We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Comfortable Rooms and Hospitable Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Comfortable Rooms and Hospitable Staff.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Harbor House is located facing out to the ocean and we had stunning views from the restaurant and our room. The room was clean, warm, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The staff made our stay, their warmth and friendliness left us feeling like we had made new friends. Breakfast was good and set us up for a day of diving in the fantastic locations around the Islands. The location is beautiful and perfect for a romantic spot to take a loved one (A couple we met diving got engaged during our stay) or fun in the water with family and friends as we did.

Can't wait to book a return trip.

Thanks to everyone at Harbor House who made our stay so much fun.

Amy & Steve

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SleepyGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    12
    9
    22
See reviews for
25
37
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed a week in Harbour House. Staff were very friendly, breakfast were well cooked with good ingredients. Breakfast does not start until 8.30 though. Rooms were a decent size and the beds comfortable. Our room had not been cleaned properly as there was a lot of dirt on window frames and the bed had not been moved other wise the cleaner would have noticed the broken telephone point. Very noisy and creaky building. Can hear people talking on first floor and showers being used. The corridor is very creaky and fire doors bang, so take ear plugs. Had an evening meals a couple of nights and they were very tasty. |All food in Ireland is a bit pricey. The swimming pool and sauna is a lovely way to relax. Superb lounge with comfy sofas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

For such a beautiful location, this was nothing short of disappointing. The place was freezing - it was so cold when you put the key in the lock of the bedroom door a cold breeze greeted your fingers. I asked for the heating to be turned on and it was probaboly was for 30mins at the most. The only way to stay warm was to wear a hoodie and trackie bottoms getting into bed and keeping your head under the blanket. It was also filthy here - the leisure center looked like it hadn't been used ever - there were cobwebs hanging off the machines - no sign of any spiders - they probably found it too dirty and moved out. The pool had a layer of dirt at the bottom and there were wetsuits strewn around the pool area. Breakfast was served from 8.30 to 10 I think - the lady in reception was well aware that we were doing the Dingle Marathon and would be gone by 7.30 but didn't offer us fruit or anything. The price included breakfast!! There was no television in the room - it would have been great to have one especially when the Ireland V Sweden game was on. There was no one around in the morning to pay so we had to leave and let them just charge to our credit cards. I must say though the guy working in the bar/restaurant was lovely and very helpful. Overall very disappointing as it looked lovely on the website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castlegregory hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recently visited Kerry for the weekend and stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and clean with en suite facilities. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and also had breakfast on two mornings, all were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A really friendly welcome from Sandra. All other staff very friendly, welcoming and accommodating too. A large group of us spent a week there specifically for the diving, but there are also plenty of good walks nearby with wind surfing and even horse riding along the extensive beach. We also used the gym, swimming pool and sauna at HH&LC. There are two lounge areas where you can get away from it all and a bar. The decor in the bedrooms may be a little 'tired' but we were there for the outdoors. If you're looking for luxury then look for something more expensive. A tasty, substantial breakfast is available as well as lighter options. Other meals are superb - compliments to the chef - but if you're there for more than a couple of nights you might also like to try Spillane's, about 10 minutes walk away, where the menu changes more often. All in all, fantastic hospitality and a great place for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Although your views are of the sea they will be limited from the rooms upstairs as the windows are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My mum, sister and I had a gorgeous break in the Harbour House. It helps a lot that is in the most beautiful part of the world bar none. The Harbour is a casual, friendly, barefoot and sandy kind of a place, perfectly set up for divers, surfers and all the other activities they run. The spacious lounges are indeed super spacious, relaxed and perfect for looking out at the Kerry weather. The rooms are basic and perfectly adequate, breakfast could have been better (instant coffee!) but for the price I'm not arguing much. Don't expect luxury but for a hideaway at the end of the world its perfect and we are definitely planning on a return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

One thing you can be absolutely sure of is the friendly and warm welcome at Harbour House. The staff are wonderful, attentive and genuinely welcoming. Dinner was amazing, good choice of menu and very fresh. Breakfast is great too, and staff make every effort to accommodate special requests.
Rooms could be cleaner, and bathrooms could be a little updated, however the warm, friendly atmosphere and the location of the place makes up for any slight shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
15.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
412 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
11.8 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#5 of 9 in Annascaul
47 reviews
15.2 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Property: Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Address: Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House is a family run B&B and has 15 individually styled bed rooms, all en-suite. Good food, a comfortable bed and leisure centre can be found in many hotels in Ireland, but it is unusual to find them in a guest house. It's own indoor heated swimming pool, gym, Sauna and its Islands Seafood Restaurant makes it a ideal location for a break. Panoramic views of the breath-taking scenery of the Maharees Islands is on your door step and your hosts promise you good Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House & Leisure Centre Hotel Castlegregory
Harbour House And Leisure Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing