We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glentenassig Forest

Glentenassig Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nederweert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This forest is really magnificent with lakes, well sign-posted hiking routes (of all levels from easy to difficult), some nice shade in summer, etc. It is just off the N86 at the village of Aughacasla.

The best thing is: it is not overcrowded with tourists and you can enjoy nature at its best!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Loved it, loved it, loved it! So beautiful and a great place to take photos and just enjoy the lakes and mountains.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Went there on a windy, grey and misty day and even then it was stunning. Great variety of treks whether strenuous or light. We had a four year old along and there were plenty of short routes suitable for children. Take the walk to the lakes if you can.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“Very good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

There's a deck around the main lake, plenty of benches, views and fish. Children are safe to play around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank simondraghici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had read a review of the Glentenassig Forest in my Ireland guide book and they recommend a visit. We decided to stop in on our way leaving the Dingle peninsula. If you like dark mysterious woods, tall trees and pristine lakes then I recommend stopping here. The three of us found many photo opportunities. There are trails for walking or jogging and convenient benches to rest your bones. If you like to spend some time in a forest, and there are not many in Ireland, this well-maintained park is ideal. And it is free to enter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glentenassig Forest also viewed

Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Glentenassig Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing