We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Fiat Ireland Weekend”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Ballyheigue B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic Fiat Ireland Weekend”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Arrived Friday evening for 2 nights B &B and 2 evening meals, good deal, comfortable and clean. Staff were pleasant. Ample car parking beside the hotel which was great for the group. Bar prices were reasonable, other establishments should note!!!!! Pity the weather wasn't a bit better. Great location for a group photo on the beach in the morning. All in all a good weekend for the group,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digger58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    30
    28
    30
See reviews for
30
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for one night. Reception very good and helpful. Room small but clean with a view of the beach. We booked online and got a good b&b deal.
We also had dinner in the hotel as we failed to find anywhere else to eat. It was to our surprise quite good. Nice choice on food and wine menus. Starters and main excellent, desert could be skipped nothing to get excited about.
About a 3 star hotel. If the weather is good and you want a beach holiday location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandu7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We manged to get a Groupon special for this hotel whilst enjoying the delights of Southern Ireland and were extremely pleased with the hotel.

The staff were very friendly, room was spotlessly clean with a great view over the beach which had the Dingle Peninsular as a back drop and the breakfasts (traditional Irish) were excellent.
We ate in the bar one night using our free meal voucher and again the food was very good.

We would happily go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnhc339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Got a great deal for 3 nights b&b and was well worth it ,rooms and hotel are a bit dated could do with a good clean bit of diy and new towels.The food was lovely had lunch one day and one evening the Pizza it really is one of the best we have ever had,breakfast had a great choice and all cooked to order.Would request a better veiw next time,Our children loved the music in the bar/lounge very talented.Exit throught the lift and cross the road to a lovely sandy beach, staff are very helpful and friendly but really could do with having more on as they were under alot of pressure which does cause delays ,would go back again as its also a good base for travelling and sight seeing.

Room Tip: Choose a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a nice couple of days in Kerry and spent 2 nights in The White Sands Hotel. The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk to the beach and the other pubs in the village.
The hotel is rather dated and not the most appealing to the eye, TV channels are very limited and the bathroom could do with a heavy clean or a bit of modernisation. That said, clean towels were provided, hot water was always available and the mattress was very comfortable. We had a room with a seaview which was very nice, but there was a dog kennel below in a neighbouring house and the scruffy mutt barks at anything which moves, poor thing could do with a good walk instead of being in that garden all day!!
Breakfast was good and cooked to order,and the staff serving were friendly, as in the rest of the hotel. We also sampled the food in the restaurant one of the nights, menu is traditional Irish dishes, roasts etc plus a curry which both did the job, but it's unlikely to feature in any guide of cullinary delights in the near future.
In summary, a nice stay with no complaints, just don't go expecting The Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is situated just beside a nice beach the staff are very friendly but food portions are was very small i was there as part of a bus party there is a great bar attached to the hotel but the prices are very dear but hay ho that what we all save up for to go on holiday would go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelrise54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed at the White Sands Hotel recently over the weekend.I was well looked after by all the staff,especially the night porter,reception and and the girls at breakfast.The food was excellent,rooms are basic but clean and adequate and all in all i had a great stay.This was my second visit to the hotel and i will return,Jimmy the owner always has time for a chat even though the hotel was extremely busy.Thanks for the excellent hospitality
Regards Brian (Leeds Yorkshire)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyheigue
0.1 mi away
Brassil's Guest House
Brassil's Guest House
#1 of 2 in Ballyheigue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Neill's Bed and Breakfast
O'Neill's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Ballyheigue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.8 mi away
Killarney House
Killarney House
#13 of 52 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: Ballyheigue, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballyheigue
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyheigue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing