We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and beautiful food”
Review of No 35

No 35
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: No. 35 is a family-run, characterful and confident local dining room. We cook with the best of what's around us, using ingredients in season. On our farm, just a mile up the road, we breed our own pedigree rare breed Saddleback pigs for the delicious free-range pork we serve at No. 35. Open for lunch and dinner
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent service and beautiful food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had the pleasure of eating in this restaurant recently as a family of five. Having strolled around the town we decided on this particular restaurant and we were not dissappointed. The food and especially the service was first rate. Our waitress Lorraine couldnt have been more helpful and even spent time writing down a list of recommneded places to visit with the kids - some of which we visited and lived up to her recommendations. Overall we would thoroughly recommend eating here. It was busy the night we were there, yet the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inorbnibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Excellent review ,really appreciate your feedback ,Will pass on your comments to Lorraine ,We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    154
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Myself and my partner had the shared platter for two and some Irish Craft Cider when we visited. If you are looking for good quality food pop into No, 35 it in the centre of Kenmare, the homemade pizza looked fab also which we will try on our next visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMcGaughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Fab review thank you ,all our pizzas are homemade,the most popular pizza is our smeem black pudding and kenmare free range Pork ,All pizzas are available to take out too !
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Big Surprise”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was a lucky accident. We we looking for a pub which might serve a good craft beer and while walking through town checking out the bars we saw a sign that stated they had craft beer so we went in expecting a bar set up and we were just going to have a beer and move on. Well, no bar just tables but after having a great local craft beer and looking at the menu we decided to stay and we are very glad we did. The food was well prepared and excellent. Our waiter too was a big plus. Would hope to get back soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
really appreciate your kind review and lovely comments,hope to see you again sometime in No 35
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“delicious food, lovely staff!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in Kenmare for 2 nights, and ate in no 35 both nights.... a lovely warm and genuine welcome from the staff, in a cosy restaurant. Waitress talked us through the menu, as we just couldn't decide. We decided on her recommendation of wild baked cod and catch of the day, the sea bass. Both dishes were cooked to perfection. Although the restaurant was busy and lively, at no time did we feel rushed, a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of No 35 and coming back to us a second night,hope to see you again on your next visit to Kenmare
Kind Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over - rated, poor service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a week in Kenmare and eat at most the best restaurants. We saved no 35 for the last night as it had the best rating. When we arrived we spent at least 5 mins at the bottom of the stairs and tried to get noticed. We eventually got acknowledged and after a further wait got shown to the table. A nice table upstairs for 2. The waitress was friendly but did not ask us if we wanted a drink just gave us the menus. She returned and we ordered the food and asked for a couple of glasses of proseco and also 2 glasses of white wine to go with the starter. The wine arrived before the proseco and we had to remind her about the proseco. The proseco was average and came in a mini bottle and at €10.5 euro a time was an embarrassment. Other Kenmare restaurants were happy to open a new bottle. The water we ordered came without glasses and we requested that glasses may be useful. By the time the starters arrived the white wine was at room temperature.

The starters were both excellent. I ordered duck for main and discussed in detail when ordering that I would like it pink. Not sure if pink was medium rare or medium but was assured no problem. Well on arrival it was well done and overcooked and tasted average at best. We were keen to order a couple glasses of red to have with the main but could not get anyone's attention. At this stage the service was so bad that I left and gave up on desert and coffee. My partner sorted the bill. We took Irish coffee down the road.

Overall a big disappointed and for us no 35 was very much at the bottom of the range compared to all the other excellent establishments we dined at in Kenmare. We were not on a budget but it was over priced, had the service been good then price not an issue. We are back again for a week in August and will keep well away!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FCEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review , we appreciate the feedback,apologies we did not live up to you expectations on this occasion
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing