We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Achalochan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Achalochan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ose B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent four nights here and could not fault it in anyway. We were met by Kenny upon our arrival who showed us around. We had booked the family room which was really spacious with plenty of storage and a fantastic en-suite. The room was furnished and decorated to a really high standard and the whole B & B was immaculately clean. We met Karan at breakfast which was either a continental or a full Scottish breakfast both of which were excellent along with tea coffee and juice.
Kenny & Karan were very friendly and helpful and we were reluctant to have to leave we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Karen and Kenny were perfect hosts - we loved this place. The room was perfect and breakfast was great. Their dogs will even join you when you go for a walk. This is hands down the best b&b we have ever stayed at. I cant say enough good things about this place. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Sometimes it's the small things that make the difference - sockets on both sides of the bed, gorgeous view, biscuits & hot chocolate in the room, memory foam mattress, very spacious rooms ...
Definitely a recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baertierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at Achalochan one night on our recent trip to Skye. Great location for a variety of explorations including the drive out to the Neist Point Lighthouse - a must do if you are in the area. This was one of our favorite places we stayed in our recent 5 week UK visit. Hosts were very welcoming and super down to earth! Facility in its rural location was terrific. Not many places can you see the Cuilins and the ocean out the windows. If you need somewhere to stay near Dunvegan stay here and you'll experience Scottish hospitality at its finest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STG650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Absolutely fabulous b&b finished to the highest standard with modern rooms an excellent power shower and the comfiest bed I have ever slept in! We had a lovely welcome from Kenny the owner and his dogs Domino & Nemo who made a lasting impression on the kids. (and we soon realised they also liked jam doughnuts) :) Free wifi and an excellent cooked breakfast in the morning....staying at Achalochan was the perfect start to our holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The absolute best stay we had in Scotland was here at Achalochan House B&B

Plush, modern rooms - very large w/ huge, comfy bed & sofa w/ decor of silky maroons & browns; state of the art bathrooms / electric shower / checkerboard black & white decor w/ red accents

TV w/ loads of channels and FREE WiFi

Out in the common area, you'll find more sofas, tv & kitchen area - although you'll definitely want to explore the town's delightful restaurants

Huge, picture windows look out onto sheep paddocks, fields of heather & the beauty of Skye in all its rugged glory

Breakfast was incredible - all local produce & meats....you get whatever you'd like from eggs, haggis, blood sausage, veggie sausage, cereals, porridge....the list goes on & on

Owners were wonderful & provided great stories about the area, recommendations where to eat, best scenic route to drive to our next destination

Super-nice doggies will come to greet you as you drive up, carrying their little rubber toys - adorable! We wanted to take them home with us!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

How many times have our family planned a day out on the Isle of Skye, only to face a very long tiring journey back home ? Not this time. This year we decided to spend a few days on the Isle of Skye at Achalochan House. The views all around the house are stunning. You have sea views on one side of Achalochan, and at the back, gorgeous views across the countryside with various horses grazing. You can smell the sea air and spot the Cuillin Mountains in the distance. Kenny (and his two dogs) made us feel extrememly welcome on our first visit, and as we walked in the lounge / dining area, we were greeted again with the attractive sea views. Our family of four chose a double room (which had its own private shower / spacious bath tub) and a twin room for our children. The bedrooms were immaculate and the memory foam beds were very comfortable. As vegans, Kenny provided a lovely cooked breakfast following fruit cereals and toast. With full stomachs, we explored the northern part of the Isle including Dunvegan Castle, The Storr Mountains, Trotternish (overlooking the sea and the Ben Nevis mountains on the other side), Duntulm Castle remains, then down to the Cuillin Mountains, watching the sun set at Engel. Great accommodation, great food and hopefully we will return in the warmer months ! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. The family room looks over to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlEc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ose
8.5 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
29.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Duisdale House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
66 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achalochan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achalochan House

Property: Achalochan House
Address: ose, Ose IV56 8FJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ose
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are all en-suite with a large shower and have a faux leather bed with memory foam mattress, sky tv/dvd, central heating,free wi-fi, soft seating, hair dryer, alarm clock and nice sea/mountain views. Our guest lounge has sky tv/dvd, sea/mountain views and patio doors onto a balcony with seating. We have secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Achalochan House Ose, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing