We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Kenmare...?”

The Lime Tree Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$50
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Lime Tree is recognised as Kenmare's landmark restaurant. Housed in a beautiful building dating back to 1832, the food and service continues to win accolades and many new customers. The quality ingredients are sourced locally and then carefully prepared with passion. Fish from the cleanest waters in Europe is delivered daily and lamb is provided by the local farmer. Simple caring preparation ensures tasty food. The service is friendly and efficient with an emphasis on value for money in an informal manner.
Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best food in Kenmare...?”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A dinner for 4 on a Friday evening in mid August. Possibly the best food in Kenmare [we didn’t try the Park]. Chowder and Mushroom soup, Seabass and Duck, Crepes and Crumble. Every dish was delicious and each combined exciting and, in some cases, unexpected flavours.
The decor was great and the restaurant was full as one would expect. The wine list was acceptable -starting at reasonable levels for an Irish restaurant.
The only small cloud was the particularly abrupt, albeit very effective, waitress. While she exuded efficiency, there was no trace of warmth, but then, you can’t have everything and everything else was perfect. Don’t miss it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    87
    39
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Thanks to Mike & to all the staff (esp Christian) for a wonderful meal recently. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole night. Tricia & Pat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 807Tricia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Quality meal and service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had dinner for six at Lime Tree. The menu has an excellent variety. We had lamb, hake, duck, chicken steak, and vegetarian entrees. We ate every morsel. There is a two-course option for 33 or three course option for 39. The daily special menu has a reasonable supplement for items such as lobster and filet mignon. You can also order just an entree or starter, which is what we did since otherwise it tends to be way too much food. The wine list was superior and reasonable as well. The service, very professional. I was grateful to have gotten a reservation on such a busy night for our large group, but would have preferred a table downstairs. the Upstairs loft is fine, but the better ambiance is on the main floor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had booked in here at the end of June for a hen party .Private room upstairs which was ideal.Service was a bit slow at times but staff were very friendly .Food and wine was fab and I would definitely recommend the Thai fish cakes as they were the delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal for sisters hen party”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the private gallery upstairs for my sisters hen party. We had heard great things about the Lime Tree. It did not disappoint and exceeded my expectations! Having the private room was fantastic. We could play music, decoarate it, get on with our hen party games and antics without annoying anyone.It was ideal. The food we had was a set menu and I found that orders were taken promptly, food service was fast also which is what you want at a hen party.the food was mouthwatering. We were a group of 24 and everyone was raving about the fabulous meal.I wound fully recommend the Lime Tree to anyone having a hen party in Kenmare. I will definitely be back with my husband before the year is out to sample some more of their delicious menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lime Tree Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Lime Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing