We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception at Listowel Arms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Listowel Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had our wedding reception in this beautiful hotel. From the very beginning of preparations the staff were so helpful and pleasant. On the day everything went perfectly, the decor was beautiful, the food was incredible, the serving staff were so kind and attentive. Our guests who stayed were more than happy with their accommodation.
Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette MD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Antony and I booked Listowel Arms for our wedding reception in March 2013. It was by far the best decision we made! We were overwhelmed with the hospitality and kindness shown to us while planning our wedding reception. Patrice, Kevin and team were exceptionally professional, kind and so obliging. They made our day everything we could have ever hoped for. Patrice helped us plan our wedding down to the smallest details. Everything was perfect the bright beautiful function room overlooking the river Feale, the table décor and all the little touches around the hotel-candles, flowers, lanterns, vintage place settings, the open fire, sweet table...etc. The ambience was so warm and welcoming. We loved the old world feel and vintage décor. The bar and restaurant staff were so friendly and helpful in the run up to the wedding when we were there regularly. The food was superb and many people still comment about the beautiful meal and excellent service. Our drinks reception was in the conservatory which is a bright elegant room that opens on to the patio overlooking the beautiful river Feale and racecourse. Many of our guests commented on this. It was a magical setting from start to finish and the service and meal was exceptional. We were treated like royalty and I couldn’t recommend Listowel Arms highly enough to any couple thinking of having their wedding reception here. I definitely think this venue is one of Kerry’s best kept secrets!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and cosy. Rooms to the back of the hotel have a beautiful view of the river Feale an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauraMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had our wedding reception and civil ceremony here last October (very slow at doing this) and it was such a perfect day. The staff were so friendly, helpful and made our day everything we could of ever hoped for. Patrice helped us plan our wedding down to all the last details. Everything was perfect, the layout of the function room, the table decorations, all the little touches around the hotel such as the flowers, candles, lanterns. It was so special. The meal was delicious, everyone is still raving about it. I wish I came away with the recipe for the soup. If you are looking for a wedding with a difference then this is the hotel. Our wedding had such an elegant feel about it, vintage place settings, silver cake stand, sweet table and all for a fraction of the cost of some of the bigger hotels charge. The rooms were lovely and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The back rooms have a wonderful view of the river. All have a lovely old world feel to them. The bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

In Ireland on business last week. Stayed in The Listowel Arms Hotel in County Kerry. I travel a lot and generally stay in hotel chains and I must say this charming old-fashioned family-run establishment was a very pleasant change. Great ambiance, wonderful staff, delicious food and my bedroom and bathroom were quite simply stunning. When things are bad we criticize, when they are good we tend to take them for granted. In my line of work I know the value of positive feedback. So I thought I'd drop you a line. Full marks to The Listowel Arms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had visited the hotel on more than one occasion. I have particularly great memories of a family birthday party held there. We were seated in the Conservatory area. Our table was set and decorated beautifully, living up to the occasion. We were all more than happy with our meal (the black pudding salad & sticky toffee pudding were my favourites)!!! But it wasn't only a dinner, but an experience to remember. The lovely girls serving us sang "Happy birthday" bringing out desserts, with a candle for the birthday girl, even though none of us had requested that. If you have somebody to celebrate a special occasion with, I can truly recommend this place as the personal hospitality approach will sure make a big difference. The Listowel Arms hotel truly has a unique charm thanks to the character of the building and exceptional friendly, professional team.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Zuzana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We travelled to Listowel for an event and booked 1 night in the hotel. Travelled with children. We got parking in the square but is parking in the back but didnt look 2 safe 2 me. Receptionist was quite nice. Was very helping in telling us places to visit in the town. Rooms very basic and small with a double and a single bed for 80 euro. Room stank of smoke, window locks were not child friendly, an old television in the room but the stations were very hazy, was no iron board/iron. In the bathroom there was a leak when the shower was turned on and water was all over the floor. The corridor floor board were very loose thus making it very noisy for other residents in the hotel . This was All Ireland Final day and i expected a few up to date televisions in the hotel bar , but no, was only a hazy television sitting on the counter at the end of the bar. We went elsewhere.
Later in the evening I ordered 2 sandwiches for the children and was charged 9 euro. I complained to the bar person and was told that is the price 4 a toasted sandwich with a side salad. I was just given the sandwich, not toasted / side salad with it because it was late in the evening= there was not enough staff on board. I asked for the manager- i was told to keep quiet- as soon as i said disgrace she ran to the till and handed me back 3 euro. They really should have their prices displayed. Breakfast was lovely--no complaints.
Wi fi free--- what wi fi couldnt get a signal.
Will i travell there again -- not in a million years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nuala35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Full disclosure - I've worked in the hospitality industry for 20+ years so my reviews may be harder than others as I take into account what I would accept from my staff, etc..

I've been staying here for years, most recently in August - one of my favourite hotels in Ireland. Staff is beyond friendly and helpful - from check in, to needing an iron, to the bar staff - I really felt they couldn't do enough for me.

Room was clean and had everything you needed (except the iron and board, but a call to the front desk had one in my room in minutes). The one negative about my room would be the lighting in the bathroom. The bathroom had no window/natural light - the lighting in there was very poor, especially for shaving. I don't know if it was the fixture or the strength of the bulb but you really need better and brighter lighting in the bathroom, full stop.

Food in the bar and restaurant was generous and delicious.

No bother with a late drink as a resident (and your guest) either.

Looking forward to my next trip home and my next stay at the Listowel Arms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeosamhNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
9.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
191 reviews
14.5 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
562 reviews
18.4 mi away
Devon Inn Hotel
Devon Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle West
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Listowel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Listowel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Price Range: £104 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Listowel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Listowel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing