We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical and central West Ireland seaside cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old School

The Old School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School
Livingroom Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Old School
Livingroom
Dining Area
Patio
Inner Hall
Tralee Bay Bedroom
Tralee Bay Bedroom view
Ensuite Bathroom
Kerry Head Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Study / Supplementary Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Restroom / WC
Kitchen
Utility
Enclosed Garden
Schoolroom 1
Schoolroom 2
Ballyheigue Beach
Ballyheigue Castle
Herry Head Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballyheigue, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mike C
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical and central West Ireland seaside cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage overlooking the ocean. Peace and privacy, but close to pubs and the market. We didn't want to leave the open, spacious yet cozy stone cottage with sweeping views of the ocean and mountains across the bay (and surrounding green farmers' fields with their stone fences - and cows). When we did we found that the old schoolhouse was centrally located and a great base to explore the west coast of Ireland - Ring of Kerry, Dingle Penninsula, Ballybunion (golf). You can have dinner in Dingle and still be home to watch the sunset over the ocean, and then go down to the local pub for a pint and listen to live traditional music. The warm cottage has stone walls, wood plank floors and working peat fireplace. But also all the modern amenities one would expect. We could have easily spent a month. The old schoolhouse is clearly a labour of love for the owner, who also preserves the old schoolroom, which is part of the cottage, in its original museum quality form. This place is a gem.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L
Jonen, Switzerland
2 reviews
“A cosy, charming cottage with a fabulous oceanview, lots of privacy, not very touristy, and great for families”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

If you are looking for a cosy, charming cottage on the southwest coast of Ireland which offers you privacy, great ocean views and is family-friendly, this is the cottage I would recommend. Although the house itself is quite old, it has been well renovated and is very well maintained. It has also been very tastefully decorated to give you a true sense of lodging in a typical Irish cottage (although the frying pans could stand to be replaced). Since we were traveling with our two three-year-olds, it was also great to have a cottage that was well equipped with many of the conveniences of home such as a washer/dryer, dishwasher, and television with VCR/DVD player. The owner is also very good about leaving a book with detailed operating instructions for the various appliances, along with suggestions of what to do in the area.

One caveat re small children is that the stairs leading upstairs, where 3 of the 4 bedrooms are located, are very steep. So either you let your children sleep in the downstairs bedroom, or you do as we did and block the stairway from the top with a chair at night and help them go down the stairs during the day. We had the choice of putting our children into the smallest of the 3 upstairs bedrooms (which has a ceiling window and a futon bed) or into the back bedroom which is much bigger and has a normal bed but has a low window that does not lock. We decided for the latter, so that they have more space, a better bed, and more air at night and just moved the wardrobe and dresser in front of the window, so they could not get to it. This second bedroom was also conveniently connected to a bathroom.

One inconvenience was the lack of a WiFi connection. I had to purchase a remote device from Vodaphone (a hot spot device) to ensure my own access and to avoid paying high charges from my local provider in Switzerland. Luckily, they had a good offer at the time that did not require me to sign a contract and included up to 5 GB of downloads. But afterwards I had a device which I could not use outside of Ireland.

The location of the cottage was great too. It was just a short five minute drive to the Ballyheigue Beach (a beautiful, well-kept beach) where there is also a nice playground, a local grocery store, and a great pub which allows children to enter even in the evening hours for dinner. The food there was also great, and it gave us a chance to hang out with some "locals". Ballyheigue is a popular holiday place for Irish families, so there were lots of kids there as well.

The cottage is nice and private, since the neighbouring houses are far enough away, and yet you are only about 1 hour's drive from Killarney and about 45 minutes drive to the Dingle Peninsula. The famous Ring of Kerry is also within a reasonable driving distance. So you can enjoy all the great touristy sights that the southwest coast has to offer, without being in the middle of the touristy hustle bustle. It was a great coastal get away with true Irish charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the beds were small (a double) for two adults
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneV94
Vitry-sur-Seine, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLeformal
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing