We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““"Ok" for day use”” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hulhule Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Male
1 review
““"Ok" for day use””
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

its a budget hotel only good if you are there for a day or max two .. location good but rooms are very small & average .. services are very poor .. breakfast was bad , very bad .. you can opt for other better hotel option in male city

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    179
    165
    68
    54
See reviews for
76
213
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Been there many times. Best thing about this place is the location. It's situated on the airport itself and they have a frequent shuttle bus service to take you to the international and domestic terminals. The other plus point is, this is the only transit hotel where you can enjoy alcoholic beverages. According to Maldivian law, alcohol is not permitted in the islands inhabited by the locals, because of that reason non of the other transit hotels in Male' or Hulhumale' serve alcoholic beverages. It's an over priced, tired hotel but good enough for a short transit. They have a small pool, a little patch of artificial beach protected by a sea wall, good gym and spa. As everything else here food and beverages are also over priced but comparatively better than most local restaurants in Male'. Airplane noise could be a nuisance if you are not used to it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not so great, it's just okay!
You have free wifi in the lobby and you have to logging every time you use it. Food is good. They have a nice artificial beach and a volleyball pitch. The swimming pool and restaurants/bar are good!
You have a free ferry taking you to the city Malé!
There was a smell in the room which I didn't like! Not bad but irritating weird smell! And you can hear the shuttle bus door opening and closing every now and then from the room (which was disturbing).
Overall my experience was okay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Flying in from Hong Kong, we needed a decent place to stay by the airport so we could catch our seaplane the next morning. This was hands down the best choice, albeit the only choice, of a hotel next to the airport. Our flight landed at eight something in the evening and we were a bit tired after the six hour flight and the last thing we wanted was to board a speed boat to the main island in the dark ocean (no amazing views to see).

Therefore, we choose HulHule and we were so glad we did. The hotel is a bit dated and huge, with lots of air crew staying the night, but it had everything you would need--food and a pool to relax in after a long flight. The prices were a bit expensive, for what you are paying for, but it's worth the hassle of another mode of transportation. We were upgraded to the deluxe room by the front desk and our room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy and we had a great night's rest before our 5:00 AM seaplane. The hotel also offers free transfers to the airport (only a 5 minute drive away) which makes it super convenient. Only drawback i would say is that wifi is only available in the lobby, the rest of the areas are chargeable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvbunbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Every bit of the Maldives is a piece of heaven on the earth with its mesmerizing white sand beaches, blue sea, rare species of marine flora, fauna and ornate resorts. Hulhule Island Hotel is one such piece in the middle of the Arabian Sea. The hotel is located on Hulhule island, which is connected to the Male International Airport through a narrow strip of land surrounded by water from all sides. It faces the sea almost on three sides and has a natural swimming pool. I luckily had a room on the ground floor from where I could step onto the white sand beach and then the pool. I had a great time inside the pool. The place comes alive at night as you can see ships with their beautiful pattern of lights anchoring at the nearby port. It is just walking distance from the airport and well connected with the Male city and exclusive resort islands that dot the archipelago. The food at the hotel is great, so is it service and other facilities. The Maldives is a must see and Hulhule Island Hotel is a place your must stay. It is close yet a distance away from the congested Male city island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerArshadKhatlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Really the only positive with this hotel is that it is the only hotel that you don't have to take a boat to. But honestly the ferry ride to Male is frequent, cheap and convenient and for our next visit to the maldives there is no way we will ever stay here again .
Like other reviewers I found the reception staff rude and unhelpful, the wifi charges of $30 per 24 hours are ridiculous, the rooms even the deluxe option are at best average (we stayed 3 nights, 2 at the start of our holiday and 1 at the end) and the room at the start was ok but at the end it was dirty, the tv didn't work and neither did the internet. I'm not even sure the staff at the pool side bar are still breathing and don't expect to get good service or a smile or any other type of interaction and as has been mentioned by others I found the hotel greatly over priced in all aspects for the service and standard of accommodation you will receive.
On the positive side they do have a good shuttle bus service to the airport and boat service to Male so getting away from the hotel is no problem but if you have ANY other choice I would stay somewhere else!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Awal1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hulhule Island hotels

kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

* rude front desk staff , most of them dont bother to look at you wheb u talk or smile at them
* not willing to help
*nobody smiles
*only gym staff smile n is helpful
*sticky floor
*dirty bedsheets that gives me itches
*rat running around at the pool side
*lousy food

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jules87-928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhule Island
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
1.6 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhule Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhule Island Hotel

Property: Hulhule Island Hotel
Address: PO Box 2118, 20030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhule Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulhule Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulhule Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hulhule Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hulhule Island
Hulhule Island Male
Hulhule Island Hotel Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing