We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Tigh-na-Mara B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caroy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh-na-Mara B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Caroy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Tigh Na Mara with Nan and Ted who welcomed us in to their home and made us feel so comfortable. We had endured an awful experience at what was meant to be a 4 star hotel in Broadford where we had no water so Nan and Ted s fantastic shower felt like bliss. Views are fantastic, food brilliant and a very comfortable room where our Westie dog Nevis was made to feel welcome too. We enjoyed Ted and Nans stories at breakfast and didnt want to leave. We will definately make
Tigh Na Mara first choice of accommodation next time we are in Skye and look forward to seeing them both again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACKS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 23 October 2009

The best B&B on our tour. Nan and Ted are one of the loveliest couples in whole Scotland!
Nice little House with a very nice view. And not to far away from the tourist rip offs ;)

I love it and i promise, we will come back!!!!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank JanM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed in Skye with Ted & Nan for only one night but can't recommend their home highly enough. They are both such lovely & interesting people and make you instantly feel welcome. Our 2 boys ( 4 & 11) loved their stay here and wanted to stay longer. We would definitely stay here again if we ever returned and wish Nan & Ted all the best & thank you !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhouseofboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The owners were unavailable due to unforeseen circumstances, but rather than cancelling, they made alternative arrangements so that we could still stay. They really didn't have to do this, but is was very much appreciated. We were travelling with a dog, and the room was perfect - very clean and comfortable for us, and plenty of room for his bed. The hot and powerful shower was also very welcome after a long day in the Cuillins. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roos1ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This is an amazing little B&B and i cant wait to go back!!

You feel so at home and so do the kids!

Ted & Nan, this is there home but they really make it yours too! I woke up on 1 morning of our stay to find the kids in the living room with Nan watching Ice Age!!

They love kids and they make them so welcome.

Rooms are not en-suite but are clean and comfortable, bathroom is clean.

Ted & Nan really value the people tha stay with them and make you so welcome!!!!

I cant wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonders123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tigh-na-Mara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-na-Mara B&B

Address: 2/3 Caroy, Caroy IV56 8FQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Caroy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caroy
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-na-Mara, means ‘house by the sea.’ A warm Highland welcome awaits you. Good dogs welcome too. Price includes full Scottish breakfast or some vegetarian. All rooms have loch and mountain views: 1 double, 1 twin bedded room. Guest-only toilet bathroom and shower (sorry we have no en-suite). Lounge with loch and mountain views, TV, DVD, CD, books and games. Rooms are centrally heated, have tea and coffee making facilities. Hairdryer and iron on request. Large hillside garden/ patio/picnic area, off-street parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing