We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Listowel Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner recently had a dreadful dining experience in this hotel. Decor was lovely but the meal was abominable. We both ordered fish. It was overdone, cold, not at all seasoned or garnished and tasted horrific. We both could not manage to eat more than one bite of the stuff. Would never come back to this spot.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Joynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    86
    33
    17
    18
See reviews for
115
91
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel this weekend for my dearest friends wedding. What a fantastic time. The staff were Brilliant helpful and just top notch. Special thanks to Karen and both Fiona's. The food was the best I have had in a very long time. A perfect setting just loved it. The two lovely local ladies who have coffee each morning at hotel were just fantastic and a pleasure to meet. Thanks All at Listowel Arms for making my stay so perfect and a great happy memory.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding, found the hotel to be fine, a bit old fashioned we stayed in room 8 on the 1st floor, lovely big room but our bathroom was a bit on the small side, & I think the hotel were experiencing problems with there heating system as our room was very, very warm & we had to open the window in the middle of the night & turn of the radiator in our room & as we were facing out onto the main road we could hear all the early morning traffic, we ate in the bar when we arrived the food a lovely & the food at the wedding reception was very good as well. Have to say over all I enjoyed my stay here & would stay here again, & would have no problem in recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiejump1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and my fiancèe attended a wedding in Listowel and the celebration took place in this hotel. Decor was very pretty, the staff very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious! The only down fall is that the guy who seemed to be a manager looked quite pissed off as he was walking around quite a lot with a pissed off head on him. If any staff member is reading this please pass this on to him as no one wants to see a sour face even if eveything is going wrong- that's very unprofessional. And the ladie's room wasn't looked after by anyone. No toilet tissue, one toilet was leaking- it was a mess. Other than that it was a lovely evening.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had three nights here for work. Nice old building, which makes the public areas very pleasant but compromised my room somewhat.

Plus points include a good breakfast, especially the hot items that were cooked to order. Also, the evening food was excellent, especially the seafood chowder. Also, staff were very friendly.

I felt the furniture in the room was not ideal. The floors are far from level due to the age of the building and the table provided was very wobbly. I was certainly not suitable to work at. Also, a big old wardrobe was provided and in this case the slope of the floor meant that the doors were swinging around uncontrollably.

No shelf was provided in the bathroom, which meant I had to balance my wash kit, tooth brush etc. on the toilet cistern, which is not exactly ideal.

Being 2014 I was rather shocked that there were only three channels on the TV and wi-fi was only available in certain parts of the public areas.

Finally, I did not sleep well. I think this was down to the sheets on the bed not being big enough so that they kept coming un-tucked and rucking up.

Overall, I do fully appreciate that this is an old building but for a business traveller I think there a a few things that could be done to improve things.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I had my hen party this weekend in the listowel arms! All I can say is amazing! I was put in the bridal suite and it was just beautiful. Total luxury!
Every single staff member was so warm, friendly & welcoming! There was even welcome letters on all out beds when we arrived!
I have to give a special mention to Kevin who was working behind the bar and waited on us hand and foot two nights in a row! He made us feel so welcome!

The hotel is decorated beautifully, the dinner & breakfast was delicious and the location is perfect.

I can't wait to go back again! A hidden gem!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelpcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed in the Listowel Arms this weekend and had such a fantastic time I had to post my review straight away.
We were on my sisters hen weekend with a group of friends and didn't want the usual experience of going to a big town and the group getting separated.
From start to finish our experience in the Listowel Arms was truly brilliant. The hotel itself is just beautiful, full of lovely antique furniture and blazing fires.
I cannot say enough about the staff, they are just so accommodating. They made us feel so welcome from the minute we arrived and nothing was a problem. My sister stayed in the bridal suite which was just beautiful but each of the bedrooms were lovely.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on Saturday night, which was divine, and the breakfast is definitely worth getting up for!
A great hotel for a group of friends or a couple to enjoy a relaxing weekend in.
I will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
0.2 mi away
North County House
North County House
#2 of 7 in Listowel
42 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
179 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
24 reviews
8.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Listowel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Arms Hotel

Property: Listowel Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Listowel, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Listowel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Listowel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing