We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Listowel Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great service and food. Bedroom well appointed and clean, very impressed with the associated bathroom facilities which included an excellent shower. There is ample free parking at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekuz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    87
    35
    17
    18
See reviews for
115
92
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 15 yr old daughter for 3 nights from 30th Aug 2013. Listowel Arms Hotel looks lovely from the outside, and very welcoming in the reception areas, staff are also very friendly. However, the rooms are dated, some might say 'traditional' but our family room ( no 30 ) was definitely dated. A very old television, skirting board missing from some areas, room very dark, small double bed with a single next to it, but the beds were comfortable. Furniture was old, probably meant to look antique, but was dusty and dirty inside the wardrobe, bedside tables had handles missing. Tea & Coffee facilities were 2 teabags, no coffee & no biscuits provided, we asked for more tea and coffee and this was dealt with. The bathroom had an antique sink with a curtain underneath, the sink was blocked and would not empty, very difficult to wash or clean your teeth! We reported this to a lady on the reception desk, her response was ' thanks for letting me know' needless to say nothing was done about it during our stay. On the plus side, breakfast was great and served really quickly, and we ate in the Writers Bar in the evenings and again thought the food was lovely and service very quick. Probably would not chose to stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had our wedding reception in this beautiful hotel. From the very beginning of preparations the staff were so helpful and pleasant. On the day everything went perfectly, the decor was beautiful, the food was incredible, the serving staff were so kind and attentive. Our guests who stayed were more than happy with their accommodation.
Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette MD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Antony and I booked Listowel Arms for our wedding reception in March 2013. It was by far the best decision we made! We were overwhelmed with the hospitality and kindness shown to us while planning our wedding reception. Patrice, Kevin and team were exceptionally professional, kind and so obliging. They made our day everything we could have ever hoped for. Patrice helped us plan our wedding down to the smallest details. Everything was perfect the bright beautiful function room overlooking the river Feale, the table décor and all the little touches around the hotel-candles, flowers, lanterns, vintage place settings, the open fire, sweet table...etc. The ambience was so warm and welcoming. We loved the old world feel and vintage décor. The bar and restaurant staff were so friendly and helpful in the run up to the wedding when we were there regularly. The food was superb and many people still comment about the beautiful meal and excellent service. Our drinks reception was in the conservatory which is a bright elegant room that opens on to the patio overlooking the beautiful river Feale and racecourse. Many of our guests commented on this. It was a magical setting from start to finish and the service and meal was exceptional. We were treated like royalty and I couldn’t recommend Listowel Arms highly enough to any couple thinking of having their wedding reception here. I definitely think this venue is one of Kerry’s best kept secrets!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and cosy. Rooms to the back of the hotel have a beautiful view of the river Feale an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauraMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had our wedding reception and civil ceremony here last October (very slow at doing this) and it was such a perfect day. The staff were so friendly, helpful and made our day everything we could of ever hoped for. Patrice helped us plan our wedding down to all the last details. Everything was perfect, the layout of the function room, the table decorations, all the little touches around the hotel such as the flowers, candles, lanterns. It was so special. The meal was delicious, everyone is still raving about it. I wish I came away with the recipe for the soup. If you are looking for a wedding with a difference then this is the hotel. Our wedding had such an elegant feel about it, vintage place settings, silver cake stand, sweet table and all for a fraction of the cost of some of the bigger hotels charge. The rooms were lovely and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The back rooms have a wonderful view of the river. All have a lovely old world feel to them. The bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

In Ireland on business last week. Stayed in The Listowel Arms Hotel in County Kerry. I travel a lot and generally stay in hotel chains and I must say this charming old-fashioned family-run establishment was a very pleasant change. Great ambiance, wonderful staff, delicious food and my bedroom and bathroom were quite simply stunning. When things are bad we criticize, when they are good we tend to take them for granted. In my line of work I know the value of positive feedback. So I thought I'd drop you a line. Full marks to The Listowel Arms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I had visited the hotel on more than one occasion. I have particularly great memories of a family birthday party held there. We were seated in the Conservatory area. Our table was set and decorated beautifully, living up to the occasion. We were all more than happy with our meal (the black pudding salad & sticky toffee pudding were my favourites)!!! But it wasn't only a dinner, but an experience to remember. The lovely girls serving us sang "Happy birthday" bringing out desserts, with a candle for the birthday girl, even though none of us had requested that. If you have somebody to celebrate a special occasion with, I can truly recommend this place as the personal hospitality approach will sure make a big difference. The Listowel Arms hotel truly has a unique charm thanks to the character of the building and exceptional friendly, professional team.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
9.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
185 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
606 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Listowel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Arms Hotel

Property: Listowel Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Listowel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Listowel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Listowel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing