We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced... Ouch my pillow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced... Ouch my pillow”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here around the christmas period for a few nights. On arrival reception was inviting and cool, with a warm welcome from the reception staff. Our rooms spacious and pleasant, with large corner bath and semi wet room area next to the bath for the shower, all very nice. Balcony which is aircraft spotters paradise, and can be noisy even with the doors closed. Good English tv selection available. Coffee, kettle and a large selection of really nice teas, and standard minibar drinks and snacks, which I didn't think were particularly overpriced (not when compared to Europe)..... But ooooh my - those pillows are so firm they could be used as boat buffers!!! Aircon works but noisy..!

Yes you can buy a beer in this hotel and the bar and pool bar are both very pleasant, as was the service provided by the staff. Drinks reasonable prices as was the food. Can't comment on the main restaurant as only ate in the bar, which was just ok....!

There is a regular complimentary ferry that takes you across to the Capitol. I would highly recommend this for dinner as we found some really nice places to eat, and was really good value, remember its dry so don't even ask..!

Breakfast on the 4th floor, great views of the sea and Male, good food selection and quality. They need to provide some water as well as juices at breakfast, I did ask for some sparkling water but was told I would be charged, And at $477 USD per night I thought that to be a bit of a p!$$ take!!!!!! And as I finish on the subject of charges, they do for the internet also, which I must add that is about as fast as my old dial-up from the late 90's during the day. Good news though if your suffering from jet lag and awake through the small hours of the morning, it is marginally better. Will never conference, Skype, or stream....! Don't pay the extra would be my advice there.

In summary it's an ok hotel but so overprice monopolising on a captive audience it's spoilt. There's better and cheaper options on Male itself.

Enjoy the Maldives...

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Needfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    183
    170
    73
    56
See reviews for
79
216
38
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were told by our travel agent that this hotel was pretty much the only one near the airport so we paid the over $400 per night for one night stay before we got on our boat. I have to say I was expecting a LOT more for that kind of money. I have never paid anywhere near that for a hotel room even in down town New York City. The hotel looks like a mid level chain hotel.

The lobby is attractive, but open air and terribly hot. Many people were sitting in this heat trying to get the incredibly slow wifi to connect.

The room was disappointingly small and the beds were tiny and very close together. Not even queen sized beds. I know it is tougher when 2 single guys are sharing a room, but I expected more space than that.

There was no balcony although you could see some of the ocean from the window.

The bathroom was OK. nothing great.

Thank God the air conditioner worked because the Maldives is HOT. The air conditioner was quite loud, but that was OK since my roommate snored anyway.

I got a surprise upon opening the closet. An open circuit box just sitting there with no cover or anything. Again, NOT what I would expect in a $400 hotel.

in room wi fi worked OK, but was $30 per day.

The pool is huge and you can actually swim laps. The beach is lame. maybe 60 feet of sand behind a sea wall. If you could wear blinders and not see the sea walls the sand was nice and it was probably better for kids and people not comfortable in the water, but not so much for me.

The gym is also huge and probably the best gym I have ever seen at a hotel anywhere. I was a little mad that the attendant made me walk all the way back to my room to put sneakers on even if I was just going to do weights.

The hotel grounds are pretty nice and there is a lot of green space.

The breakfast buffet was incredible. Probably the best thing about this hotel.

The hotel is very convenient if you are going to the airport since it is just a few blocks away.

Ordinarily, I would say the hotel rated 2-3 stars, but if you consider the over $400 I paid I would feel hard pressed to give more than 2 stars. I would have been disappointed if I had paid half as much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hulhule Island hotels

Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at HIH for one night and I must say at the end of my stay I was happy but I wouldn't stay for more than a day. The hotel is big and spacious which is nice. It has a very nice pool but the beach is nothing close to what you see on postcards. Staff were helpful and friendly. I did face an awkward situation when I first reached, TWICE! When I checked in, I was given a room on the second floor and as I opened the door, I found out that someone was in the room. I went down to the reception and they apologized and gave me another room on the 3rd floor. So i put my key in and open the door and there is another person in the room! A bit upset I went down to the reception and complained yet again. They were really surprised this time and to make things better they upgraded me which made me very very happy! I got a room that has direct access to the beach and was able to see marvelous sunsets and sunrises! The room is big and the bathroom is too. The bed is super comfortable and you have a great choice of pillows to pick from. The room was very clean.
My room was paid for by my company so I don't know how much it costed. I paid for my food and drinks and although many say it was expensive, I found it ok. A beer cost $6, a buffet cost $38. Sodas and juices are on the expensive side but at which hotel aren't they? For dinner I had a fish dish for $18, the next day a colleague had a tuna sandwich for $12 and nachos for $11.50. So generally, I didn't find the hotel expensive.
If you are staying there on a Friday, be prepared to have also everything closed (not the hotel but other services like boats and the main island). We couldn't find a boat to take to the other islands for the day because it was Friday. The hotel has complimentary boat rides to Male every hour or so but on Fridays they only start at 14.15pm. On Male island most of the shops are closed on Fridays and restaurants too, but you'll find a couple of souvenir shops here and there.
Overall, the duration I spent there was enough for this island so if you are spending any more time, either book a hotel on another island or plan to visit another island for the day. There are plenty of packages to choose from either from the hotel itself, or from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with direct access to the beach. Worth it for those lovely sunsets and sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsoueidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only stayed one night at HIH. It has a pleasant lobby and the rooms are a good size, however, being a non-smoker I was disappointed at how much I noticed that our room was a smoker's room... I don't believe they have non-smoking rooms, but I didn't check specifically (guess I should have). Our room was well appointed and clean, we had a view of the bay and the gardens on the 3rd floor, the A/C worked very well (and helped eliminate the heavy odor of stale cigarettes), and it was quiet. We were traveling with a group of 12 and we all had dinner in the wine cafe. The service was good, but at times a bit slow... island time. Food was very good and served at the right temperature. If you didn't want to pay to have wi-fi in your room, you could get a "code" and sit in the lobby or the cafe... this was quite a nuisance for us and for the staff... they should just make the wi-fi access available without the hassle... (imho).

After our 10-day dive trip we returned to Hulhule for the day while waiting for our 11:00pm flight to Dubai. They had "package" deals that you could purchase for the pool, with lunch and or dinner and other options and if they weren't suitable they were very good about personalizing a package for you. I opted to just get a wi-fi package with dinner at the upstairs restaurant. They have a lovely spa on site, so I spent some quality time there, I thought I had booked a double session for my husband and I; when we arrived they could only take one of us. I had a Balinese massage and it was very therapeutic and relaxing.

Our dinner in the newly renovated restaurant was good to very good, not outstanding. There were 12 of us dining together and they did a great job of getting our meals out almost all at the same time. The wait staff was very attentive, and they have a nice wine/beer selection and limited alcohol offerings.

Room Tip: if you're a non-smoker inquire about non-smoking rooms else you'll have a room that has a he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I frequently stay at the Hulhule Island Hotel, and I always have a great time there. If you are staying in the "new wing" the rooms are very nice and modern. Spacious rooms, breathtaking views, and most of the amenities the business traveller requires. The older rooms are adequate, but would benefit from a makeover. The hotel staff in general are very friendly and professional. The rooftop restaurant is very nice, however bring a jumper, cause they run the AC at sub zero temperatures. It is hard to compare this hotel to the modern airport hotels, cause it lacks so many things compared to those, but this hotel has a bit of an edge a bit of soul and that is often worth so much more. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to the vacationer, this is for people who needs to be in the vicinity of the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Great restaurants and Sports Bar serving beers and spirits.
Large outdoor full size swimming pool and separate children's pool. Full bar service and pizza bar at poolside. Seperate ocean breakwater for swimming in seawater

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigertraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were staying in Male hotel as not aware about this hotel. Met up with manager in restaurant who helped us a lot in getting the room.service staff was extra courteous specially in bar and poolside .we enjoyed night event at bar with promotion beer and sizzler at poolside restaurant. Rooms were nice and neatly cleaned ,buffet breakfast view was very good from 4th floor restaurant. Hotel has many sports activities but due to less time could not enjoy much. Price wise quite reasonable when you compare to other 5 star resorts.

Hotel offered complimentary wi fi in restaurant and drop at airport .

Really amazing experience!!!

Keep it up

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhule Island
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,719 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Property: Hulhule Island Hotel
Address: PO Box 2118, 20030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing