We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Raalhu Lodge(Himmafushi Island)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Club Med Kani(Kanifinolhu Island)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Gili Lankanfushi(Lankanfushi)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi(Lhohifushi Island)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    Gasfinolhu Island Resort(Gasfinolhu Island)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Beachfront
    • Restaurant
    Season Paradise(Thulusdhoo Island)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    Reviews (2,630)
    Filter reviews
    2,630 results
    Traveller rating
    1,629
    713
    175
    71
    42
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,629
    713
    175
    71
    42
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswater suitesbeach bungalowsunset barour waiterdolphin safarifishour honeymooncrabwater shoessuperior roomthree barscurriessalad barroom boylagoon sideoverwater suitemini bar
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,698 - 1,703 of 2,630 reviews
    Reviewed 7 November 2011

    Now this is what I call a holiday. My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in May for our honeymoon - we made the right choice.

    We stayed in an over the water suite - and to be honest we were blown away! I can't understand the people that complain about these suites. Views from the spacious and cool bedrooms were just out of this world. Laying in bed and looking out across the bright blue sea and desert islands was something that I can only hope to experience again some time. Beautiful. The entire suite was out of this world and I know a few people that barely left their suites!

    The walk from our suite to the restaurant was something that only dreams are made of. We saw sharks almost every day, loads of rays (one 5ft in diameter), Eagle Rays, hundreds of multi-coloured fish of all sizes, squids and even a turtle!!!! Wow I can't put into words the amazing feeling of tranquillity we had everyday walking to the restaurant.

    The restaurant itself provided us with the best food we have ever eaten on holiday. Freshly cooked in front of us every day, there was always something new and tantalising to try. The chefs were all so friendly - especially our main man Abdul who made the best omelettes ever! We even saw dolphins from our picturesque view from our restaurant table on a number of occasions. The bar staff were also amazing - however one negative was that most cocktails cost extra (unless you order a non-alcohol one and put some rum in it).

    The island itself was also beautiful, and the marine life and snorkelling were stunning! We snorkelled at least once a day and from these took home some of the most cherished memories of my life so far. The beach isn't up to much but ho hum if you're after a huge sandy beach then go elsewhere - this isn't for you.

    Admittedly if we had not been staying in the over the water suites the holiday may have been a totally different experience. I would encourage anyone reading this review to book a suite! You will not be disappointed!!

    This was by far the most enjoyable, relaxing and special experience of my life. I loved every moment of the 2 weeks we spent here in paradise and I would gladly live here if I could!

    I can't compare this to other Maldives holidays, but we are very, very well travelled and this holiday was head and shoulders above anything we've ever experienced before.

    Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book an over the water suite! Their location, size and exclusive restaurant blow everything else on the island out of the water!! You will not be disappointed and your holiday will be a totally different experience.
    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank kalclash
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GuestRelationExecutv, Guest Relations Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

    Dear kalclash,

    We are truly delighted to read your wonderful review of our resort.

    It is such a great pleasure for us to know that you are happy with your stay and that you have enjoyed everything that we had to offer. We are thrilled to read your comments and experiences with your room, with your walk from the suite to the restaurant, the food, the bar, the island, the snorkeling, and the staffs.

    We are pleased to learn that this was by far the most enjoyable, relaxing, and special experience of your life, and we are very happy to know that this holiday was head and shoulders above anything you have experienced before. It is always our ultimate aim to make the provide the most amazing experiences to our guests and we are glad to know that we were able to make it possible throughout your stay.

    Once again, thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli as your holiday destination in the Maldives and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

    Best regards,

    Guest Relations Team
    Chaaya Island Dhonveli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 November 2011

    We stayed in a Over Water Suite, in February for our honeymoon. the OWS was a out of the world experience. It is a pretty big room with a jacuzzi and a private (literally) balcony facing the ocean and nothing else in the visibility.

    Food was a big plus, we opted for Full board and were pampered with a variety of options.

    Only slight draw back would be the lack of white sand beach .. it is a decent beach but not the best in class.. however the OWS and good food compensated for the lack of great beaches.

    They do have a decent lagoon (house reef) where we could snorkel a bit

    • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank iTravel_BLR
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GuestRelationExecutv, Guest Relations Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2011

    Dear AnilP_Bangalore,

    Thank you for taking the time to post a brief but lovely review of your recent stay in Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

    It is such a great pleasure to know that your Over Water Suite was an out of the world experience for you, as well as the food being a big plus which had pampered you with a variety of options.

    We are, however, sorry to read that you have found the white sand beach as a slight draw back, but we are happy to know that this did not cause an inconvenience to your stay nonetheless.

    We wish you all the best from all of us here at Chaaya Island Dhonveli.


    Best Regards,

    Guest Relations Team
    Chaaya Island Dhonveli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 October 2011

    And how marvellous! We were in heaven and taken away by the stunning beauty of the island. It was the best choice we could have possibly made for our honeymoon.

    The departure from LGW with Thomson Airways was effortless and the flight time went by quickly. The next morning we woke up in paradise and it looked like the plane was landing in turquoise water - considering Male's runway is literately just a few meters above sea level. After customs and baggage claim we were greeted by the helpful crew of Thomson/First Choice and our host Zahir directed us to our speed boat departure point. The 30 min speed boat transfer was just a joy of what this paradise would offer to us in the coming days - although a sea plane transfer would have been even greater.

    Our check-in at the hotel was straight forward and despite the early arrival of 11 o'clock we were already able to occupy our lovely water bungalow 815. We were delighted by the unrestricted views onto the Indian Ocean from our living room and balcony, along with visibility screens to the neighbours - total privacy was guaranteed. The bungalow itself is maybe not the newest as other reviewers may complain, however it was spotless clean and cleaned twice daily! A couple of items that could use improvement - the bed was not extremely comfortable. It was too hard and extremely noisy/squeaky. The furniture in the bungalow is in well-used condition. TV is quite archaic, however we did not use it. All amenities functioned without problems and we could have not asked for more. It is also to be said that for a couple the water bungalow option comparing to the water suite is more than enough and features the better view.

    Our daily meals in the Maakana Restaurant were mouthwatering. The staff was very friendly and forth coming. The variety of the food was not always sufficient. Although all of the dinners were great with a lot of options, some parts were repetitive without anything distinctly different. However the fresh sea-food tasted fabulous. The cocktail list included in the all-inclusive package may not have been the most extensive. There are 6 different cocktails offered with basic ingredients.

    The Island Reef was impacted by the Tsunami in 2004 and effects are still noticeable nowadays. Anyhow the bay reef is redevolping and a variety of corals are providing a lively underwater world together with all the colourful fish. A definite better snorkel is at the Island Reef just around the resorts harbour walls with much greater corals and fish. Due to being in the islands shadow it was not impacted by the tsunami and still sparkles in full colour. Anyhow if you want to have a snorkel experience you will never forget join the day tour to Kudo Bandos. The reef around this little uninhabited island is just something I have not even experienced in the Great Barrier Reef! The richness on corals, fish, rays, turtles, sharks (friendly reef sharks) is just from another planet.

    The only way to top this snorkel experience is obviously to go diving in Maldives. The resorts 5***** Padi Dive centre Meridis is one of the best organised dive locations I have got to know. The staff is very flexible and even if you are only two they will go out for a dive. The equipment you are provided is just superb and with the luck I had during my dive we even got to observe a Manta Ray for over 25 minutes "chilling" at one of their diving spots.

    As it was our honeymoon we also booked the romantic Dinner for two under the stars and what a dinner it was. With the luck of having the Full Moon above our heads we were served a delicious 5-course Seafood dinner! Afterwards we certainly felt a bit heavier . Defiantly a must do for any romantic occasion.

    A further must do is the "Private Dolphin Viewing" tour! On your own private boat you cruise amongst the Dolphin pods swimming around the island and you get to stay out for viewing much longer than on the "mass" tours. It was just amazing to see the dolphins so close, yet comparing to past holidays snorkeling and diving experiences with dolphins it was less spectacular. :)

    After our 7 nights we had to depart our paradise way too quick as the time just flew by. It was a wonderful quiet Island perfect for honeymooners and people enjoying the quiet retreat. If you are looking for non-stop noise and program you would be disappointed as also the surfers are only ensuring to be fit enough for the great wave breaks at Pasta Point and are not the party animals. It was a fun watching the pro's coming here from all over the world.

    Room Tip: Choose a Water Bungalow Rooms numbered between 812 to 824! You will have the first glimpse at the sunrise and all you see is the open Indian Ocean - nothing impairing your splendid scene!
    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank GoMatti
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GuestRelationExecutv, Guest Relations Manager at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2011

    Dear GoMatti,

    We loved your glowing review of your recent stay with Chaaya Island Dhonveli! We are very delighted to learn that this vacation was the best choice that you could possibly made for your honeymoon.

    We are happy to read that you have enjoyed everything that we had to offer, and much more. It is a great pleasure to read your comments about your clean room, the facilities, the food as mouthwatering, the staffs as friendly and forthcoming, the fresh sea food as fabulous, the Kuda Bandos trip experience, the diving experience with Meridis, the dolphin safari experience, your romantic dinner, and the rest.

    It is always our aim to provide exceptional service to our guests and we are happy to know that it has been visible throughout your stay.

    Once again, thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli as your honeymoon destination and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again, probably on your anniversary... :)

    Best wishes from all of us here.

    Warm Regards,

    Guest Relations Team
    Chaaya Island Dhonveli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 October 2011

    Maldives is a land of clear water beaches, land of surfers, land of tranquality. We stayed at Chaaya dhonveli resort, Beach Villa. Room was clean and spacious. Room service was too slow and resort staff wasnot co-operative. Must go for sea plane ride from male airport. Variety of food was limited at Bar. Overall good resort to stay and relax.

    Room Tip: Carry Water, soft drinks , chips from male airport. The price difference is huge if you purchase from resort
    • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Vikas S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GuestRelationExecutv, Guest Relations Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

    Dear Vikas S,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in Chaaya Island Dhonveli.

    We do regret to read that you have found the room service as slow and that the staffs were not cooperative. We have noted all your feedback and will be further looked into. It is always our aim to provide exceptional service to our guests, and we are sorry if it has not been visible on some point of your stay.

    Nonetheless, we are happy to read that you liked the room and that, overall, you have considered our resort as a good place to stay and to relax.

    Once again, thank you for staying with us and best wishes from all of us here at Chaaya Island Dhonveli.


    Best Regards,

    Guest Relations Team
    Chaaya Island Dhonveli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 October 2011

    This place is lovely. From the exciting speedboat ride (don't wear a hat or have a heart condition) to the lovely welcome with juice, the Island and resort was excellent. We stayed in a Superior room (306) and it was great. Large room, huge en-suite, with great views and cleaned twice a day. Our cleaner even arranged a lovely flower arrangement for my girlfriend on her birthday. Our rep was on hand to guide us to the boat at the airport and gave us a thorough brief on arrival. Moosa, our waiter was always friendly and happy to help. We went all inclusive and this is one of the best I have had. A different choice of fresh fish, cooked before you every day and always a different choice of other foods. There were approx 5 chefs on each meal time, and I never had to queue. When a meal cost $150 for two, all inclusive was definately the way ahead. The selection of cocktails was varied and the alcohol content was good. I felt tipsy a few nights. If you don't like cocktails, then the Lager was very pleasant, infact probably better than some of the fizzy rubbish here inthe UK. I would say this is a couples island, as there isn't a huge amount to do for the kids. That said, PASTA POINT is a bit hit with the surfers, and there is a surf school incorporated into the island, but run separately. Here they will teach anyone to surf. We used the bar here (also included in all inclusive) as the sunsets and waves were fantastic

    Snorkeling in the bay was amazing, but cloudy on some days when a boat had been in. We saw a fully grown black tipped reef shark twice and every day a baby used to swim up and down the bay. Stingrays also were in the bay and then there were plenty of other species.

    To compliment this, there were excursions for a fee, we chose the Island BBQ ($65 each for all day), which meant a baot ride to a little island (20 mins to walk round), that had watersports (Jet Skiing etc(A bit expensive at $59 for 15 mins)) and the most amazing reef. So clear and full of life. We also went on a dolphin safari ($120 or ($80 for the big boat with others)). We pay'd a bit extra and went for a romantic one for 2. This was by far the best choice for a adrenalin junkie like me. The speed boat was large and powerful and unlike the other safari's we could sit on the end of the boat and go where we saw them. At the end (3 hours or seeing a school of about 10 dolphins) we had a 40 minute ride back, whcih beat any banana boat or jet ski ride. Absolutally fantastic.

    We also had a massage at the SPA ($180)at the resort, HMMMMMM relaxing...

    The only down point was a little bit of dis-organisation on the return to the airport and an unknown charge some people were charged to reserve their seats on the flight back, we didn't and still got to sit together, although we were told we may not. I have never know an airline try to seat people away from other people travelling together and a $40 charge for each person seemed excessive, but this was a THOMSON thing.

    Overall, couldn't fault the RESORT or STAFF, they were all very friendly and always ready to help, even if they spoke little english (Only our cleaner spoke little english(he still managed to spell my girlfriends name correctly), the rest spoke perfect english and some Italian as well!!). The beaches, snorkeling (Ocean temp lovely and warm), excursion and the whole desert island feeling was all there and made this the best relaxing holiday I have ever had

    Thank you to MOOSA and OUR THOMSON REP for an amazing holiday, we will definately be returning to the MALDIVES.

    Room Tip: Garden rooms have the least view. 1st floor superior rooms are the next best thing for views to the beach bungalows. The Sea/Ocean suites/Bungalows give the best ocean view but are a bit expensive to upgrade to ($180 for suite/$120 for bungalow)
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Marc39
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GuestRelationExecutv, Guest Relations Executive at Cinnamon Dhonveli Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

    Dear Marc39,

    We are very thrilled to read your glowing review about your recent stay in our resort. We are happy to know that we were able to make you happy with the things that we had to offer – the speedboat transfer experience, the food, the accommodation, your waiter Moosa, your representative Zahir, the all-inclusive package, the island, and much more. It also gives us such a great pleasure to read your overall experiences during your holiday in our resort, including the snorkeling, the spa, and the different excursions that you have joined to.

    With this, thank you for all your wonderful feedbacks. We are very delighted to learn that we were able to make this trip as the best holiday that you have ever had. Your compliments to the staffs, especially to Moosa and Zahir, will be passed on to them. Friendly and warm hospitality is something that we always aim to provide and we are happy to know that it has been visible throughout your stay.

    Once again, thank you for choosing Chaaya Island Dhonveli as your holiday destination and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.


    Warm Regards,

    Guest Relations Team
    Chaaya Island Dhonveli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews