We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majorly disapointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Majorly disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Castlegregory is without doubt, a beautiful location and a worthy stopping point for tourists journeying on the Wild Atlantic Way. However, there are always those who will attempt to exploit a countries natural resources, in this case, the beauty of the Irish country side. My experience of Castlegregory has been tarnished by the hostile staff and sub-par amenities showcased at the Harbour house and leisure center. With dirty rooms, mouldy showers with unsafe doors and owners that display no moral obligation with regards bookings, I can see many more holiday makers leaving Castlegregory with a negative mindset due to this hotel. Don't ruin your holiday. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We value all the reviews we get(good and bad) and we try to implement changes to our service, when someone is not happy with their stay. However it is not always possible and especially when the review is malicious. This guest booked a single room but had three people stay in the room with them, without informing anyone. They had breakfast each morning and were very happy until they were asked to pay for their stay. Our receptionist was verbally attacked by one women in the party after she had tried to reason with them. They flooded the bathroom by leaving the shower running full blast and threatened that they would fix us. Above all we try our very best to be hospitable to all our guests and I think most of our reviews reflects this. They just didn't want to pay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    12
    9
    20
See reviews for
23
36
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrick-on-suir
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Whilst touring the area we stopped here for tea and cake. Choice was very limited , chocolate muffin which seemed frozen and chocolate eclair with synthetic cream . Lucie the dog was very friendly and attentive but can't say that of the staff. We weren't made welcome , they were obviously getting ready for dinner service and we were made feel we were a complete nuisance to them. Wouldn't ever dream of going back there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra F, Manager at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Angela
I'm so sorry you had a bad experience with us and please forgive us for our lack of attention, In the rush to get ready for our next service the waitress that day was distracted and she told us she asked you to move into the back room for your coffees and cakes. Since your review we have addressed this by having a policy of not asking people to move. I hope you will take the chance to try us again and we would be delighted to look after you. Again we are so sorry.
Regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castlegregory hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We loved the location of the place and the staff were amazing. Our room had a view of a wall and the car park, but some had fabulous views over the bay.
The bed was uncomfortable due to an elderly mattress. We could hear everyone in the corridor and were kept awake until 3.30am on one night by a hen party.
We would stay here again if we had a room with a view and no hens (or stags).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Harbor House is located facing out to the ocean and we had stunning views from the restaurant and our room. The room was clean, warm, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The staff made our stay, their warmth and friendliness left us feeling like we had made new friends. Breakfast was good and set us up for a day of diving in the fantastic locations around the Islands. The location is beautiful and perfect for a romantic spot to take a loved one (A couple we met diving got engaged during our stay) or fun in the water with family and friends as we did.

Can't wait to book a return trip.

Thanks to everyone at Harbor House who made our stay so much fun.

Amy & Steve

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SleepyGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed a week in Harbour House. Staff were very friendly, breakfast were well cooked with good ingredients. Breakfast does not start until 8.30 though. Rooms were a decent size and the beds comfortable. Our room had not been cleaned properly as there was a lot of dirt on window frames and the bed had not been moved other wise the cleaner would have noticed the broken telephone point. Very noisy and creaky building. Can hear people talking on first floor and showers being used. The corridor is very creaky and fire doors bang, so take ear plugs. Had an evening meals a couple of nights and they were very tasty. |All food in Ireland is a bit pricey. The swimming pool and sauna is a lovely way to relax. Superb lounge with comfy sofas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

For such a beautiful location, this was nothing short of disappointing. The place was freezing - it was so cold when you put the key in the lock of the bedroom door a cold breeze greeted your fingers. I asked for the heating to be turned on and it was probaboly was for 30mins at the most. The only way to stay warm was to wear a hoodie and trackie bottoms getting into bed and keeping your head under the blanket. It was also filthy here - the leisure center looked like it hadn't been used ever - there were cobwebs hanging off the machines - no sign of any spiders - they probably found it too dirty and moved out. The pool had a layer of dirt at the bottom and there were wetsuits strewn around the pool area. Breakfast was served from 8.30 to 10 I think - the lady in reception was well aware that we were doing the Dingle Marathon and would be gone by 7.30 but didn't offer us fruit or anything. The price included breakfast!! There was no television in the room - it would have been great to have one especially when the Ireland V Sweden game was on. There was no one around in the morning to pay so we had to leave and let them just charge to our credit cards. I must say though the guy working in the bar/restaurant was lovely and very helpful. Overall very disappointing as it looked lovely on the website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Recently visited Kerry for the weekend and stayed here for two nights. The staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and clean with en suite facilities. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and also had breakfast on two mornings, all were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
15.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
15.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 8 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Property: Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Address: Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House is a family run B&B and has 15 individually styled bed rooms, all en-suite. Good food, a comfortable bed and leisure centre can be found in many hotels in Ireland, but it is unusual to find them in a guest house. It's own indoor heated swimming pool, gym, Sauna and its Islands Seafood Restaurant makes it a ideal location for a break. Panoramic views of the breath-taking scenery of the Maharees Islands is on your door step and your hosts promise you good Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbour House & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House & Leisure Centre Hotel Castlegregory
Harbour House And Leisure Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing