We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place To Stay”
Review of Ue Datu Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ue Datu Cottages
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The previous article ( Erwin852) sums up the place perfectly. A warm welcome from the moment of arrival to the point that you leave. Well fitted (small) rooms with new bathrooms, hot water, a kettle etc. A pleasant relaxing dining area, where breakfast is carefully served.
Free bycycles provided and rental of motor bikes arranged for you. A good location on the othre side of the river overlooking the busier town side.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexlol-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The best service we've had in Sulawesi. The manager/caretaker Eli is really doing a big effort to try to help all her guests (thanks!!). She can help with all kinds of questions and tries to make everybody feel a bit at home. Everything is very clean and well kept.
The breakfast is good, with toast, egg, coffe/tea and fresh fruit in the outside breakfast area close to the river/lakeside.
We stayed here a few more days than planned before to visit the Lore Lindu NP.
Nearby waterfall is 30 minute ride by rented motorbike (120.000 IDR) and a nice destination if you plan to stay here 1 day in between Togean Islands and Toraja.
Deluxe room (275.000 IDR) has private bathroom, basic accomodation has shared bathroom.
Further transport from/to Tentena or Rantepao can be booked here as well (if you're lucky you can arrange discounted transport with a private car returning to Ampana or Rantepao after dropping off his customers).

Definitively a recomendation!

Room Tip: Deluxe room (275.000 IDR) has private bathroom Basic accomodation has shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

nice breakfast.. rooms are clean.. nice view of lake.. good breakfast.. elly is very friendly and looks after guests really well. loved walking back from town at night watching the fire flies.. if you go over the walking bridge hang a right.. theres a really good place to eat a couple of hundred metres down the street.. its lit with neon lights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A really nice place ho stay. We stay here for three nights and feel home because of the very clean rooms, the rest in he evening, nice food andere of course he warm welcome feeling the manager Elly gives is. Really recommanded!!

Room Tip: We took the superior with own bathroom. Splendid. Tip: no airco but ask the fan, when you think your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anad145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Hay-les-Roses, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Very nice place in Tentena, with wonderful owner Eli. Rooms are nice, with a perfecly clean bathroom. Eli can organize your rent for motorbike, give you a map, advise you good local restaurant (fish from the lake)... We should have stay more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The stay at Ue Datu C. was amazing: very nice rooms with hot shower, wireless, water for free, a nice veranda with a direct view on to the lake, a nice restaurant above a fish pond, excellent breakfast (eggs any style you want, toast, jam, peanutbutter, chocolate spread, etc., coffee or tea, fresh fruit and so on...). You can expect a quiet environment which is nice. But what really makes this place unique is its manager Ellie: she makes you feel at home, nothing seems to be too much for her: she organized us a scooter, got us a map to find the waterfall (gorgeous!!) and the white beach at Lake Poso, she sent us two motorbike drivers to pick us up from the bus station and when I got sick, she drove me to the hospital and to a doctor, translated everything for me and cooked porridge, soup, tea for three days until I eventually got better! I couldnt believe how much I was taken care of by her! If I come back to Tentena, I definitely will stay at Ue Datu Cottages

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We decided to break up the journey from Rantepao to the Togean Islands with a stop over in Tentena. Most people go all the way to Poso, but a few people suggested stopping here. We arrived at the junction 12 ½ hours after leaving Rantepao, at 10pm, in the pouring rain. There were ojeks (motorbikes) waiting for us. They are there every night to take people the 3km into town. We had made prior arrangements through Agoda with Ellie to let her know we were coming and to reserve a room. We were welcomed like family, shown a beautiful clean new room and relaxed on the verandah. There is a hot water maker in each room and complimentary coffee, tea and water. Breakfast was included and Ellie would prepare it when we were hungry. There are no formal restaurants in Tentena so if you would like a meal Ellie can prepare it for you. During high season the restaurant is always open. We spent a day motor biking around the area and taking in the beautiful landscape and wonderful people. Ellie also arranged our onward travel to Ampana. Instead of public buses we were able to negotiate a good rate for a private vehicle that was heaven after the 13-hour bus journey the day before. We will miss Ellie and her hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ue Datu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ue Datu Cottages

Property: Ue Datu Cottages
Address: Jalan Ue datu 92-93, Tentena 94663, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Tentena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tentena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ue Datu Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ue Datu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing