We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous honeymoon destination”
Review of Finca Malvasia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masdache
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca Malvasia
Ranked #1 of 1 Masdache B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous honeymoon destination”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Finca Malvasia as part of our honeymoon in April 2014. We LOVED our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. The Finca is in a beautiful and remote location - peace and quiet with amazing views and sunsets. Our villa was beautifully decorated and thoughtfully kitted out. We especially loved being able to use the BBQ and sit outside in the evenings. It is a perfect place to relax and Richard and Tarnya are such friendly and knowledgable hosts. Make sure you check out their restaurant 'Grillen' during your stay - fabulous. Thank you for an amazing stay - we're already hatching plans for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_T_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    17
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
71
72
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I absolutely loved my time at Finca Malvasia - I will be back! The house is brilliantly positioned to get anywhere on the island and I adore the landscape of the vineyards and volcanoes – the black set against the blue of the sky and the whiteness of the Cesar Manrique buildings – stunning! The weather was mixed – but always will be at that time of year…actually another thing I like – bracing winds make adventuring out exciting! I could also very happily have not moved from my apartment at all. The pool and surroundings are delightful and peaceful. I managed hours on a poolside chair reading books :) Richard and Tarnya were around at all the right times to give any advice. AND the icing on the cake was morning yoga with Lucie. I truly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My wife, 3 year old and 1 year old have just returned from a wonderful week at Finca Malvasia. The apartment was comfortable and provided everything we needed, with an excellent BBQ area by the poolside and friendly service and advice from Richard, Tarnya and Wendy at all times. The perfect place to relax and explore the island. Thoroughly recommended for a great family holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finca-Malvasia, Owner at Finca Malvasia, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Matt.

Thank you of your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience here at Finca Malvasia and hope we can welcome you and your family here again in the future.

Great to meet you all and thanks again!

Richard, Tarnya & Joss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Finca Malvasia in February 2014 with our 2 year old daughter. We found it a disappointing experience:

- For the first few days we were very cold (in the winter, morning and evening temps get down to 10-12 degrees celcius in this area of the island). There is no central heating and the electric heaters supplied were not powerful enough to do the job. A warning would have been appreciated (bring slippers and warm pajamas). The wood burner helped but wasn't sufficient. Our 2 year old daughter woke up freezing in the morning and got a cold.
- The hot water tank is only big enough for two hot shower less than 3 minutes or one long hot shower, and we found this inconvenient given the cold.
- The website advertised a heated pool; it was freezing and impossible to use
- The website advertises WiFi but the router's signal wasn't strong enough to reach the inside of the house and we had to stand outside by the pool to get a weak signal. We also had a portable "mifi" device but again no reception due to the finca's isolated location
- We found the decor of the apartment was quite tired; certainly the dark rooms and tiny showers are not represented clearly on the website
- The lack of reliable power was an issue for us. Using the micro wave at the same time as other appliances proved difficult (10m to heat a milk bottle in the evening).
- The TV channels appeared to consist of 4 news channels and three film channels for which there was no signal
- One night we got lost on the way back to the finca and were trying to reach the owners and the housekeeper for some help with directions as there was no signal for GPS and the paper maps we had were not detailed enough. We would have really appreciated some help but all three mobiles were on voicemail (it was 7pm). If you are planning to drive to Finca Malvasia then make sure you are equipped with a good paper map.
- The 1-1.5km dirt track that leads to the finca is narrow and has sharp rocks on each side so needs to be negotiated very carefully. Again a warning about taking out full insurance on the rental car would have been appreciated; we would certainly recommend that to anyone thinking of driving to the finca
- The finca advertises that a platter of food can be arranged upon arrival, we asked for this by email but never received a reply. I also asked whether I could arrange yoga lessons as this is advertised on the website but this was not possible as I understand both yoga teachers were no longer living in Lanzarote.
- Finally the terrace was full of cobwebs; I appreciate it is winter but it wasn't very inviting

All in all £800-900 for a week seems excessive particularly given alternatives on the island. Three years ago we stayed at the Hesperia Lanzarote in Puerto Calero for less (albeit for a double bedroom - with ocean view - rather than a 2 bed appartment). For guests' experience to be improved (at least in winter), the heating, cleaning, level of service and more adequate seasonal pricing needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CasaliDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaMLanzarote, Owner at Finca Malvasia, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Nathalie and Ian,
Thank you for the feedback on Trip Advisor. We are responding to clarify the points raised and to provide accurate feedback. Several of the points made are not true. You said in an email to us how different your experience would have been had you stayed in July or August, which would imply that it was the bad weather that was the true problem. We spoke to you in person on several occasions throughout your stay asking if you had everything you needed and at no time were any of these negative points raised or even mentioned. Our housekeeping staff were also very attentive to your needs throughout your stay. Finca Malvasia is a small family run, self catering rural guesthouse and vineyard and should not be compared to a large 300 room 5 star modern hotel complex.

Weather
We're very sorry to hear you were cold. Finca Malvasia provided you with a wood burner, complimentary logs, 2 electric heaters, *and additional heating on request* and blankets of which there were 6. This is more than sufficient as outside temperatures do not normally drop below 15 degrees in the evenings. However, the week you were here we had unusually bad weather. We normally do warn people if particularly bad weather is expected but prior to your arrival the weather was lovely, sunny and warm. The days prior to your departure the weather was back to 26 degrees and has since improved further. Guests are infact in the pool as I type. We know how disappointing bad weather can be and how it can ruin a holiday but we are committed to making it as comfortable as possible for guests.

Pool
This is not true. We do not advertise a heated pool as it does not have an electric heater. We are located in La Geria, the protected National park and unlike Puerto Callero and urban areas there isn't the capacity to run an electric pool heater here. We therefore don't advertise a heated pool. If this is being displayed somewhere please let me know and we will change it immediately as we are not in the business of mis/selling or misrepresenting our product.

Wifi
We do provide a Wifi facility for guests which is separate to the main house. There is a router for the apartments and one for the house. The infrastructure of this island with only 150,000 residents is never going to be as good as UK / London. We have a router for the apartments which is a 2MB connection and means guests can access emails/ browse it free of charge around the poolside. On our homepage we only refer to free Wifi Zone and don't advertise Wifi inside all the apartments themselves.

Power
We are in a very rural location on a small island and this is clear on the site and by our very location. 10 minutes to heat milk is not true and incorrect. We have the same supply in the main house and it takes us less than 3 minutes to heat milk. Power is reliable and all in all is very good but simply not as powerful or as strong as you would get in Urban areas or in the UK. Had this been mentioned we would have assisted you by suggesting not to use all electrical appliances at the same time.

Telephone calls
We are very sorry we didn't receive your call at 8pm and had we seen a call would have been very happy to help. We generally don't have guests having a problem finding their way back to the Finca, especially after having been here for several days already. We don't want lost guests so would have helped immediately. Wendy did see a missed call the following morning and called me to check all was well. As you'll know from speaking to Wendy from the supermarket when you called asking which Olive oil brand to buy, you will know that we're happy to advise and help guests as much as we can.

TV
We do have a system which offers limited English channels and there is also a DVD library of some 30 titles available for guests to enjoy and guests comment on how much they enjoy the selection of films.The guests occupying the apartment this week have a signal for films and this is not a problem. Had you mentioned this to us or Wendy this could have been rectified immediately as it was most likely a case of something having been unplugged.

Car Hire
All car hire organised by us and with Cabrera Medina includes full car insurance. We make no secret of the dirt track leading to the Finca as this is common across the island in rural areas. This lane is used by farmers, other residents and guests on a daily basis. In 7 years of being in business we have not had anyone have a problem navigating the lane.

Cobwebs on terrace
This has been mentioned to our gardener and to our housekeeper . The terraces are cleaned as part of the changeover and we have a gardener on site 4 times per week however we are in the countryside and it is in the nature of spiders to make cobwebs. Our gardener would have been happy to remove any cobwebs from the garden hedge.

Pricing
Our pricing is based on researching the local market, the service and the product we have. The pricing has been pretty much fixed and consistent over the past 7 years. We do get very positive feedback from guests and have a strong customer base of repeat customers as well as word of mouth recommendations. Repeat guests arrived yesterday and are delighted with the Finca and the enhancements we have made since their last visit.

We are certain that if the weather had been different that you would have had a very different experience and type of stay at the Finca, however unfortunately the weather, cold and rain is out of our control and was unusual and particularly cold at nights for this time of the year. You said in an email to me how different your experience would have been had you stayed in July or August, which would imply that it was the bad weather that was the true problem here. The Finca should not be compared to a large 5 star 300 room hotel in Puerto Callero and is all in all a very different experience. We are a FAMILY RUN SELF/CATERING RURAL GUESTHOUSE AND VINEYARD.

The average cost at Finca Malvasia is 29 UKPounds per night per person based on a family of 4 sharing a 2 bedroom apartment which we believe represents value for money.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience or your holiday and give our attentiveness cannot understand why these issues were not raised during your stay. We would have been very happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stay on Lanzarote each year, for three to four weeks. We always pick a different place to stay, mostly at the south coast. But this year we welcomed a baby, so I looked for baby friendly accommodations and that's how I found Finca Malvasia.

It's away from the tourism and the beaches, therefore you will need a car, which is cheap to hire and brings you everywhere on the island in less than 30 minutes. Masdache is in the middle of the island, so for us it was the perfect place to plan our daytrips, go out to dine, etc... Away from the tourism, that means silence. Lovely views and vineyards all around. For us this was paradise.

For our baby everything was provided. Cot, chair, towels, sheets, books, toys, ... There is a closet next to the pool whit toys for the beach, as well as parasols, a baby tent, ... Every morning there was a friendly man who took care of the pool and the pool area. The property gives you the chance to have contact with your neighbors as well as enjoying your holiday totally private.

The self-catering apartment was clean and provided with everything we need on a holiday. The rooms are spacious end the owners, Tarnya and Richard, are welcoming hosts who gave a lot of tips like local events, which wine to drink, which restaurants to go to.

I can say that my next trip to Lanzarote will go straight back to the Finca. It took me five years to find my place on the island but I'm glad to have discovered this hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I would recommend this place to stay when in Lanzarote.

Highlights
- wonderful setting, in the middle of volcanic landscape
- 4 villas in total, so quiet but friendly, happened to be there with 3 other families with babies & preschoolers of a similar age
- all provisions and more you would expect from self catering; kitchen equipment, pool towels, robes, cots & highchair
- Pool & area cleaned daily
- Richard & Tarnya and staff all very friendly & helpful
- while rural, only 5 mins from Tias, 10-15 from airport, 20 from puerto del Carmen, etc.

Things which would make it even better, and I'm nit picking here !
- Highchairs with straps and trays. Our 15 month old is a climber, so if not strapped in, a nightmare to feed and keep safe when eating. They provided the Ikea ones which we have at home so these are ideal but the ones provided had no strap attached nor a tray. Just made feeding a real pain and we were worried she'd fall out at any second. Wendy, the housekeeper, was brilliant and took personal effort to get another chair from another villa she looks after. So it would be great if they could get straps and trays for existing ikea ones.., I'll even post the straps to you if required as assume Ikea are only in Spain or UK.
- web links to maps, or suggested roads/ driving times in the already excellent welcome book

Fabulous holiday and two other lovely families we met.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivEa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a very enjoyable week at the finca with our 3 young kids. Location is perfect, close to everywhere but away from the resorts. Very clean accommodation, lovely pool, friendly owners and staff, couldn't ask for anything more. Will be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CormacJBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masdache
4.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
512 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,625 reviews
10.6 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Finca de la Florida Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Bartolome
75 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
396 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Malvasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Malvasia

Property: Finca Malvasia
Address: Camino Oratorio 12 14, 35572 Masdache, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Masdache
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Masdache
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Malvasia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Malvasia is a collection of stylish, rural, self catering apartments in the heart of the La Geria wine region of Lanzarote. Located in the the centre of the island, yet only a 10 minute drive to the beach and an easy 15 minute drive from Arrecife Airport. Finca Malvasia sits amongst an unspoilt vineyard, backed by volcanoes and uninterrupted countryside views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Malvasia Hotel Masdache
Finca Malvasia Lanzarote/Masdache

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing