We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of North County House

North County House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North County House
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the North County House for one night. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and the accommodation was very comfortable and well maintained. We would love to visit again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed in Listowel for 2 nights at the North County House. We loved our stay. Monica was very accommodating. We arrived about 11 AM on June 30 and she showed us to our room. We had arrived at Shannon that morning and traveled by bus from Shannon, through Limerick to Listowel. It was really nice to be able to get into the room in the morning. The breakfasts were super and Monica does everything herself. On July 1, she gave us a ride to Ballybunion, since she was taking her son over. We spent a pleasant morning along the beach and took the Buseirann back to Listowel. We had a delightful lunch at JR's , across the street from the B&B. Both nights we had dinner in the Horseshoe Pub. Good pub food....roast and catch of the day each evening. On Friday, there is a market on the square and it was a lot of fun. Moira enjoyed the crepes. We did plenty of walking in town and visited the Garden of Europe. A wonderful 2 day stay. We highly recommend the North County House as a nicely located place to stay in town. John and Moira O'Connor

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JandMRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Hostess was so helpful and sent us to a nearby bistro that was quite a surprise after our late arrival.
We just walked down the street for a fantastic meal.
Sore muscles were just starting to bother me after climbing Croagh Patrick so the big tub
was a very welcome surprise in a B&B.
Breakfast and conversation were great the next morning.
Stayed here the night before visiting the Dingle Peninsula.
It's a short drive from the Tarbert Car Ferry.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patfrankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This guest house is run by the nicest and friendliest landlady we have ever had the pleasure to meet. Along with other guests, we were attending a wedding and she even offered to iron the guys shirts so they looked as smart. Breakfast is any combination of full Irish and beautiflly cooked plus cereals, yoghurt and toast, etc. Rooms are nice size, en-suite, traditionally furnished and double glazed, so quiet. The hotel is located right in the town with street parking outside, you will not have to pay if you have a rental car, and she will give you a card to place in the window. Listowel is quaint, vibrant with plenty of pubs, cafe's and restaurants. Restaurants are fairly pricey but one worth a mention is the fabulous Chinese called KV Palace at 28 Market Street. By far the best we had ever eaten and they do a special all inclusive deal of starter, main and dessert.
Can highly recommend this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Itchycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

A friend booked me into this bed and breakfast on a recent visit to listowel. It is in the centre of the town with on street parking. The staff were very welcoming and we were given coffee and biscuits on arrival. The room was large and had been modernised. The ensuite was excellent with a bath/shower. The breakfast the following morning was excellent and again the staff were very friendly and good humoured. I would rate this b+b very highly and I would return.

  • Liked — informal friendly staff
  • Disliked — no private parking
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank gullivertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Proprietors were warm and welcoming. Cozy and spotless clean rooms. Great location. Wonderful Irish breakfast. Highly recommend. Have stayed there three times and will be going back.

  • Liked — Outstanding proprietors
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring an umbrella
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eire4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
0.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
368 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,147 reviews
12.0 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North County House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North County House

Property: North County House
Address: North County House 67 Church Street, Listowel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your North County House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing