We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High points and low points from a Honeymoon couple”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High points and low points from a Honeymoon couple”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My husband and I were at Baros during the week of Christmas (20-26 to be specific) and we must admit that we had a very pleasurable time. It was also our first time at the Maldives, and it was a very good start. We shall be going to the islands -hopefully- again. Nonetheless, as we have not yet seen any other resort in the area, we cannot make a truthful comparison.

Likes:

- Water villas. Very private, silent, with a good and vast sea view, if you choose or get the right villa at the right angle. That said, rooms from 310 to 317 should be satisfactory in that regard. These ones directly face the ocean and few other islands.
- Personalized experiences such as the sandback dinner (quite expensive, but worth every penny -especially if you are on the honeymoon)
- Spa services. Bali massage was exceptionally good.
- Night snorkeling. If you are comfortable with the Sea and its creatures, you have to try this. The underwater life during the day and then during the night are so very different. It is worth to see it with your own eyes.
Quick note here, I was freaking about the sharks before our travel. Everyone keeps saying that Maldives sharks are shy and "friendly" animals :) I chose to believe them, and am not regretting that I dived in for this night snorkeling thing...
- No children aged below 8. And, even then at the beginning of our stay there were none. After Christmas we started to see a few young adolescents with parents. This might be of courisity to the newly wed honeymooners.

To sum up the likes, the Resort is very beautiful indeed. It is quite small (you can walk around it perhaps in 10 to 15 minutes max. If you run, that would be 5 minutes :) ) But, even then you do not feel crowded by other guests.

Dislikes:

- We could not locate any wine expert; and overall, we had the impression that the staff was not knowledgeable about wine culture. Thus, during our stay we asked only once about a certain wine and when we discovered that no one was really capable of giving advice, we did not ask again for advices on wine selection from the staff . But, at the Lighthouse, we did have the wine-food pairing menu and it was amazing.

- We also found the service quality to be inconsistent (and not only across different restaurants and experience, but also in the same restaurant as well). During our first few nights when the Resort was not yet that full, the attentiveness of the staff was amazing. However, following days we felt that the service quality went down immensely.
Service at the Lime Restaurant was exceptionally bad. By the way, by service quality here we are only referring to the restaurants. The general service across other facilities is always exceptional.

- Food at the Light House was very good value for money. Sandback the same. But we cannot say the same thing about the food at Lime and Cayenne.

- Finally, we took the beginner's scuba-diving course. It was not one of our high points during our stay. Our instructor did not seem to interested; and I did not feel encouraged to ask questions before we actually started diving.

All in all, we would recommend the hotel for its exceptional honey moon ambiance, friendly staff and natural beauty.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheInquisitive_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    131
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
150
1,767
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

My husband and I went to Baros earlier this month for 10 nights. We had the most wonderful time! We stayed in a water villa which was perfectly located for all day sun (villa 310) and fantastic sunset views.

The location: Being only 20 minutes by speedboat from Male, we felt like we stepped off the plane and were at the resort within a matter of minutes! On arrival, we were given a glass of champagne and a refreshing towel and told about the restaurants, bars and other amenities on the island.

The room: The villa was beautifully designed with a wonderfully large bed! The expresso machine was a nice touch as were the little cakes/biscuits left for us each night. The outside deck was a good size - plenty of room for two sunbeds and to move into the shade when necessary.

The food: We were on a B&B basis. Breakfast was fantastic – buffet style with eggs prepared however you want them, plenty of choice of pastries, cereals and fresh fruit. And complimentary champagne! We were not sure at first whether it was complimentary (my husband raising his eyebrows when I turned up at the table with two glasses, wondering how much it was going to cost us!), but it turned out that it was! In the evenings, we went mainly to the Cayenne and Lime restaurants. Both were fantastic – we can particularly recommend the lobster rolls at the Lime restaurant for a starter and the whole lobster or catch of the day done Thai style at the Cayenne. The Lime restaurant was a bit more casual than the other two, but there was still an excellent selection of foods available and at a reasonable price (for the Maldives!). We also found the Cayenne good value, given that you get antipasti and salad included in the cost of your main course. We ate at the Lighthouse one night (our anniversary) and it was a wonderful fine-dining experience: again, we couldn’t fault it. The wine list was fairly good – from what I recall, it ranged from around $45 to over $2000!! The wines at the lower end were perfectly drinkable (we can highly recommend the Chilean Carmenere and the Argentinean Malbec).

The service: We were amazed at how great the service was: from the meet and greet staff to the waiters and waitresses. All were very professional, highly trained and very friendly.

Little extras: Baros has one evening each week where all guests are invited to have cocktails. We went along to this and it was great. We spent an hour or so chatting to some of the staff and drinking fantastic wine. It was our anniversary while we were staying at Baros and we were surprised to be told that we were going to have a champagne breakfast in our villa and that we would also get a cake! Very nice touch! And finally, on the night before we were leaving, we found two little wooden turtles on our bed to take home with us to remind us of our stay.

Snorkelling/swimming: With the reef almost the whole way around the island, there was plenty to see when snorkelling. There was also a lot to see even from our deck and from the restaurants. We saw a lot of reef sharks, stingrays and even a turtle! From a very personal perspective, the only thing missing for me on Baros was a swimming pool. I found the sharks a little bit scary (even though I knew they were not at all dangerous) and I’m also not a huge fan of salt water. My husband, however, loved going out on the reef and also going for a swim straight off the back of our villa.

Our departure from Baros coincided with the snow arriving in the UK and many of the flights being cancelled. The initial information we had from the airport was that our flight was cancelled and we were just getting our heads around the fact that we would have to spend a few more days at Baros (not too much of a hardship!) when we received a call from the front desk: the staff had made more enquiries and found out that the flight was back on (after an extra plane had been put on from Colombo). We were very impressed by their efficiency! Although we were very sad to leave Baros, at least we knew we’d be home in time for Christmas!

All in all, we could not fault Baros and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MackieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We spent 10 days in Baros for our honeymoon - wow all of the previous reviews were 100% right. This was an AMAZING vacation, we were blown away by the beauty and calm of the island. The service is out of this world, with all staff members so friendly all the time and willing to do anything for you whenever you want. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by a gentleman with hand towels and whisked away into a speedboat where we had more handtowels and juice waiting. After a short time, we arrived at Baros to a stunning and comfortable lobby area where we enjoyed champagne during the check-in which really didn't consist of any paperwork. We were shown our room and were completely stunned. We booked a Deluxe Villa - number 118 on the west side of the beach - this is what we requested as we wanted to be on the beach and we love our sunsets so being on the west side was important to us. This is their basic accommodation but let me tell you there is nothing basic about this villa. The outdoor bathroom was like a bonzai garden the size of my NYC apartment with a beautiful outdoor shower and an enormous tub in the middle of it. It felt like you were bathing in a waterfall in hawaii every day. The view from our villa was amazing, we loved our beach and it felt so private without feeling too isolated. You never saw anybody else around even though the resort was at relatively high occupancy. We LOVED our breakfasts every morning. Breakfast is included in the rate and we did not book any other inclusive meal plan. For us, this was the right decision. We sat at breakfast for hours every morning and enjoyed the bubbly and the wide selection they had of fruits, pastries, eggs, waffles... we were never hungry for lunch and only ate dinner half the time. Maybe we were just perpetually jetlagged. For dinner, we liked the Teppanyaki menu at Cayenne Grill and Maldivian Night at Cayenne Grill. We also loved anything at the Lighthouse. Sunset drinks at the Lighthouse were great too, as well as drinks at Sails Bar. The house reef is superb - you see turtles, reef sharks and lots of other fish just steps from the beach. My husband went on the Manta dive and said it was probably the best dive he's every been on (has been on over 200 dives). We also found it very convenient that the dive center just lends you snorkel gear for free and it's just no hassle (like everything else at Baros). Free wifi everywhere too. The resort gave us a bottle of champagne and a honeymoon dinner on the beach one night which was outstanding. It was so beautiful. The highlight of our trip was the sandbank lunch - HIGHLY recommend you do this. It is well worth it - it was surreal to be on your own sandbank in the middle of the Indian Ocean. The lunch was a massive amount of food as well that we didn't get close to finishing. We chose the daytime/lunch as well just because we thought we would enjoy the scenery more since it would be daytime, although it was quite hot in the strong sun. The dolphin sunset cruise was also very nice - we saw tons of Dolphins and the drivers really know how to navigate the rather touristy dolphin zones. Spa treatments were fantastic - had several different massages - the specialists are very good and the facilities are beautiful and spacious. We are all-around EXTREMELY impressed with the staff - everyone from Ahmed and Jenny in the front area who helped us constantly throughout our stay, Lubna with her big smile every morning at Lime and at Cayenne Grill in the evening, Julian at Sails Bar, and Ayun at Lighthouse Lounge, everybody just felt like family by the end as the all knew our drink orders, our seating preferences, what we had done that day... the whole operation is one of the most impressive we have ever seen. Everything just felt so effortless and easy. We are definitely going back here - we plan on renewing our vows on that sandbank! Thank you Baros!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer_nyc166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We went here for our 1st anniversary after reading the TripAdvisor reviews and it was nothing short of amazing. The weather wasn't great though we chose the right time of year (if you're wanting more of a tranquil and less windy stay, keep to the villas on the East side of the island. We were in 116 and due to the storms we requested - and they happily complied - to move to 106). The diving is great (very organized and professional dive center), try to go to Manta Point to see the rays, but even if you don't want to take a boat trip, the Baros reef is lovely. The spa was luxurious - we went for the Rendezvous couples treatment. The breakfasts at Lime were good value, but lunch and dinner were a bit bland - I suggest going to Lighthouse for a refined meal, or Cayenne for the Satay bar or Tandoori sampler.

Overall a fantastic stay; they made it special for us by bringing us breakfast with an anniversary cake and champagne in our villa. We would definitely return to the Maldives thanks to Baros' presentation and service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RXuanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Just returned from Baros and cannot find the words to express just how fantastic it is. From the minute we were met at the airport and whisked off to the island by speedboat we knew we were in for something special. The quality of the accommodation, food and service are outstanding. Baros deserves every accolades it gets and I for one will break one of my cardinal rules never to return to the same place twice. Truly amazing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susangarlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Thanks for all the previous reviews. I decided on Baros after reading nearly all the reviews. It was truly the best choice!
From the start till the end of our short 3 nights stay, Baros never fail to impress us.
Service is excellent, view is fantastic, house reef is great and champagne breakfast is fabulous!
Special thanks to the front office manager, Ahmed Suhan. He personally welcomed us when we arrived, extended our check out time, made sure the lighthouse gave us superb service on our last night, and personally bade us farewell!
I shall not say much about what Baros has to offer as other reviews are detailed enough.
We are truly happy celebrating our wedding anniversay in Baros. And definitely will visit again!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abidora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

So you're planning a trip to the Maldives: is Baros right for you? This is a fantastic resort with wonderful views, exceptionally accessible marine wildlife, friendly staff and excellent facilities like the fantastic spa. Mostly decent food and occasionally service slip ups did not detract from a wonderful week for us.

We booked a Water Villa which we highly recommend. Views and access to the sea are outstanding, rooms comfortable with mod cons.

Highlights at Baros include:
- Snorkelling on the house reef just off the beach – turtles, (harmless) sharks and countless tropical fish just seconds from your room
- Exceptionally friendly staff throughout the resort – everyone from the gardeners to the room attendants greeted you warmly without fail every time. This made a really friendly feel
- Well-oiled machine. Arrival and departures, including transfers, were exceptionally well managed and the smoothest and most pleasant we have experienced worldwide.

The cleverest thing about Baros is that, despite being a small island running at 80-90% occupancy, it never felt crowded. On our trip, restaurants were often quiet, areas of beach always free. However, if you want complete “desert island” isolation it may disappoint: they’ve packed a lot on one atoll. And it’s accessibility to Male was a key attraction for our one week stay.

So what of the downsides?
- Food was not high point. If food it a big deal to you, it may disappoint. We loved the Cayenne Grill with salad bars and some good seafood. But few meals, even at the luxury Lighthouse, blew us away.
- Service in restaurants was inconsistent: very good on some occasions and distinctly average on others. We would go from the exceptionally attentive and friendly Barman at the Sails Bar to the sometimes grumpy and forgetful staff at Lime Restaurant. Again, if consistency of service is important to you, you may have to make a fuss (as we saw some guests doing) to ensure you get the consistently high service that a five star hotel warrants.

IS BAROS RIGHT FOR YOU?

The Maldives has so many great hotels to pick from. We've can't compare it to others, but here's ReviewMoney's handy check list to help you decide if Baros is right for you:

Pick Baros if:
- You want a very friendly resort with beatiful views and a relaxing place: comfy sofa-beds where the bar meets the beach, sun loungers everywhere, excellent balcony seats etc.
- you love sea life and want to try swimming, snorkelling, diving and excursions somewhere easy and accessible
- you want a quick and outstanding transfer from the airport, a good spa and excellent rooms

Maybe pick somewhere else if:
- You want consistently very high standards of service and exceptional food every night
- You've splashed out of getting there and want good value for money (see menus on the website for an idea of prices, and add 10% +tips).
- you want the "desert island isolation" experience. it feels very quiet, and there's always a peaceful spot to find, but it's not isolated.

Overall, this is a great resort: a peaceful setting, great water villas, lovely views and brilliant underwater life. There is a polish and professionalism to the staff, let down by only a few. If you’re looking forward to relaxing, snorkelling, swimming and seek a friendly resort, we would highly recommend Baros.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Review_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,722 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,512 reviews
14.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,990 reviews
9.0 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,786 reviews
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Property: Baros Maldives
Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing