We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed a week in Harbour House. Staff were very friendly, breakfast were well cooked with good ingredients. Breakfast does not start until 8.30 though. Rooms were a decent size and the beds comfortable. Our room had not been cleaned properly as there was a lot of dirt on window frames and the bed had not been moved other wise the cleaner would have noticed the broken telephone point. Very noisy and creaky building. Can hear people talking on first floor and showers being used. The corridor is very creaky and fire doors bang, so take ear plugs. Had an evening meals a couple of nights and they were very tasty. |All food in Ireland is a bit pricey. The swimming pool and sauna is a lovely way to relax. Superb lounge with comfy sofas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

For such a beautiful location, this was nothing short of disappointing. The place was freezing - it was so cold when you put the key in the lock of the bedroom door a cold breeze greeted your fingers. I asked for the heating to be turned on and it was probaboly was for 30mins at the most. The only way to stay warm was to wear a hoodie and trackie bottoms getting into bed and keeping your head under the blanket. It was also filthy here - the leisure center looked like it hadn't been used ever - there were cobwebs hanging off the machines - no sign of any spiders - they probably found it too dirty and moved out. The pool had a layer of dirt at the bottom and there were wetsuits strewn around the pool area. Breakfast was served from 8.30 to 10 I think - the lady in reception was well aware that we were doing the Dingle Marathon and would be gone by 7.30 but didn't offer us fruit or anything. The price included breakfast!! There was no television in the room - it would have been great to have one especially when the Ireland V Sweden game was on. There was no one around in the morning to pay so we had to leave and let them just charge to our credit cards. I must say though the guy working in the bar/restaurant was lovely and very helpful. Overall very disappointing as it looked lovely on the website.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recently visited Kerry for the weekend and stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and clean with en suite facilities. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and also had breakfast on two mornings, all were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A really friendly welcome from Sandra. All other staff very friendly, welcoming and accommodating too. A large group of us spent a week there specifically for the diving, but there are also plenty of good walks nearby with wind surfing and even horse riding along the extensive beach. We also used the gym, swimming pool and sauna at HH&LC. There are two lounge areas where you can get away from it all and a bar. The decor in the bedrooms may be a little 'tired' but we were there for the outdoors. If you're looking for luxury then look for something more expensive. A tasty, substantial breakfast is available as well as lighter options. Other meals are superb - compliments to the chef - but if you're there for more than a couple of nights you might also like to try Spillane's, about 10 minutes walk away, where the menu changes more often. All in all, fantastic hospitality and a great place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Although your views are of the sea they will be limited from the rooms upstairs as the windows are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My mum, sister and I had a gorgeous break in the Harbour House. It helps a lot that is in the most beautiful part of the world bar none. The Harbour is a casual, friendly, barefoot and sandy kind of a place, perfectly set up for divers, surfers and all the other activities they run. The spacious lounges are indeed super spacious, relaxed and perfect for looking out at the Kerry weather. The rooms are basic and perfectly adequate, breakfast could have been better (instant coffee!) but for the price I'm not arguing much. Don't expect luxury but for a hideaway at the end of the world its perfect and we are definitely planning on a return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

One thing you can be absolutely sure of is the friendly and warm welcome at Harbour House. The staff are wonderful, attentive and genuinely welcoming. Dinner was amazing, good choice of menu and very fresh. Breakfast is great too, and staff make every effort to accommodate special requests.
Rooms could be cleaner, and bathrooms could be a little updated, however the warm, friendly atmosphere and the location of the place makes up for any slight shortcomings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here when driving around Southern Ireland, made the booking online and we were very warmly greeted at reception ended up chating for ages about our travels and the local area which my partner has some connection. The B&B had great views of the rugged Irish Atlantic coastline and the surprisingly tranquil harbour, while the room was small it was nice and clean typical B&B. The restaurant was not operating but we were given instructions to another just down the road. Breakfast was superb and typical of Irish hospitality that nothing is to much trouble.
Their statement on their website "Come as a guest and leave as a friend" is absolutely true!

Room Tip: All good ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castlegregory hotels
5.3 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
430 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
165 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Kilcummin House
#5 of 8 in Castlegregory
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Address: Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range: £69 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House is a family run B&B and has 15 individually styled bed rooms, all en-suite. Good food, a comfortable bed and leisure centre can be found in many hotels in Ireland, but it is unusual to find them in a guest house. It's own indoor heated swimming pool, gym, Sauna and its Islands Seafood Restaurant makes it a ideal location for a break. Panoramic views of the breath-taking scenery of the Maharees Islands is on your door step and your hosts promise you good Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Harbour House & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House And Leisure Centre
Harbour House & Leisure Centre Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing