We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home and wonderful hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Airlie Arthouse unique experience.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Airlie Arthouse unique experience.
Airlie Arthouse Main living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Airlie Arthouse unique experience.
Airlie Arthouse
Main living area.
Guest Queen bedroom
Guest main bathroom.
Guest Queen bedroom.
Guest Queen bedroom.
Marble floored entry.
Glass edge pool
Pool by night.
Fantastic valley views.
Media room leather lounge.
Main lounge to relax.
Main bathroom.
Extensive Art collection.
Beautiful sunsets.
Gourmet kitchen.
Fantastic valley views.
Main bedroom.
Main bathroom.
Large verandah to soak up the valley views.
Cathy in the Gallery.
Intricate carved sugar flowers.
Dine at night by the pool.
Unique Rainforest green marble slab entry floor.
Outside pool gazebo.
Weber BBQ in gazebo.
Outside dining.
Rainbow Cassia flowering in the garden.
Produce from our orchard.
Great sunsets and star gazing.
One of our locals.
Main guest bathroom.
Built in library.
Art and Art Deco.
Art Deco lamps.
Gallery entrance sign.
World class pottery.
Garden art.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
C T
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Tom and Cathy were the best hosts! Their home is beautiful and they are so accommodating. We only wish we could stayed longer, but we' were only there overnight and didn't get to enjoy everything their home offers. The best part of staying here is Tom and Cathy... Just like being with family you adore!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The hosts! Bass the dog!
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - book this place while you can”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The trouble with reviewing this lovely house is that every other reviewer thinks the same as we do: Cathy and Tom are wonderful hosts, the house is as stunning as the photos, and we had a truly wonderful time with friends we had just met. We stayed overnight in early December and again in late December, and won't look for a different place in the future unless Cathy and Tom are booked out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome. ”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Well from the moment we arrived we were made to feel soo welcome. What an incredible house and love seeing your art room Cathy.
Was amazing hearing all your stories. And so enjoyed our evening outside with bottle of wine.
We have to come to regard you both as friends. Such a warm couple and nothing is to much trouble. It's a five star establishment with five star owners.
Miss you both already. Hope your trip to McKay goes well.
Loads loads loads love hugs and kisses. Keep in touch. Were an hour away from noosa. Thank you from bottom of our hearts for what I can only call the best time ever. Xx X. Xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquirs
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Who cares about the weather when you can stay here?”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow wow wow!
When I first saw this on tripadvisor I was soooo excited at the prospect of staying here. We had our trip organised for months and a place in Airlie Beach already organised but then I saw the Arthouse and am so glad we swapped.
We landed at Proserpine early on Thursday morning, it was very cloudy and grey, we headed into Airlie to check things out and the heavens opened. Not a great start to the promised land of The Whitsundays! We mooched around and dodged the rain until we could check in, stopping for some lunch at Banjos pub on the way.
When we arrived it the weather had cleared up we were greeted by Tom and Base the dog. The house was everything and more I had seen on the photos, the pool the views, the open concept, the rooms, everything was perfect. Tom was extremely welcoming and then we met his wife Kathy and instantly felt at home with everyone.
We chatted outside over coffee for a while, and then we headed off to get provisions - the house is about 10 mins from the nearest shopping such as Woolies a butcher, bakery and so on.
When we got back Kathy invited us to share their meal which was unexpected, it led to a wonderful chatty evening where we shared experiences over a wee drop of wine.
The whole experience was very relaxed, we came and went as we pleased, Tom and Kathy were keen to share ideas on where to go and what to see and we were also encouraged just to hang around and share the house.
We didn't fare well with the weather, but made the best of it, we got around in our car and enjoyed the views where we could.
We were due to go on a sailing trip to Whitehaven Beach on the Saturday but it was cancelled so we hung out some more in Airlie and at the house, I enjoyed swimming in the pool, even the dog came in for a dip at one point.
On the Sunday of our stay it was the Bathurst 1000, my husband had been planning to find a bar to watch it in, when Tom appeared a day before wearing a t-shirt indicating he was a petrol head, so a plan was hatched for the boys to drink beer and watch the race, and for us to enjoy Sunday lunch together, we bought the lamb and Tom bbq'd it splendidly. Although again the day was not brilliant on the weather front I spent it in and around the pool relaxing which after a hectic 3 weeks was much needed. After the race and a late lunch we enjoyed a beautiful sunset in the pool.
We finally got to take our sailing trip on the Tuesday and again unexpectedly Kathy invited us to share a meal with them - our last night (boo hoo)
The following morning we had to leave reasonably early on a long drive further north, we truly did not want to go. Base our ever present dog friend was not impressed, in fact she sulked, refused to look at us and hid under the table. We were very sad to leave, we felt very much at home, we truly enjoyed spending time with our hosts and sharing their home. A longer stay is on the agenda especially if there is a promise of some decent weather!
The last word would have to be thank goodness for crappy weather, we got to relax and enjoy and if it had been brighter we'd have been out more so maybe that was meant to be. Thanks Tom, Kathy and Base new friends to become old friends we hope!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisRebe...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, fantastic hosts, beautiful house and position”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tom and Cathy could not have done more for us. We had a great evening sitting outside on the veranda eating dinner and chatting about their and our travels. Art collection is very special. We would thoroughly recommend to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPetalu...
Petaluma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly unique visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate to have stayed at the art house and to have as our hosts, Tom and
Cathy. Their home is beautiful, with great views, comfortable quarters, and sits a short
distance from the beach. Simply stated, a great value in a beautiful spot.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxing”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely people, great conversation, relaxing environment, eclectic taste, fantastic art, fresh home grown fruit and a very pattable dog. Will definately stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing