We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Country House in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just arrived home from a most wonderful weekend break in Carrig House. Everything you could ask for in a relaxing break you have here. Beautiful scenery, beautiful house, tranquility, wonderful hosts & staff.It was our eight visit to Carrig House & it just gets better & better every time. Each time we visited we made new friends which we have kept in touch with.My wife commented as we were leaving that it was like leaving home.So thanks again Frank & Mary for a truly wonderful weekend & hopefully we will have many many more to come.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanjean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

This a beautiful Guesthouse in a fantastic stunning location over looking Caragh Lake near killlorglin. this really is a country retreat where you can get away from it all. The food here is to die for and that manner in which it is presented is just wonderful. Breakfast is the same. The owners are very hands on and very warm and welcoming to all guests. There are no Tv's in the rooms nor mobile phone reception in alot of areas which is just brilliant for this type of break. I hope to return soon

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Averagejoseph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Incredibly lovely! Owners are your hosts. Great value as we had massages, dinners and breakfasts included. There is no bar/tap so you must travel for your pint. There are cocktails, wine and canned beer available but not a pub to hang out.

Room Tip: We splurged for the presidential suite and it was well worth it. You want the lake view if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hootietigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Frank is a star. He is on hand from the excellent breafast served in a dining room that has superb vista over the lake until the excellent dinner (served in the same dining room) is over. It is an excellent centre from which to exp[lore the Rings of Kerry/Skellig and Beara knowing that there is a welcome glass of wine with which to retreat to your room with a view and a piping hot bath after walking in the magnificent area (probably in the rain). Forget crowded Killarney....stay at Caragh Country House.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Our room was comfortable, the hosts were pleasant and very helpful, and the food was fine. A really special place to stay when traveling in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The personal touch provided by Frank and Mary was so welcome compared to the so called 5 star hotels. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this establishment - it's more than a hotel! Keep up the goodl work Frank and Mary. Up the Kingdom!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for a long weekend in the hotel which is nestled beside Caragh Lake. Frank, the owner and Mary his wife as well as their magnificent panoply of staff made this a memorable visit.

Of particular note is the cooking in the dining room. Superb. Also the staff were extremely solicitous of specific dietary requirements.

The bedrooms facing the lake are stunning and equipped with both antique furniture and four poster beds. The views are exquisite as is Mary's pride and joy, her garden!

The only negative I would see is that in some rooms the decor is a little tired and the cleaning staff are not as efficient as the wait staff. However they were equally friendly.

One abiding memory of the house are the many small sitting rooms for guest use which pepper the ground floor and the feeling of a home from home!

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caragh Lake
11.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
12.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
15.7 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range: £130 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing