,759 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,620 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,570 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,301 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: £423 - £1,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing