We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymooners”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We went to Paradise Island at April for our honeymoon. As, this site is one of the most important decision maker for me I also want to share my thoughts for readers.

First of all Maldives has unique view regardless of which hotel you prefer. Every human being should taste such experience once in his life.

We wanted to stay in luxury hotel which is not too much expensive. As far as I searched from internet Paradise Island Resort fits to us, and decided to go there for our Maldives trip.

As we went Maldives for our honeymoon we wanted to have privacy. So we prefer Water Villas for accomodation. As we landed to island we understood that how we are right to think so. Beach bungalows are ok but Water Villas definetely rocks.

We prefer HB and enjoy different restaurants at lunch time. By doing this we had chance to taste different cuisines in most economic way.

Every day we received 2 bottle (1.5 lt) water freeto our room. This is an important treat for visitors as average temprature is 40 Celcius.

Spa, sand, cocktails are good but the most unforgettable memory for us to dive in Maldives. Definetely recommended...

To sum up, I recommend Maldives and Paradise Island Resort to Honeymooners. It makes your special vacation wonderful!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ino-1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    850
    202
    99
    100
See reviews for
475
1,444
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We chose to stay at Paradise Island Resort because it was highly recommended by some of our friends, who had spent a week there. After booking our holiday, we had second thoughts, because of some of the comments we read here. Fortunately, we had nothing to worry about!

Right from the time we sat on the speed boat, we found the staff very courteous and helpful. Some of the hotel staff told us not to go for the city-excursions as there was nothing much to see (saving us a lot of time and money). We were expecting a 3 or 4-hour wait before we got our room, but to our surprise, out check-in formalities were completed in less than 30 minutes and we were on our way to our water villa in a buggy. The driver spent 10 minutes showing us around, pointing out the different restaurants and the type of food we could get there.

The Haven Villa was an absolute dream come true, right from the comfortable bed, to the jacuzzi... not to forget the sundeck! Room Service and housekeeping were perfect! One thing I must mention is the Internet Connection. I thought that I'd be able to access the internet only from the room. But I soon found out that could sit on the sundeck and work at the same time... Isn't that something?

We visited most of the restaurants during our stay there, our favorites being the Italian restaurant and Farumathi. Everywhere we went the staff was very friendly and courteous and was more than happy to give us loaves of bread, to feed the fish (at no extra cost, even though we offered to pay for it).

Our only regret is that we were there for such a short time. We definitely plan to go back again and will recommend the place to others!

Room Tip: Haven Villas are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VinnyT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Maldivian islands are in a superb picturesque setting. The staff at the hotel are courteous and helpful for the most part. I had booked my package via "makemytrip.com" and I would not recommend anyone to book theirs with these guys. I paid a lot of money for the first class package, but we found ourselves in a normal room upon arrival...I had to pay another $300/night to upgrade to a water villa...and these guys could accommodate us only for 3 nights, during our 4 night stay. Rooms are very well designed, room service is poor...we realized quite late in the trip that we can call the golf-carts up for intra-island commute as it was very hot during the days...

Scuba was good, the instructors were both friendly and knowledgeable.

There is a very short period at the Farumathi restaurant where they feed the sharks...you do see them for about 30 mins in large numbers. It's at 8:00PM most nights.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pavan1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We spent 4 days in this resort, there is no doubt that this is a very beautiful island, and the water villa which we stayed in was very well designed. Most of the guests here are from Mainland China and Europe. We found the Chinese tourists to be very noisy, and if you happen to be staying next door to one of them, you can forget about having a peaceful vacation.

Prior to our arrival, we have written to the hotel to ask about the arrangement of our boat transfer so that we could plan our itinerary accordingly. It took at least 5 or 6 e-mail reminders for them to come back to us about something as simple as the time of the boat transfer!

On the day of the boat transfer at Male, the arrangement was a total mess. The staff in charge of getting everybody on the boat did not make sure that everybody was on board! As we had some over-sized luggage to carry to the boat, there was nobody from the hotel to assist us to carry the bags, and we had to hurry along to catch up with the rest to board the boat (or miss it)!

During the day of our check out, I have requested for the buggy to pick up my surf boards from the watersports center. The buggy driver had the audacity to tell me "your time is up", meaning, "you have checked out already so we have no obligation to carry your stuff for you, you are all on your own". I was totally dumbfounded that they had hired someone without even half a brain !

As we have decided to transfer to another island resort, and thus were not taking the hotel's boat back to Male, however the hotel insisted on charging us on the return boat trip, saying that it is "compulsory". We tried to contact the management staff to clarify this matter, and guess what, the management could not be reached. Even after leaving several messages, the management had not even the slightest courtesy to respond to us.

To sum it up, it could have been a great vacation if not for the incompetent staff who were totally incapable of customer service. We would definitely not come back to this resort, and certainly would not recommend this to any of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank windsurfer121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Checked into the resort after spending 5 days at the Waldorf Astoria, Beach House. There we were treated as royalty. The booking in Paradise Island was for a day.

The bitter experiences started from the Buggie driver (A Porter) who told us off!! For not waiting for him outside our room (Indefinitely, having answered his room call in 30seconds!)

Then came the quality of the 'Superior' double Bedroom; Disgusting! (For $125 on discount). A bad experience even for one day....The worst holiday experience ever.

On then deciding to upgrade to the 'Water Villa', being initially told of a $115 charge, on signing the document, being charged an extra $220!!

On confirming, first being told of the 'Free' inclusive dinner & then being told (whilst at the buffet), that it was no longer inclusive (As it never was)

The adamant manager, a Ms J, refusing to budge one inch (Customer satisfaction down the drain, pushing us to speak to her manager (At 2045, the last night of our Honeymoon).

The senior most manager then offered what was promised 3 hrs earlier.

The nightmare continued in the morning, Woken up by the call at 05 30 (rightfully for the 0615 pick up), but then to be obsessively hounded by the cleaners & the mini-bar checker within the next 20 minutes

A nightmare in a nutshell

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Siremss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

the beauty of this place will mesmerize you as soon as the speed boat reaches the pick up and drop point of the hotel right next to the diving training center, as you walk the planks towards the main reception the view of the pristine water and the fishing swimming along the shore is enough to keep you spell bound
the journey to heaven has just begun
the property had two main kinds of accommodations the first were cottages not more than one attached to a cottage and was roomy but the second option which i choose to stay at one night during the stay were the water bungalows which were situated right above the water as the name suggests which came with a extra money i had to pay for the upgrade , but were totally worth it
the breakfast , lunch and dinner buffets served were lavish and had absolutely everything one could ask for and the deserts served each day were mouth watering
the service of our permanent waiter was also very nice just one problem that we faced was that we had to purchase even the water at the resort as the drinking water was not served along with meals or in the rooms
the resort has a small in house water sports rental shop where in trainers were available for snorkeling - i enjoyed the jet ski driving and the snorkeling i did was the best experience ever of swimming as close as possible for a non swimmer to the fishes and the corals
they had a well stacked bar which had some or the other events on every night
the swimming pool though small was a nice neat and maintained one right next to the bar
it was the best night when i stayed at the water bungalow as it had a jacuzzi attached and the view of the ocean from my bed was absolutely amazing

Room Tip: try the water bungalows but beware of the costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelAlong1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and 1 day while waiting to transfer to our main resort (Moofushi)

We arrived late at night around 2am to find the music in the bar still blaring with 1 or 2 people in there drunkenly dancing around (the bar is open 24 hours!).

The room we were in was OK, a view of the water if you strained you eyes and quick access onto a white beach, that could have benefitted from a good clean.

Breakfast and dinner were acceptable, we didn't go hungry, and the beers at $5 a go were also acceptable.

There is a huge sea wall breaking the waves coming into the island that I understand is there as protection, so the unsightliness is understandable, but there is also a wall built around alot of one tip of the island, hiding the maintenance and rubbish I expect.

All in this was cheap, and if I had a long weekend in the Maldives I would rather stay here than nowhere, but there are better and similar prices options available in proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lankanfinolhu Island
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,697 reviews
17.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
4.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,263 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,476 reviews
8.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Address: 08420
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lankanfinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lankanfinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an island right in the middle of the Indian Ocean, with bright white beaches, a lagoon with multiple hues of blue and aquamarine and tall coconut palms swaying to the breeze. Who wouldn't want to be marooned on one? All the more, when all modern comforts and formal professional services that one would expect on a five star hotel come together with it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Paradise Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Hotel Lankanfinolhu Island
Paradise Island Resort Maldives
Paradise Island Maldives
Paradise Island Male
Paradise Island Resort & Spa Maldives/North Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing