We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spillane's Bar

Spillane's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spillanes is a long established family- run, family friendly, Bar - Restaurant on the scenic Maharees Peninsula. They have been awarded the prestige of the Seafood Circle Award for several years as well as a listing in the Georgina Campbell Guide to the best of Ireland. Spillanes menu offers a wide range of dishes with the emphasis on local seafood, fresh vegetables grown locally in season,Wonderful Irish beef , typical Irish traditional fare, as well as daily specials, Pizzas, homemade burgers and homemade desserts, a good wine list and friendly staff. There are sea and mountain views and outdoor tables for dining when weather permits. During the busy summer season it is advisable to book your table in advance, although Spillanes will try to fit you in if at all possible.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an annual treat for me and my family. Every time we visit Castlegregory we make at least one visit to this restaurant. The staff are very friendly and nothing is ever too much!!! Betty in particular is a Star!!!!The menu is excellent and the specials board is always very varied. Never fails to provide an excellent evening for my family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    74
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A bit of a drive and quite crowded, but it seems like a popular choice, even with the locals. Food is pretty average and service can get a little slow. It was good but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make reservations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thanks to our hostess, Sheila, at the Castle House B&B, we had an awesome dinner at Spillane's and would highly recommend this restaurant! And thankfully, she had made reservations for us. This is a family-run restaurant with an excellent menu, great views and wonderful service! It's kind of off the beaten path and are we ever glad we ate there!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank millercolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had a couple of meals here, both good quality, the place is very busy, which is a good sign. Had to wait a long time for the food but we were not in a rush so it did not matter, staff are friendly and efficient. Had one of the best lamb shanks I have ever had. Good specials menu too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local food, brilliant atmosphere and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a great evening. Spillane's is the kind of Irish pub that started a million "knock offs" world wide. The location is beautiful, the food fantastic and the craic mighty. We were a party of Ten who ate across the menu. From locally caught seafood to fillett steaks all of us were very happy with our choices. The bar has no pretentions just fresh local produce cooked well and served by a great staff. Also the food was great value which is something not always associated with Irish restaurants in tourist areas. 10 out of 10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spillane's Bar also viewed

Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Spillane's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing