We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Listowel Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Listowel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle West, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently held our wedding reception in the Listowel Arms Hotel. I cannot recommend it highly enough, the staff are unbelievable, food was exceptional and there is a fantastic homely atmosphere. These people went above and beyond in order to ensure we had a most fantastic day. Patrice O Callaghan their wedding coordinator was brilliant, she ensured that everything went so smoothly. If I had my time over I would not change a thing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    85
    32
    15
    18
See reviews for
106
90
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed in the listowel Arms for 2 nights 2rd &4th Sept had booked a 3rd night but did not stay The hotel is very old and very badly in need of refurbishment the room was very shaby,lights did not work asked 3 times for the bedside light to be replaced which was not done,the light in the room was not working properly sometimes it did not come on at all, the ensuite was very small its also a very expensive hotel. We asked for an ironing board it was brought to our room with a dirty torn cover we had to use a pillowcase to cover it. I would never stay there again even if they paid me to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrigoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a fantastic start to our Irish trip here in Listowel. We were greeted by very friendly staff who looked after our booking mistake and even offered us advise on where to eat in the town as we arrived quite late. The rooms were very large and clean and we even had a bath in our ensuite! The breakfast was nice and filling also. Would recommend a stay here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrillionBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We always stop for lunch at the pub part of Listowel Arms Hotel on our way from Co. Clare to Co. Kerry. I always order the seafood chowder, and it's always good. On this trip, however, it was the best seafood chowder I've had in a long time, and the best on this trip. Rich and creamy (without being thickened with flour), chock full of seafood such as shrimp, fish and mussels, it was just plain delicious. At 7.95 euros, it was worth every penny. It comes with very good brown bread. We always have the same waitress who's been there for almost 30 years, and we always have a nice chat with her. It's a pleasant atmosphere and we enjoy our annual stop here in this quaint little town. I've had dinner here in the past, and it, also, was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was spacious, the claw footed bath delightful and view nice however, the best part was breakfast - plentiful and well prepared. Listowel is a great town to walk around in the evening and the hotel is full of charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

On the 27th July we had our wedding in the listowel arms hotel and I cannot say enough about it. Patrice was amazing. The food was mouth watering and the setting was fab with the racecourse behind it. The staff were so friendly and absolutely nothing was a problem. All our guests are saying how wonderful the hotel and food was. If you are planning a wedding no need to look any further. Veronica Walsh and Eugene O Sullivan

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I decided to travel around Kerry for a couple of days while having a recent holiday in Ireland. In the past we've already stayed at the Park Hotel Kenmare, Adare Manor, Drumoland Castle, etc. and we decided this trip since we were just passing through the area, we wanted to find somewhere less expensive, but near water and charming. After some internet surfing, I found the Listowel Arms and it seemed perfect; quaint, smack on a river, suites available and relatively reasonable considering how expensive 5-star hotels in Ireland are now--the Listowel Arms did not disappoint.
First, there is not a lot to see or do in Listowel so having a nice hotel/restaurant there is important if you want to spend any time in this village. We were so pleased that we chose this hotel as it was just perfect considering other options (not many and certainly not pleasing!). The hotel has true Victorian charm and there is a peaceful, elegant sense of tradition that pervades the air as you walk into the lobby--there was a beautiful fresh bouquet of seasonal flowers on an antique table you pass by to check in. The bar is dated but we didn't plan to spend any time in this one anyway as one must visit John B. Keane's pub if any pub at all in Listowel. The main dining room was also a bit stuffy (but nicely traditional) and we opted to have our breakfast and one dinner in the bright, sunny central dining area (photos attached). The weather was unseasonably warm while we were there so the veranda door could be left open and a nice breeze coming in from the river while having our breakfast/dinner. The veranda adjacent to the river was beautiful as well but a bit too chilly to dine there (so we opened a bottle of wine there before dinner the first night while the sun still beamed).
We were thrilled with our room. I am actually not sure if it was the bridal suite (if not, it could have been) but I believe it was room 37 (we had actually been shown the suite across the hall which was furnished the same but because it was not facing the river itself, it was much darker...so make sure you choose a room/suite that has direct river views as the price was the same between the suite not facing the river, and the suite directly facing the river--we had stunning river and race track views from every window and the small balcony we enjoyed nightly--it also is over the veranda so if the weather is good, you might hear people from your room on the veranda below). The suite was net Euro 200/night, so if you opt for this price bracket room, be sure to get this (or another similar) river view suite.
Although a bit dated, I loved the furnishings of the suite because they were simply charming and matched the era/feeling/elegance of the hotel. The suite was quite large which I think is also important if the weather is bad; no way you could feel claustrophobic in this huge room and it's fabulous river views. The bathroom was spacious and lovely as well. As usual with most non-5-star hotels in Ireland, very limited t.v. reception if you want to catch up on world news. Not the purpose of this hotel anyway.
We dined our first night in the hotel in the lobby dining area. The food was of fine quality, large portions, inexpensive and they offered a good selection of wine; no complaints; nice mixture of local produce and comfort food.
There was very little to do, or anywhere to stroll to in Listowel, so make sure if you are staying at this hotel to get a nicer room. The second night we actually opted for Chinese food at the Sky Palace.....we lived in China for many years and expected the worst (which I would not have minded as being an American, in Asia I sometimes crave greasy American Chinese food, which is not Chinese at all...), but it was excellent; the staff was all Chinese and food authentic, fresh and very tasty. We then went to the John B. Keane pub as one must and had a pint or two. All in all, I highly recommend the Listowel Arms...thoroughly enjoyed every second there and no better place to stay in Listowel to directly enjoy the river Feale.

Room Tip: Choose end river view suite if possible over the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asiaexpat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
9.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
8.6 mi away
Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
8.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Listowel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Arms Hotel

Property: Listowel Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Listowel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Listowel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Listowel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Listowel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing