We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad service.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is really beautiful, 4 stars. The room we had was really well decorated, had a great view, comfortable bed and alot of space. The only problem we had was the awful attention we had from the people who worked in the reception desk. They asked us if we had consumed something from the mini bar, and we told them we hadn't. The man in reception said it was okay. Five minutes later, another man came towards us and told us that we had consumed two drinks. I told him we didn't, once again. He went away and then came back and told us we had to pay 20 dollars. I told him he was wrong, but kept saying we had to pay. We ended up paying for something we had never taken from the mini bar, but I made sure this man understood that we wouldn't be lying for TWENTY DOLLARS. The problem was not the money, which was nothing, but I can't understand how a four star hotel can hire these people. We only stayed in the hotel for 6 hours, even though we payed for 1 night, which costed us 400 dollars that we payed in cash, and they made us so much trouble for 20 dollars! for something we never took from the room. Of course, it's was the first and last time I stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde_2189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    181
    170
    72
    55
See reviews for
78
214
37
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

You aren’t exactly spoilt for choice in Male particularly if you have odd departure times and need to stay near the airport as we did. Relatively expensive but we just had to bite the bullet and stayed for one night. A short distance and dare I say it walking distance with back packs or light luggage from the airport. Service and the rooms for adequate but this hotel does have a rather pleasant outdoor pool with alcohol - the only one on Male so we made good use of the facilities after a tiring journey from Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

So we were booked to stay here as a one night stop over, to catch the first morning sea plane over to Kuredu Island the next day. We had flown over from Sri Lanka, where we got married and so this was technically, the first night of our honeymoon.

So in complete contrast to the amazing hospitality we had received in Sri Lanka, this was not the greeting we were expecting. You can forget any welcome drink or cold towel, the first thing we were greeted by was a snotty receptionist man who, upon several attempts to find our reservation then practically demanded we go and sit down.

About 5-10 minutes later, this man then came over and told us, “I am afraid you are not booked in with us”

I then, a little bit shocked, showed him our reservation coupon (if that’s not proof then what is?) to which he replied, “I am sorry, if it is not on our system I cannot check you in”

This batting back and forth happened for quite some time, and then he said, well do you have someone you can ring? I gave him the number on our reservation coupon and said ring this! The reception man, basically laughed in my face and said it was a uk number and he didn’t want to ring it.

Getting more and more stressed out I said, I have the coupon and proof, it us up for you to sort this, demanded to see a manager who then came over, made a few calls to which the annoying man was still adamant, unless he received this mystery email he had not received, he would still not book us blah blah..

Anyway, about 30-45 minutes later, they found this “email” and we were booked in and very stressed out.

If it hadn’t been for horrid little front of house man, I am sure this hotel would have been really nice.

Situated in a really convenient location, Although I could hear the planes quite loud as we were a stone’s throw to the airport. The breakfast was really good, the free upgrade the other guy gave us for the inconvenience, was a great room (although there was a bit of a farty smell around the fridge)..

But yeh, if you want to work on reception and front of house, learn some customer service and for that, I would definitely not stay here again..

Horrid man.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatoDjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hulhule Island hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is a good option if you need a night prior to your transfer to a resort or to your livaboard dive boat. The rooms are comfortable and the buffet breakfast is very nice. The hotel fronts onto the ocean and is only 300 meters from the airport and there shuttle bus runs every 15min. The hotel also offers alcohol which we believe is limited to very few outlets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The only hotel i'll stay when i'm on business trip to Maldives. Great hotel and only hotel in Male island where you can get Alcohol Drinks. Easy and Free travels from Hotel to Male island and breakfast is simply great! Met Executive Chef Ravi and he was very friendly and knows his stuff well. Highly recommended for couples who is on transit or for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I am sure the new refurbished rooms are better but I stayed in #332 which was clean and comfortable.

Service was very good, from reception to stewarding and also the cooks behind the action stations.

The food was nothing to die for but I've had worse so can't complain.

The free internet in the lobby is painfully slow and I did buy their internet packages which definitely had greater bandwidth. Overall it was a pleasant stay and a glass of beer ( real beer not the non alcoholic) just is the perfect ending to a busy day.

Back next month!

Room Tip: Just go ahead and buy the internet package rather than stay at the lobby and wait for the pages to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Apart from expensive resorts this is the only open bar you will find anywhere in 2000 islands. So we stayed close to it and called it HIH, was easier I guess.
Warm beer they serves tasted like holy water, they had a promotion buy 4 get one free, was a house full which was their explanation for the warm beer.
Anyhow not like we had a choice . . . do pay a visit! time passes slowly on these islands I am sure u can fit it in your trip. And Maldives is not all that expensive as some would claim obviously if you wish to stay in a resort u'd spend $800-2000 but research well - spend ur $ wisely!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patialaroyalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhule Island
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
564 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Hulhumale
60 reviews
2.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Property: Hulhule Island Hotel
Address: PO Box 2118, 20030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing