We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little tired”
Review of Arrowrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arrowrock Lodge
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a little tired”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

we stayed here to attend a wedding in September and for the price the room was ok. The shower was very small however there was plenty of room in the bathroom for both me and my other half to get ready in the morning.

I agree with the previous poster that the communal areas are a little tired and it was a nightmare to try and find after a long journey.

On the whole I would probably not stay here again, but that might be because I am not cut out for Hostel stays

Room Tip: beautiful views from the lawn
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The welcome of the owner, Craig, was really warm and friendly. The room was good and we had a great view of the lake from room 1. The place is very large and we found the communal areas to be a bit run down, and with so few people about when we were (early-mid Sept) it was slightly eerie. For 80 euro for 2 nights though you can't complain and it's a decent stay for the money- would probably look a bit wider if I was staying in the area again, but wouldn't have a problem with staying here again in future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brightondp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I found my stay in this hostel to be very relaxing with great facilities for fishing.
This being my second year in Arrowrock hostel I was extremely impressed with the fly fishing.
I would recommend this hostel for all fly fishermen.
My regards Frank

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is my second time here. It was very good last time, but now it's better. Clean, well maintained, beautiful views, very friendly and helpful staff - the owners are really incredible, and a great location. It ranks as one of my favourite hostels of all times. You can stay here for 3 or 4 days like head-quarter and visit the area by car. In less than 30 minutes you can visit lakes, incredible tombs, forests, waterfalls and much more. I specially love ride my bike and visit places that in guides or maps you cannot find.

Room Tip: 1(double en-suit),2 and 3(singles),4(share) they all have beautiful views of Arrow lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here after a wedding at the Cromleach Lodge. Don't be put off by the hostel name as the views from the room that we stayed in was fantastic, no exaggeration - see photo. Room was tidy and clean with en suite and powerful shower.

Owners were very friendly and chatty, happy to help out and offer handy lift back to Cromleach to pick up car! Thanks!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Placed a few meters from Lough Arrow's shore, Arrowrock hostel is a lovely place near Boyle town. Craig and Mary, owners of the hostel, are a kind and funny couple; they've welcomed me when i've arrived there. I've been in a 5 mixed room with bath, very comfortable. There is a nice livingroom with fireplace and a spacious kitchen that you can use to cook yourown food. Inside the hostel there is a bar/pub where you can see tv, play tablepool and a minibar from which you can take (paying few euro) beers and other kind of drinks. By car in 10 minutes you can reach Boyle, little town where you can find suprmarkets, pubs and cafè (there is a nice one on river).
From the hostel within 15 minutes you can reach different place as Carrowkeel (ancient neolitic tombs, completely free where you can see an amazing panorama) and Lough Key's forest park (awesome), and within 30 min. of car you can reach Sligo.
At the hostel you can rent bikes and boat to enjoy lake.
In front the hostel, in the garden, you can sit to enjoy country air (obviously when rain allows it).
Around the hostel country landscape is awesome. Craig has given me a lot of advises about places to visit. I spent great time there. If you will pass in this side of the green island you have to visit it and meet them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Perfect place to relax and visit the contryside. Maybe it's old but it is in perfect conditions.

The owners, Mary and Craig, are marvellous. They are very kind and they are always helping guests.

They have two bikes to rent, as a bike lover I really recomend the two routes riding arround the lakes Arrow and Key.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynary
2.0 mi away
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
11.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
18.9 mi away
Silver Eel B&B
Silver Eel B&B
#1 of 2 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Coopershill House
Coopershill House
#1 of 1 in Riverstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowrock Lodge

Property: Arrowrock Lodge
Address: Lough Arrow | Nr Castlebaldwin, Ballynary, Ireland (Formerly Arrowrock Hostel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballynary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ballynary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ArrowRock Hostel stands on the shores of Lough Arrow,an area of great natural beauty renowned for its lakes, megalithic tombs and ancient Celtic Mythology.Situated on the Sligo / Roscommon border, ArrowRock Hostel dates back to 1700's and has been an Inn, a Hunting Lodge and now continues to welcome guests in the 21st century as a modern Hostel.From chilling out to seeking adventure there's lots tosee and do in this unique part of the West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing