We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a perfect place for people who are not quite backpackers, but not quite rich enough to stay in the more expensive accomodation. 74 a night for a standard double room that has a shared kitchen and shared bathroom. In our case there was noone in the other room so we had the whole place to ourselves. They do have bunks, delux doubles and studio rooms aswell Large bedroom with towels, endtables, mirror, and an area to hang some of your clothes. Queen bed. Not a great location about 1.5 from the main area. No problem if you have a car. If you are looking for quiet this is the place. Common area is very small. Staff was friendly. Negatives no free wifi, no mirror in bathroom, and we had one lightbulb out. Water in shower would get hot, but not steaming hot. It was fine for me but I could see some people wanting a little hotter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar8Gladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Good quiet cabins. Cooking and bathroom facilities usually shared between two couples but we were on our own which was nice. Pool needs work and could provide some more facilities for guests. Not in the main part of Airlie so have to walk about 2km to get there. The walk is very nice but wouldn't want to do it every day. They do provide shuttle too though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark4958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

cute little cabins for double rooms, complete with kitchen, bathroom and beds. The write-up said that there was transportation available and free breakfast but we were there in early March and neither was available. It was supposed to be family-run, but the staff member we interacted with was a bit different and hard to communicate with.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenndods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Three of us stayed here in a triple room couple of nights before and after sailing in Whitsundays. The main thing for us was 3 single beds and air-con. We found that being OK. The room was spacious and clean although a bit worn-out and ants, spiders and small lizards were keeping us company time to time (no cockroaches tho):) Keeping in mind that we were in tropical area and "Bush Village" it was totally fine! You have palm trees around and coconuts. So you just go outside your cabin, find one, make a hole and now you can sip coconut milk :) We found it being really cool :) I'm not sure if they have BBQ places but we found few just on the other side of the road.
The place is about 15 minutes walk to city center or you can take a bus. Staff is really friendly - one of the guys offered us a ride as he was going to Airlie, another let us have a room till 4pm on check out with not extra charge!
Thank you guys! Will see you if we are back in Airlie someday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Firstly they confirmed one price on the phone and then in person and just as we were to leave we found they had authorised our credit card with another value (more obviously), we were in a rush for our plane so we had little time to argue. They also put the transaction through days earlier without our authorisation - i call this fraud!!

We were charged hotel prices yet had to a) wash outrown dishes and return them to our bedroom (??), b) be up for a ridiculous 7am breakfast of nasty burnt "muffins" c) change our own linen. Yet they supposedly "service our rooms" daily. Please explain. if this is a down and dirty hostel pls charge accordingly

The place is shabby and dirty and house-keeping non-existent

The "Managers" are couple who, when they stop snogging and groping eachother (gross)
do little more than cross-sell their boat trips. They moan about other clients, don't keep their word re prices confirmed until after it is too late (get everything in writing), and make stupid statements such as "breakfast is so early because it's convenient for us!!!". Nice "management" and "customer service" style!!

They are located off the main drag so you'll be able to sleep but you have to wait for the shuttle to do anything or resort to expensive cabs!! Plus they only come hourly and not in the evenings so you're stuck. if you come in a busy period good luck because they don't do double shifts. The driver was always complaining about the place too! Says it all!

Really not sure what the "management" do nor why the Lonely Planet recommended it. Obviously they have lower standards in Oz than elsewhere their books are published (i always use the Lonely Planet and always happy

DON'T GO THERE!!!!! We returned a few weeks later and chose an amazing place called "waterfront apts". It ticked all the boxes and GREAT service!!

Room Tip: Don't go!! Save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlessummerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here over Christmas, and while the staff are very friendly, it's not a great place. For a start it's too far away and the walk is over two massive hills on a busy main road. There is a bus service but it was often late. Cabins are very mediocre, not been updated for years and years. Internet was way over priced at $1 every 10 minutes. No need to charge this much. Decent little pool and breakfast was good enough, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masonary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed here for two nights in a double room.
The room was excellent, with all the necessary facilities. It looks new! The bathroom was so nice!
There's a little patio so you can eat outside under a palm tree!
There's a very nice free breakfast with toast, jam, warm muffin or cereal. Great!!!
The location is about 1 km from town but there is a boardwalk along the ocean to town, a nice walk. 'Coles' is nearby, that's an advantage.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applewoman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
1.7 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#18 of 56 in Airlie Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.0 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Village Budget Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Village Budget Cabins

Address: 2 St Martins Rd, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cannonvale
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bush Village Budget Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Village Budget Cabins are set in tropical palm lined gardens with a variety of accommodation options depending on the budget. There are Self Contained 4/5 shared cabins for the budget conscious through to our Deluxe Studios with kitchenette or King Studios with no kitchen for couples and Deluxe & Standard 2 bedroom Family cabins. Judy Elliott and Bryan O'Sullivan are on-site owner/managers of the business and welcome their guests as extended family. An in-house Whitsunday Tour Booking Office is available for all Whitsundays and Great Barrier Reef tours. Facilities include swimming pool, coin laundry, communal kitchen/ lounge area. Free WiFi is available in the communal kitchen/lounge & pool area. Free off road parking and Bush Village is a short walk to Whitsunday Shopping Centre with Coles Supermarket and also a short walk to the beautiful Cannonvale Beach.Please note - we have no parking for boats, trailers, campervans or caravans ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bush Village Budget Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing